We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Starting to get tired” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cajun Kitchen Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cajun Kitchen Cafe
Ranked #10 of 108 Restaurants in Lompoc
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
West End, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Starting to get tired”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Been going there for years and still will go. Food is excellent and the wait staff are to die for. Very friendly and caring. They have done some up dating to the place. New paint but the carpet needs steam cleaning or replacement. Go there during the week and the food is great. Weekends can be a little less well prepared due to the rush. I am reminded a old saying I learned in the restaurant business over 40years ago. Do it right, do it fast and do it right. Sometimes I think just try to do it fast.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grappa92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    23
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
santa barbara
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Got sick”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Ok, this place used to be decent a few years back but now it's gone downhill. I ordered the pancakes with eggs and it was terrible. The pancakes were very dry and tasted stale. The eggs were definitely cooked in lots of butter, as I could see it pooling up on the side of the plate. Service was really bad and the seats were disgustingly dirty. The water they serve tastes like it came from dirty pipes. Approximately 20 minutes after eating my stomach started to cramp intensely and I had to rush home to use the restroom. Then I come to find out that my husband took a business associate there last week and he got sick too. Never going back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SBCA_Critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gradual Decline”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I've been a regular at Cajun in Santa Barbara county for the last 20 years and have always loved this place. When we moved to Lompoc 7 years ago I was delighted to see this place in town.

Over the last few years it has become dirty and poorly maintained. The sign is broken, the floors and seats are dirty and looking run down. The last few times I've eaten there I've ended up with an upset stomach.

The reason this place is so busy is because of the name they have built for themselves in the area. Their reputation is theirs to lose if they don't maintain the quality they once had. I don't know if this applies to the locations in SB/Goleta/Carp but the Lompoc location definitely needs some TLC.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank River R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Breakfast to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Cajun Kitchen offers some of the best breakfasts on the Central Coast -- hearty servings, tasty combos -- the sausage is authentically cajun style. Biscuits and gravy are delicious -- you can't go wrong with anything on the menu. Be forewarned, though -- this is a local favorite, and weekend mornings guarantee a wait -- but it's worth it. Cajun Kitchen offers great food with none of the pretention one may find at a typical hoity-toity restaurant in the region.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ReadLit247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc, California
1 review
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Crowded most of the time but the food and service are great. We went twice in one week, once for breakfast and once for lunch. The homemade muffins are great.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank lompocan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cajun Kitchen Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Cajun Kitchen Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing