We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tried it again, tasty food”

Bonanza Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 18 Restaurants in Lone Pine
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
San Jose, CA
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tried it again, tasty food”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We've been back a couple times since the first review. The food items I've gotten have been pretty good. Since the price is less than a couple others in town, it's become a place for us to try each time we're in town. This last time the food came out fast and hot, even the vegatarian platters for our friends seemed to be filling. I still think its just the one gal out front, but I didn't notice any slowness in service. Salsa was good as usual (not super hot).

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank munge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    67
    37
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highland, California
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Second visit”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Not a fancy place by any means. Was there off-season on a Friday night so it wasn't very crowded. The menu is pretty standard as far as choices (tacos, burritos, chimis, fajitas). Portions are large.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank somrtravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great food but place needs some repair.”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Was shopping in lone pine and saw a girl with a to go plate of taco on lettuce. It smelled so good. She said she got it from Bonanza. Well, guess that's where we are going to lunch. The ladies had a casa dia and a chimichanga (not sure of the spelling). Anyway they said they were the best they have ever had. I got the Fajitas. Mine was ok. If you just want a great Mexican meal this is the place for you. Sure wish they would fix up the booths. Highly recommended. Service was kind of slow but very very friendly. Once we ordered the food we received it in a timely manner though.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thezone999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada, United States
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Only if you are hungry and all other restaurants are closed”
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

I agree with all reviewers. Food is not good. Service is pleasant. I don't know how you can goof up chips, salsa and fajitas, but everything tastes like they water it down. Good luck if you go

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marlene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua Tree , California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quiet place”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I wanted to find a nice hot chicken burrito . The place was not very busy , but I was curious . The beer was ice cold . The salsa was home made , loaded with cilantro and excellent !
I do not eat much salt and the burrito tasted too salty for me . I would probably return as the place was quiet and pretty clean . The staff were friendly too .
Prices were reasonable .

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simonthebrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonanza Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Lone Pine, California Desert
Lone Pine, California Desert
 
Lone Pine, California Desert
Lone Pine, California Desert
 
Lone Pine, California Desert
Lone Pine, California Desert
 

Been to Bonanza Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing