We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent option in Lone Pine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Leuven
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent option in Lone Pine”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Nice hotel, not far from the center of Lone Pine, excellent spacious rooms, friendly staff.
We enjoyed the pool in the evening after a long drive and in the morning after breakfast (included in the price !).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatrienDLeuven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    331
    157
    27
    17
See reviews for
157
333
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Went up to Lone Pine for the Badwater race and stayed at this hotel which would get a better rating but as a result of the mildewy shower curtain. It really smelled bad and took away from the clean room. We could have asked and they would have probably replaced it but since we didn't spend much time in the room as a result of the race it didn't matter much except when you took a shower. They had a pretty good breakfast there not alot but some good variety not a five star breakfast but there was plenty to eat. The desk clerks were helpfull and attentive.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms to east have rear doors that open to a nice grassy area with little bunnies:0)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cianni m, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn - Lone Pine, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay during the Badwater Marathon! While we are pleased to hear you had a good stay overall, I send my utmost apologies for the shower curtain situation! I have forwarded your comments to the Housekeeping Supervisor so that he can look into that. We hope you will return to us next time you are in Lone Pine! Have a great rest of your Summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

I have only stayed at two hotels in Lone Pine. I don't think four star hotels exist in this town. Comfort Inn was fine - room was small but adequate. Nice big refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, flat screen television. Balcony was nice to have but the wood was very splintery. Carpet was very dirty but besides that, it was definitely fine. My son enjoyed the pool and jacuzzi. Provided swim towels are like dish rags, both in size and texture. The free breakfast wasn't added value for us - totally pointless but I'm sure some people could find decent options, including the make your own waffle thing. A kettle of oatmeal (or even oatmeal packets) would have been great.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cianni m, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn - Lone Pine, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us! I send my utmost apologies that we didn't meet your expectations fully during your stay! However, please know that the balconies are being completely rebuilt and will be 'brand new' very soon! The carpet is maintained on a schedule, but I send my apologies for that issue as well! I am happy to hear the pool was great for your son, especially during this season! Please know, over the next season, we will be looking at different breakfast choices to bring to our guests! We do have oatmeal packets in different flavors currently, and hope you will visit us again and enjoy them and any new items we may have added at that time!

Have a great rest of your Summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Booked into the Comfort Inn more because of its location than anything else. What a great hotel! It's a Comfort Inn, so one knows what to expect. However, the check-in staff were terrific, the rooms really good quality, clean with a great TV, the pool and jacuzzi first rate - not many hot tubs overlook the Sierra Nevada mountains! Breakfast was included, all for $149. Brilliant. My only gripe, I would pay $5 more per room to have metal cutlery and crockery plates - the great breakfast slightly spoiled by plastic forks and polystyrene plates. Worth a visit.

Room Tip: Maybe avoid rooms facing the road.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twa203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cianni m, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn - Lone Pine, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
I have shared your review with the staff, and we all join in to thank you for such a great review of your stay!

Thank you again and have an excellent Summer season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanfrancisco,ca
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I stayed here for 3 days during my mount Whitney hiking. Very nice view of Mount Whitney.(check my photo)

Clean hotel, good staff and excellent breakfast in morning. Ate breakfast while viewing Mount Whitney.!!

Both Managers and Breakfast ladies were excellent. Always smiling.

While driving in town I saw this is the only franchisee hotel/motel with 2 stories. I saw Best Western and it looks like old building with single story.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenpat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cianni m, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn - Lone Pine, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and review! I am so happy to hear we exceeded your expectations while you were with us! That is exactly what we strive to do at all times!

Have a great Summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I've stayed everywhere in Lone Pine and hands down they have some of the best staff. I called the hotel directly to book my stay and Danny was so helpful and answered ALL my gazillion questions with a great attitude and even remembered me when I checked in. The manager Cianni was also an angel! I had left my jackets behind in my room and had not noticed until a few hours later. Cianni, went above and beyond looking for my jacket. Calling all the maids and searching everywhere she could think of. Luckily she was able to find them and save the day! She was courteous, caring and so sweet. Amazing service all around from the staff! The rooms are great, clean and spacious and their breakfast had a good selection. Definitely coming back here!

Room Tip: Rooms with a Balcony have an AMAZING view of Mt. Whitney :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN DIEGO
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Everyone who finds themselves in Lone Pine is probably going somewhere else. But that being the case, at least you can have a nice night's sleep there before arriving at your ultimate destination.

Comfort Inn Lone Pine was a pleasant surprise on the long Owens Valley highway on our way to Mammoth, but it is also a gateway to the rest of the Eastern Sierra and, of all things, Death Valley. Its newer and basically in good shape. It seems a little pricey at first, but being the "gateway" to much more expensive Mammoth and even overpriced Bishop (a God-awful place), its not so bad.

We had two very comfortable rooms on the back side of the sole building, one up and one down, and enjoyed them both. Quiet, never heard a neighbor or street noise even though the place seemed full for the fourth of July weekend. The best part was probably the king bed, which was excellently firm and plush at the same time. Only thing that seemed a bit shabby was the upholstered lounge chairs next to the beds. Both showed wear and tear and seemed out of place.

Breakfast was typical Comfort Inn scrambled eggs, biscuits and sausage gravy and a waffle maker. Definitely edible and a money and time saving.

Beware, second floor has no elevator. Each room has a microwave, large refrigerator, a small balcony or patio.

The Best Western "Plus" was full when we came into town, but I think it was for the best, as we found the Comfort Inn to be more than adequate for our needs. The staff was friendly and helpful even though we were just "passing through".

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SANDIEGOSLIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cianni m, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn - Lone Pine, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
What an amazing review of our property! Thank you so much for that and we are so happy you had such a great experience with us!

We wish you a Happy Summer and hope you will visit us again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lone Pine
1.6 mi away
Dow Villa Motel
Dow Villa Motel
#2 of 8 in Lone Pine
855 reviews
23.1 mi away
Olancha RV Park and Motel
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Frontier Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Winnedumah Hotel
Winnedumah Hotel
#2 of 3 in Independence
46 reviews
1.4 mi away
National 9 Trails Motel
National 9 Trails Motel
#7 of 8 in Lone Pine
80 reviews
22.7 mi away
Ranch Motel
Ranch Motel
#3 of 3 in Olancha
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn - Lone Pine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn - Lone Pine

Property: Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
Address: 1920 S Main St, Lone Pine, CA 93545-3013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Lone Pine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn - Lone Pine 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Lone Pine hotel, a hotel in Lone Pine, CA close to Mt. Whitney and Death Valley. The Comfort Inn® hotel is located at the base of the eastern Sierra Nevada Mountains and close to Mount Whitney. This Lone Pine, CA hotel is near area attractions like Alabama Hills, Diaz Lake and the Manzanar National Historic Site. Lone Pine is the gateway to adventure and perfect for visitors who want to explore some of California's incredible sites. Owens Dry Lake is only 10 miles away. Fishing, water skiing and snow skiing are all located in the area. Death Valley National Park is 105 miles and Yosemite National Park is 125 miles from the hotel. Lake Tahoe, Los Angeles and Las Vegas are less than 250 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn - Lone Pine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine Hotel Lone Pine
Lone Pine Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing