We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lil motel”
Review of Portal Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lone Pine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Portal Motel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Spent the night here before heading into Death Valley for Thanksgiving. We were pleasantly surprised at the newly remodeled and nicely sized room for $66. Not much traffic noise despite being on the road. Soft sheets and towels. Bed was hard but surprisingly comfortable. Will absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hulabum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 60 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2011

We were on our motorcycles and wanted something near restaurants. As we passed this place, I noted how clean it looked. We went to the south end of town and the motels were too far for walking from downtown eateries. We came back to the Portal. The manager gave me a key to pre inspect the room. It was very clean and nice. The beds are very firm. Not how I like it, but I know others do. The motel was very quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigdogbandit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I am writing from my room at the Portal Motel. We are a family of two adults, a 14 yr old and an 11 yr old, travelling through California. We are staying here for one night en route to Yosemite. The room is very comfortable, with two enormous king size beds and is spotlessly clean. Nice big TV. Traditional decor. Nice touches like coffee in roome, a hairdryer and ironing board and iron, and a microwave & fridge. Couldn't hear much traffc noise. I could pick small faullts - ironing board cover was torn, air-con a little noisy, tiny bathroom could itbe updated but overall it's g od quality, clean motel accommodation. We paid $110 for the night and I think is good value.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hedgeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Felt like checking in was interrupting the man, who priced his average room at $79 for the night. What other reviews found to be such a great value at $45 was less of a bargain for an ok room. Everything was I'm good working order, I guess. For example after sundown and the outside temperature dropped, the a/c started to get the room almost cool.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joshhikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Just traveling thru Lone Pine on a motorcycle trip and needed a place to stay for the night. I wasn't expecting much since it is so small. I was surprised by how friendly the owners were to a man on a bike. They have nice “rags” to wash the bike if you ask. The motel overall was very clean and comfortable. The location is great and the price can't be beat.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PKONCarsonCity_NV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Very friendly owners, recently updated, good value for one guest $45.00 plus tax. Would recommend to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a72bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

Stopped here as the last stop before Las Vegas. We had 3 x rooms all kingbsize beds. Could'nt fault the cleanliness. Think this has been revamped recently.
We checked a couple of hotels in the town and prices ranged form $65-00 - $123-00. Got this hotel for $55-00 + the usual taxes Nice bar up the street, real bar with no frills. You can sign the wall to let them know your from. Staggered back so slept well. On the main road so coud be a bit noisy if drink free evening.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluejinty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lone Pine
12.1 mi away
Olancha RV Park and Motel
36.7 mi away
Dow Villa Motel
Dow Villa Motel
#2 of 8 in Lone Pine
909 reviews
35.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 8 in Lone Pine
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36 mi away
Best Western Plus Frontier Motel
36.6 mi away
National 9 Trails Motel
National 9 Trails Motel
#7 of 8 in Lone Pine
85 reviews
37 mi away
Mt. Whitney Motel
Mt. Whitney Motel
#8 of 8 in Lone Pine
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portal Motel

Address: U.s 395, Lone Pine, CA
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Lone Pine
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing