We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Burger in Town on this exact corner.”

Mt. Whitney Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 17 Restaurants in Lone Pine
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Burger in Town on this exact corner.”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

When you have a sign trumpeting "Best Burger in Town" you'd better back it up. The burger here is okay, but I doubt it's the best in any town, even in little Lone Pine. The fries, as another reviewer mentioned, are great. The waitress service is a bit indifferent - although the busman was really helpful and friendly after the waitress disappeared - and the price is about what you'd expect for a busy highway place that caters to tourists on the way to and from the ski resorts. The star of this place is great parking and a cool Old West/Hollywood vibe inside where the walls are lined with photos and such from the numerous actors and cowboys who used to make movies up here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomM6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    142
    82
    39
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
736 reviews
452 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Good burgers”
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

This is an old school place in lone pine near the famous Alabama hills I usually get burgers when traveling to places like this that have a lot if mom and pop places

Helpful?
1 Thank Cystokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina, California
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good Food on the 395”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stopped in for breakfast on the day after Christmas. The restraunt was busy but our food came in a reasonable amount of time. Sandi had ham & eggs and I had the chiken fried steak. The steak comes with the gravy on the side so I tried it without but quickly decided that it would be better with. The biscuits & gravy came with a single large biscuit but it was very adequate and tasty. Lone Pine is an historic Western movie town and the walls are decorated with all sorts of memorabilia.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DeniSandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best burger in town maybe?”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Stopped on my way through and had a venison burger. It was very over cooked and the meat didn't taste fresh. The veggies added were good but couldn't make up for the poor over cooked venison. The French fries were quite good, and I would stop here to get them again. I did get to sit behind a life sized cutout of John Wanye and had great view of the mountain from my seat. So overall not a total loss.

Helpful?
Thank Greatlostbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best burgers in town”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Love this place! Had a classic american diner experience, sat in a booth, had a tasty burger and draft beer and cherry pie and ice cream for dessert. Amazing food and warm service, so good we went back for breakfast the next day which was just as good.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt. Whitney Restaurant also viewed

Lone Pine, California Desert
Lone Pine, California Desert
 
Lone Pine, California Desert
Lone Pine, California Desert
 
Lone Pine, California Desert
Lone Pine, California Desert
 

Been to Mt. Whitney Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing