We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing like it!”

Whitney Portal Store
Ranked #6 of 17 Restaurants in Lone Pine
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Located next to the Mount Whitney trail head
Restaurant details
Description: Located next to the Mount Whitney trail head
Fontana, CA
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nothing like it!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

A must go, must see...it is right AT the Whitney trailhead, Doug and Doug have a lot of neat, neat stuff to sell, and food?...Oh my gosh...GIANT food...google it...pancakes, burgers...wow! But this is not a restaurant...it is a place to get souveniers, supplies, chat, eat, snack, whatever...open usually when the road up allows snow to be gone, then usually closed by Nov. 1, they are well over 8,000ft up...

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DantheMountainMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    30
    10
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Borrego Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A mountain of food.”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Before our hike we decided to have breakfast at the Portal Store.
Breakfast is about $11 but considering what they have to do just to get electricity let along food to this remote spot, it is a bargain.
It's also a bargain because the large plate is heaped with breakfast goodness. I had sausages, eggs, hash browns and toast and I recommend that one order is ample for two people. Other people ordered pancakes about the size of Frisbees. Afterwards we waddled up the trail, too full but very happy.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Realtyhank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van Nuys, CA (USA)
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“This is the place for breakfast”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We love driving up here before leaving on Sunday to have breakfast and to have one more look at the beauty that surround the store. The pancakes are so huge that it takes 2 plates to hold them. There are four of us and we get one pancake and then 2 breakfasts and still have food left over. They also do great cheeseburgers and BLT's.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fine place to eat.”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Wonderful Food..Server was very very busy,but efficient and friendly. Go for the Meat Loaf! Nice atmosphere,and will return soon.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendora, California
1 review
“The real reason for going”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

It's the PEOPLE that really make the experience at the Whitney Portal store. Not only are they the most friendly folks you would ever want to meet, but their vast knowledge of the area is unsurpassed by anyone. Oh ya, the food is just about all you could aske for when up enjoying time in the incredible Sierras, be it at the end or begnning of a hike or just being there for the day. A must do on anyones bucket list.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hillbasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitney Portal Store also viewed

Lone Pine, California Desert
Lone Pine, California Desert
 
Lone Pine, California Desert
Lone Pine, California Desert
 

Been to Whitney Portal Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing