We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect price and lovely setting!”
Review of Mt. Whitney Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mt. Whitney Motel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We were impressed with the size of the rooms and the clean, well-kept establishment. Polite staff, and ample parking too! The price was the best in town, and we were only a couple blocks from our favorite restoraunt in town (Seasons)! We will be sure to come back here again when we want to visit Death Valley or climb Mt Whitney!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lupe t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 113 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2011

The organizer of my Mt Whitney climb booked a room at Mt Whitney Motel in August 2011, so did I. The room was pretty comfortable and I had a good night sleep before my adventure. Unfortunately I overslept a bit, and as a result - I have forgotten a couple of things in the morning in a hurry, such as my little cooler, my set of hiking pols, and a few pieces of clothes. I thought it will be not a problem to claim my forgotten things when I come back from my climb, but it turned out to be impossible! When I tried to talk to a front desk on my return - I was treated very rude: I was told all "forgotten things" are usually locked in a special room and they currently do not have a key to that room. I asked if I can leave my phone and address and if I can come back next week when I will be backpacking in the area and have an opportunity to stop by.... Well, a week later when I returned to hotel - they said they do not have any of my things, not any at all. They did not even apologize. I was very, very disappointed, and definetely will never stay in the motel again. Please be aware of a bad indifferent customer service!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Matiola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We checked in on a Friday afternoon and were pretty lucky to get a room as we did not have a reservation. The manager was friendly and very accomodating. He offered us a room on the back of the property which was supposed to be quiet. It was the first room by the stairs however it was really quiet, if it weren't for the trucks who speeded through the street. But at one point they eventually stopped, so we enjoyed a good nights sleep. The room was a bit pricy but it was a weekend, everything was clean and worked just fine including wifi. We definitely recommend it if you just need an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunsetd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Rooms were basic but adequate in terms of facilities. However if size matters they were fantastic. Reasonably priced and everything worked.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ph1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Overnighted here as a family of 5 and found accommodation booked up in Lone Pine. Mount Whitney had availability with a massive room. A bit pricey though with no frills though patchy wifi was free. Pool looked a bit dirty was but used by others. Beds were comfy and aircon effiective if not a little noisy. Bathroom was basic and in need of some modernisation but met our needs.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cream_Crackered_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Booked this as there was nothing else available, and really regret not having planned ahead to avoid the experience.

I've paid less than this for 4-star, brand-new full service hotels with breakfast included.

How does anyone vote this place more than 2 out of 5???

Here, for $123 a night we got a bed and a shower in a tired, shabby room that can't have been refurbished since the 1970s... and I don't mean in a funky retro-chic way. I just mean a horrible, shabby room you shouldn't expect to pay over $30 fir And that $123 price doesn't even include breakfast. The owners must laugh inside every time someone hands over their credit card.

Can't get internet in the furthest rooms, and owners couldn't give a toss. By the way, the photos of the pool are way out date, by about 10 years I'd say, when it looked clean. Pool is also right on the road. Avoid.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gobbledyspook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

I have been here many times over the years. The place is really basic, nothing special. It is always clean. Check-in is straight forward, usually accompanied with the strong smell of curry and a smile ;o) It is within easy walking distance of several restaurants in Lone Pine. The rooms don't seem to suffer greatly from noise from the highway, so no real complaints here.

Room Tip: Easy to make or break reservations via e-mail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srarakawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lone Pine
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
#3 of 8 in Lone Pine
711 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dow Villa Motel
Dow Villa Motel
#2 of 8 in Lone Pine
892 reviews
24.9 mi away
Olancha RV Park and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Frontier Motel
0.4 mi away
National 9 Trails Motel
National 9 Trails Motel
#7 of 8 in Lone Pine
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lone Pine Budget Inn & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Whitney Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Whitney Motel

Address: 305 North Main Street, Lone Pine, CA 93545
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Lone Pine
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Price Range: $87 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mt. Whitney Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mt. Whitney Hotel Lone Pine
Mt Whitney Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing