We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for breakfast and lunch but needs work on dinner”
Review of Totem Cafe

Totem Cafe
Ranked #5 of 17 Restaurants in Lone Pine
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
California
Level Contributor
195 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good for breakfast and lunch but needs work on dinner”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We ate here three times over the five days we were in Lone Pine. There aren't that many places eat in Lone Pine that are open early and open late. Mount Whitney Restaurant, Pizza Factory, The Chinese Restaurant, Seaons, Some Frosty Chalet, etc... So, we went here for breakfast and dinner. The dinner was less than satisfactory. The food is american grill and you have to wonder how hard it is to mess up grilled chicken and vegetables, or chicken fried steak but they did. It was overcooked, tasteless, burned, or otherwise unfulfilling.

Breakfast's were better. Maybe a different chef, but the quality of food was still a bit lacking. If you have to eat, its not terrible but I would choose other places in Lone Pine... Breakfast - Alabama Hills Cafe... You can't beat it. For dinner, there aren't many choices but Mount Whitney is tolerable, as is the Pizza Factory.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank battmast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    128
    62
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth checking out”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

We had dinner here when we stayed in town on our way to Yesomite. The Cafe was lovely and we were really impressed. Servers were friendly, great food. Nothing fancy but it hit the spot. The Mr had steak and reckons it's the best meal he's had on our 2 week road trip. I had the nachos which I really enjoyed.
Worth a visit

Helpful?
Thank lizwhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nevada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Disappointing...”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We sadly decided to eat at Totem Cafe during a recent visit to Lone Pine. I honestly can't think of anything nice to say. The service was slow, the atmosphere was nothing to speak of. The food was not good. We had dinners ranging from steak to pork chops to raviolis, no one was happy. Salads consisted of lettuce only and 2 slivers of tomato. It seems like there are lots of other decent restaurants in lone pine... save your self the disappointment and try somewhere else.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank apeakhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Pine, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Always a quality meal”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The Asian chicken salad is a top favorite, and the blue cheese burger is the best in town. Try the fries if you love crispy fries...

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“There's No Place Like Home”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Cute small restaurant. You can tell locals go there. My waitress was very accommidating as I was placing an order to go. Not a thing was missing & the food was great! My only suggestion would be that they offer a BBQ rib & chicken combo.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Totem Cafe also viewed

Lone Pine, California Desert
Lone Pine, California Desert
 
Lone Pine, California Desert
Lone Pine, California Desert
 

Been to Totem Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing