We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Charming "name brand" motel in a charming little town.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn - Lone Pine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1920 S. Main St, Lone Pine, CA 93545   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming "name brand" motel in a charming little town.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at this motel a few times passing through, and every time I stop here I'm very pleased. Last time I came through, I was traveling with my dog, and they were out of the "pet friendly" rooms, and they moved some stuff around and accommodated me. The staff has always been very friendly and helpful.

The location is beautiful, and handy to the surrounding attractions. I also like the classic western theme as it compliments the history of the areas movie industry.

It does fill up quick, especially in the summer and winter, so make reservations. Also, I gave the motel a average for value, because they do raise their rates during peak times. Sometimes it's affordable, sometimes it's pricey. All the surrounding motels do this though, so it's the price you pay for staying in the region.

As with all Comfort Inns, they have the fairly common continental breakfast, but with very good fresh fruit.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ref6494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    279
    134
    26
    14
See reviews for
129
287
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We were visiting Death Valley and the Alabama Hills and decided to stay here for 3 nights. Overall, the room was pretty nice and fairly spacious and definitely worth the price. The room, microwave and refrigerator were all clean. As other reviewers have said, there was some sort of "cleaning chemical" smell in the room but not overwhelming. A couple other minor complaints. 1 - the TV picture had static the entire time but we didn't complain. 2 - in my opinion the breakfast was marginal. The eggs didn't taste good at all. My egg loving daughter first said they didn't taste good so I tried them and felt the same way. When we were there the hotel was very busy and the small breakfast room was very crowded. The OJ tasted watered down too. The coffee was good though!

On a positive note, the staff was awesome. We made 2-3 requests that were immediately tended to.

Finally, the next time we are back in Lone Pine we will stay here again!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JerryFromCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cianni m, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn - Lone Pine, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your stay with us! We appreciate the feedback and since your review came in, have remedied the things you brought out! We appreciate all kinds of feedback, and hope you will return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Good motel to stay when entering the death valley. We stayed here one night and we could do some laundry. We had a great meal in Lone pine and did some shopping. Make sure you got enough gas and water before entering the death valley ! The motel serves a small breakfast with fresh baked waffles (do it yourself).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lennart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CianniM, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn - Lone Pine, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay! Happy Holidays to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestline, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

First off, the location was so perfect for us. We had come from Death Valley and only had to get to hwy 395 and there it was. Wasn't expecting anything to write about, but everything was good. The beds were amazing in fact I tore apart the covers before we left to find out what it was, because I want one. All was clean, everyone was nice and helpful and the comp breakfast offered much more than we expected. Also got a great Internet price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CianniM, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn - Lone Pine, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay here with us! We are glad you liked our comfy beds and our delicious breakfast!

Happy Holidays from all of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrytown, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Room is better than I expected. It is clean and spacey. Free wifi is provied which is hugely helpful because my T mobile had no signal and Internet at all. Nothing to complain. Great scenic view from the window. Just turn left , then you are on your to the Death Valley.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lu Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The room with king-sized bed was nice but nothing extraordinary. Breakfast was decent offering juices, make-your-own waffles, hard-cooked eggs, bagels with cream cheese, toast, biscuits and gravy, instant oatmeal, juices and coffee. Restaurants nearby. The entrance to Death Valley is just around the corner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maimeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CianniM, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn - Lone Pine, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for your stay with us! The breakfast is one of our guests favorite stops, and I am so glad to hear you were pleased with it as well! We hope you have a great rest of your season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We didn't have a reservation after driving through Death Valley so just on the off chance this was the first hotel we came across the guy at the front desk was lovely and we were lucky to be able to get four rooms, they offer free breakfast which was lovely and a great variety, they offer free coffee, tea 24 hrs.

Room Tip: We were facing the road but didn't hear any traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twelveofus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CianniM, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn - Lone Pine, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
We are glad to hear of your satisfaction with your stay! Thank you for visiting us, and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lone Pine
1.6 mi away
Dow Villa Motel
Dow Villa Motel
#2 of 8 in Lone Pine
4.0 of 5 stars 737 reviews
20.9 mi away
Olancha RV Park and Motel
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Mt. Whitney Motel
Mt. Whitney Motel
#8 of 8 in Lone Pine
3.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
1.4 mi away
National 9 Trails Motel
National 9 Trails Motel
#6 of 8 in Lone Pine
3.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
1.7 mi away
Whitney Portal Hostel
Whitney Portal Hostel
#2 of 5 in Lone Pine
4.5 of 5 stars 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn - Lone Pine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn - Lone Pine

Property: Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
Address: 1920 S. Main St, Lone Pine, CA 93545
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Lone Pine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn - Lone Pine 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Lone Pine hotel, a hotel in Lone Pine, CA close to Mt. Whitney and Death Valley. The Comfort Inn® hotel is located at the base of the eastern Sierra Nevada Mountains and close to Mount Whitney. This Lone Pine, CA hotel is near area attractions like Alabama Hills, Diaz Lake and the Manzanar National Historic Site. Lone Pine is the gateway to adventure and perfect for visitors who want to explore some of California's incredible sites. Owens Dry Lake is only 10 miles away. Fishing, water skiing and snow skiing are all located in the area. Death Valley National Park is 105 miles and Yosemite National Park is 125 miles from the hotel. Lake Tahoe, Los Angeles and Las Vegas are less than 250 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn - Lone Pine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine Hotel Lone Pine
Lone Pine Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing