We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best burger in town maybe?”

Mt. Whitney Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 17 Restaurants in Lone Pine
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best burger in town maybe?”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Stopped on my way through and had a venison burger. It was very over cooked and the meat didn't taste fresh. The veggies added were good but couldn't make up for the poor over cooked venison. The French fries were quite good, and I would stop here to get them again. I did get to sit behind a life sized cutout of John Wanye and had great view of the mountain from my seat. So overall not a total loss.

Helpful?
Thank Greatlostbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    135
    82
    37
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best burgers in town”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Love this place! Had a classic american diner experience, sat in a booth, had a tasty burger and draft beer and cherry pie and ice cream for dessert. Amazing food and warm service, so good we went back for breakfast the next day which was just as good.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Small town restaurant - good burgers”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Small town, not many choices. We had two dinners here in late October. Burgers are their specialty so that's what we ordered. I thought they were great. I am a big onion ring fanatic and theirs were delicious. The staff was super friendly and the server gave us some tips and advice on things to do in the area, as well as some info on what it was like to live there. Very positive experience. They have a lot of 8x10 glossy photos (all signed) of the various movie stars who filmed there. The walls are covered with them - fun to look at while waiting for your meal.

I read some of the other reviews and was surprised at how critical they were. If you want high level gourmet meals, I don't think Lone Pine is the place to find them. But we thought we got great meals at a fair price. Very satisfied. i would go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyK41129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pure awful”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Gordon Ramsay would not have enough swear words to describe how bad this place is.

The pancakes were uncooked. Yes apparently you can muck up pancakes, the bacon so tasteless our dog refused it. The coffee undescribably bad, no wait, it was so bad we ran to McDonalds.

This. Place must rely on passing trade as no-one with a taste bud would eat here twice.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank IFM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
448 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, large portions”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by our hotel for breakfast. The waitress was friendly but a bit overwhelmed by the number of people she was expected to serve. I ordered the pancakes, and my husband had eggs and ham. The pancakes were delicious even though I read the menu wrong and was expecting buckwheat. The ham was plate-sized and yummy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank USAwalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt. Whitney Restaurant also viewed

Lone Pine, California Desert
Lone Pine, California Desert
 
Lone Pine, California Desert
Lone Pine, California Desert
 
Lone Pine, California Desert
Lone Pine, California Desert
 

Been to Mt. Whitney Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing