We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn - Lone Pine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Level Contributor
159 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here during our honeymoon tour of California. We used it as a stop off between Death Valley and Yosemite.

The hotel is in a great location on the edge of the picturesque small town of Lone Pine.

The service was excellent. We were kindly upgraded for free to a balcony room.

The room was a good size and had good amenities for the one night we were there. The free wifi was excellent. Very quick

If there was one minor downside it would be the lack of space during the breakfast service. Seating is very limited.

I'd happily recommend the comfort inn to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jameshart7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CianniM, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn - Lone Pine, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review of our property! We are always so happy when a guest feels that they received 100% Satisfaction while they stayed with us!

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    306
    142
    27
    16
See reviews for
142
310
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We ended up passing through lone pine on a busy weekend, when they have the film festival, so choices were limited. We paid $180 plus tax for our double room and it was terrible. The bed was the tiniest double and we didn't even have proper pillows, just these square thing, like couch cushions in normal sized pillow cases, it looked really sloppy and made or a very uncomfortable night sleep. also the noise from other people's showers and taps turning was so loud in our room. The staff were all very nice and friendly, but we paid way too much for a horrible nights sleep, glad we were only there for 1 night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CianniM, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn - Lone Pine, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
We want to start off by saying thank you for staying with us! I am so very sorry to hear of your disappointment in our hotel. We continue to strive to be the best for each and every one of our guests, and am displeased when that doesn't happen! We will be updating our pillows due to a new program put forth by Choice Hotels due to many guests dissatisfaction with them! As for the noise concerns, I wish we would have been contacted so that we could have tried to accommodate you to the best of our ability!

Again, please accept our apology, and we sincerely hope you will consider giving us another try in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I booked a touring holiday using a hire car from San Francisco. An American neighbour recommended staying in Lone Pine before driving through Death Valley to Las Vegas from Yusemite. We booked all our stops through "Trailfinders" except the Comfort Inn in Lone Pine which was not on their books it seems.

We booked on the Internet and did not check prices vis-a-vis other Lone Pine hotels which turned out to be a mistake.

On arrival, the counter staff were helpful and allocated us our (luxury) room overlooking the mountains at the back of the hotel. This room was reasonable.It had a small ,somewhat elderly ,wooden balcony with a small table and two chairs. The beds were clean,but we noticed a large very wet patch under the hand basin which was not overflow ,as it was still the same next day.We mentioned this on leaving as we had expected it to dry out overnight. The carpet itself was rather old ,as was the general decor of the hotel--a bit run-down. We had a swim in the pool which was clean and very welcome and the jacuzzi was very bubbly! It was a very hot afternoon so this was an ideal way to recover from the drive.

However,the "free" breakfast the next morning was a big let-down.The place was like a small cafeteria with a very basic menu--only reconstituted scrambled eggs as a hot alternative, with several backpackers loading themselves up for the day with flasks of coffee,food ,etc. Compared to the other hotels we stayed in --the Comfort Inn at Sequoia,The Best Westerns at Bartstow and Santa Barbara-it was by far inferior.Indeed, at 173$ for the night it was grossly excessively priced.Presumably, they take advantage of it being the last stop before Death Valley. It was ironical that the next night we stayed at the 5*Mandalay Bay in Las Vegas for 150$--the contrast couldn't have been greater!. In Santa Barbara for two nights, with a patio apartment in a garden setting with pool we paid 250$ for two nights!

We would not recommend staying in this hotel unless you are stuck for choice--check prices at the other Lone Pine hotels and read the other reviews. Without sounding disrespectful to backpackers who might understandably enjoy the comfort of a basic hotel after a gruelling day,this is not the kind of standard we expected for this price as we were on a budget too. .

I would not stay there again unless there was no alternative.

Mr and Mrs Booth,
Edinburgh,

Scotland

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rupert b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, Arizona
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed here twice: on way to/from Yosemite. Both times the rooms had been fumigated with some aerosol (to mask smokers or pets?) and it was overpowering: had to open windows for hours before we felt we could breathe the air. Desk clerk was friendly and helpful first stay; a different staff member was aggressive and unfriendly the second. Bathroom had loose and peeling wallpaper; room carpets stained. Property needs serious overhaul and better routine cleaning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CianniM, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn - Lone Pine, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
I am very sorry to hear of your displeasure with our property. While we thank you for your stay, we also want to thank you for letting us know of your displeasure with our property at the time of your stay. We will continue to do our very best to improve for all of our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Would have preferred to stay in town, but didn't make res soon enough. Staff was great, very clean, nice free breakfast with room, and downstairs rooms have back patio that is great when traveling with dogs -but choose the east side in summer months, otherwise it will be too hot to use it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmlds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CianniM, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn - Lone Pine, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
We are pleased to hear that our hotel made your stay in Lone Pine a pleasurable one! Thank you for your time with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

I stopped here one night, the receptionist is very nice but the room was run down and in need of attention. It was a 2 star hotel. The aircon stank of pee when it was switched on it was vile! I would not advise you stop here at 150 dollars a night!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KLP1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CianniM, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn - Lone Pine, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment with our hotel! We strive to accommodate all guest comfortably and to their standards, and we are sorry this was not the case with you! Thank your for your stay and your review! Comments like these help us to keep improving at all times!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

It's not convenient to "downtown" Lone Pine, but you can see Mt. Whitney to the west, and there's nothing wrong with that. The pool was nice, and the breakfast was totally up to expectations - carbs are the rule here. The front desk staff was as friendly as could be. I would stay here again, although I do generally like the option of walking places, like restaurants, but that's the only negative I can offer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank XCaliphornian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CianniM, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn - Lone Pine, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay! We appreciate the review, and hope you will come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lone Pine
1.6 mi away
Dow Villa Motel
Dow Villa Motel
#2 of 8 in Lone Pine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
23.1 mi away
Olancha RV Park and Motel
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
National 9 Trails Motel
National 9 Trails Motel
#6 of 8 in Lone Pine
3.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mt. Whitney Motel
Mt. Whitney Motel
#8 of 8 in Lone Pine
3.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
22.7 mi away
Ranch Motel
Ranch Motel
#2 of 3 in Olancha
3.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn - Lone Pine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn - Lone Pine

Property: Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
Address: 1920 S Main St, Lone Pine, CA 93545-3013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Lone Pine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn - Lone Pine 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Lone Pine hotel, a hotel in Lone Pine, CA close to Mt. Whitney and Death Valley. The Comfort Inn® hotel is located at the base of the eastern Sierra Nevada Mountains and close to Mount Whitney. This Lone Pine, CA hotel is near area attractions like Alabama Hills, Diaz Lake and the Manzanar National Historic Site. Lone Pine is the gateway to adventure and perfect for visitors who want to explore some of California's incredible sites. Owens Dry Lake is only 10 miles away. Fishing, water skiing and snow skiing are all located in the area. Death Valley National Park is 105 miles and Yosemite National Park is 125 miles from the hotel. Lake Tahoe, Los Angeles and Las Vegas are less than 250 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn - Lone Pine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine Hotel Lone Pine
Lone Pine Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing