We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“california trip night 12” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Whitney Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mt. Whitney Motel to your Saves list
Mt. Whitney Motel
305 North Main Street, Lone Pine, CA 93545   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“california trip night 12”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

nice clean hotel a bit out dated but fantastic views very cheap, ok for a stop over nice pool. very hot and pool was welcoming but drinks machine was not working tho but there a bar across the road. we stayed in the annexe so we had no road noise.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tony l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

First Impression? That 70’s Show set meets hotel room. There is something to be said for old fashioned drive-in motels: cheapish rooms, good service, right on the highway. Not a chain. This place really measures up well in this reviewers opinion. Usual format for reviews: the room, the good, the bad, the conclusion: In the admittedly unlikely event I find myself in Lone Pine, California again, I would actually be back: cheap, very solid stay. That 70s look and service I actually didn’t mind. Further, it’s a 5 minute walk to ‘down town’ and its 60% cheaper than the Best Western at the very southern end of town (so 10~15 mins away from 'downtown'), apparently - based on Tripadvisor reviews - the best place to stay in Lone Pine, though how that came to be I have no idea.

The room? Dated. Not going to sugar coat that. 1970s, with a few appliances from the 1990s (I haven’t seen a microwave with a dial since 1993) though it did have a flat screen TV with 40 channels (several in Spanish). Linen was clean, tiger print that hasn't been seen in shops since 1979, the room was well made up and the fridge (with handy small freezer) was empty. Wifi is provided free of charge tho speeds weren’t great. Parking is, literally, in front of your room. Pool is (not) tactfully placed next to the highway, albeit with a high fence. Tip? Shell service station next door. Bottom line? As it says on the ticket. I left impressed relative to an outstanding price point.

The good?
1) Location: double edged sword as we’ll see. Close to Mt Whitney and its environs. Also the biggest town close to that National Park. Independence, 15 minutes up the road, is home to jail and Emergency Response (Fire, Police) center. Very little else is there.
2) Free wifi in a cheap motel raised left a positive impression.
3) Service: Subjective, and I note one reviewer had a bad experience, this reviewer’s experience was positive. Nothing outstanding – let me be clear – but functional and helpful.
4) Highway noise did not cause this reviewer any issues. To be fair though, I had the air conditioning so providing white noise.
5) Quite a few food options 5 minutes walk down the road. A decent supermarket there too. There is a gas station (two actually) around the corner.

Needs improvement?
1) Location. This reviewer used Lone Pine as a base to explore Death Valley. It’s a 75~90 minute one way drive into Stovepipe. And back. Up and down two 5,000 foot mountain ranges. It’s not the motel’s fault, but mine – and I’ll admit that, but for Death Valley, Beatty is closer (tho with precious little in it). Lone Pine has quite a bit to offer, which is why I chose it and put up with the 3 hour round trip. I didn’t want to spend (too) much on hotels, thus the two hotels in Death Valley (Stovepipe and Furnace Creek) were non starters; this was the lesser of two evils. I don’t regret my choice, but – as a tip – be aware of it.

Conclusion? Again, be aware of what you are getting: a solid, cheap, old school drive in motel very close to Mt Whitney, not very close to Death Valley in a town with quite a bit to offer. If I was hiking Mt Whitney or heading up to Mammoth, I’d consider it strongly. The town is small, but given the area it is in, it is the best around for 50 miles. And I looked. Well worth considering.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eyes_Wide_Open01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Dimas, Ca
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We travel a lot and this motel compares favorably with other small, family-owned motels across the country. I found this motel to be a great place to stop on our trip to the eastern Sierra Nevada area. My reservation was handled by one of the owners and was accurate and professional. The rate was lower than many comparable motels in town. The motel was neat, clean and quiet, the room clean and comfortable. On this warm summer day the sparkling pool was refreshing! We stayed in one of the original single-story rooms near the pool. They also offer rooms in a two-story building behind the main buildings. I will stay here again and would recommend the Mt. Whitney motel to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SDMRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bovingdon,UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

No problems at this budget motel....you get what you pay for...

Room Tip: the owner was prepared to do a deal even though we turned up without a room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyblueboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stayed overnight. Nice little motel at a good price. Room was on the small side but importantly was clean & had all the bits you'd expect & in working order.
Lone Pine is a nice little town to stay over in, pleanty of places to eat & a couple of good bars.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJ_Lamour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

impressed.
the best one for budget we had on our tour.
the pool is a little bit cold,
but fast internet, nice rooms, clean, good aircondition... late checkin (we checked in 11:30 pm)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank piffie-vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We were impressed with the size of the rooms and the clean, well-kept establishment. Polite staff, and ample parking too! The price was the best in town, and we were only a couple blocks from our favorite restoraunt in town (Seasons)! We will be sure to come back here again when we want to visit Death Valley or climb Mt Whitney!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lupe t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lone Pine
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
#3 of 8 in Lone Pine
4.0 of 5 stars 499 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dow Villa Motel
Dow Villa Motel
#2 of 8 in Lone Pine
4.0 of 5 stars 664 reviews
22.7 mi away
Olancha RV Park and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel
0.4 mi away
National 9 Trails Motel
National 9 Trails Motel
#6 of 8 in Lone Pine
3.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Whitney Portal Hostel
Whitney Portal Hostel
#2 of 3 in Lone Pine
4.5 of 5 stars 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Whitney Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Whitney Motel

Address: 305 North Main Street, Lone Pine, CA 93545
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Lone Pine
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mt. Whitney Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mt. Whitney Hotel Lone Pine
Mt Whitney Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing