We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lompoc Valley Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Lompoc
Reviewed August 21, 2006

Nightmare - remember to always book a hotel room in advance when situated in the Big Sur area of Calfornia at the weekend in the Summer! We drove for over 100 miles from 6pm-11pm on Highway 1 and every hotel was full except this one - we know why.... Shabby dirty place - forced myself to eat breakfast in the youth hostel like recreation area. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Britraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 229 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2006

we stayed here for 2 nights while visiting santa barbara and solvang. definately a less expensive area to stay in , and it worked out well for us.
the hotel itself is clean, we didn't expect too much for the price. there is free breakfast including cereal, danishes, waffles etc. not a bad deal, except the guy that runs the breakfast room is extremely rude and as you enter , tells you how many minutes you have to eat your food before you have to be out. first experience for me to be treated that rudely in a hotel. and the front desk didn't seem too interested in what i had to say when i told them.
the walls are very thin, you can literally hear the conversations next door.
all in all a decent and safe hotel to stay in. the breakfast guy definately needs some major training.... i wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank taffey68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Corona, ca
17
Reviewed December 1, 2005

The Place is not what you would expect from a "Quality Inn" The landscaping was in poor condiditon, as was the buildings. The hallways were poorly lit and stank like garbage. The room was not cleaned very well and when you looked out the window there was a pile of bird crap at least 2" thick on the top of the air conditioner, which needless to say stank when the air conditioner was running. I did not use it because of this. The breakfast area looked like the recreation room in the basement of some old ymca. Very unacceptable for the price you pay.
This "Quality Inn" has the feel of a welfare campout. since this was the only place in town I was stuck.

  • Stayed: September 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Huntington Beach, CA
15
Reviewed October 4, 2005

I will never stay here again! I was on a business trip and my regular hotel was booked so, I decided to give the Quality Inn a try. What a mistake! The hallways smelled and so did my room! The room was Motel 6 standard layout and had stains on the floor. There was no iron or hair dryer in the room.

  • Stayed: August 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2005

We have stayed at many, many Choice Hotels over the years with very good results. It is one of the chains we actually search out, so our utter shock at this Lompoc Quality Inn & Suites was quite a surprise. The parking lot was in bad shape and the landscaping was mostly dirt and a few sad looking plants scattered around amidst the litter. Our ‘suite’ was just plain filthy and very run-down. We found pubic hairs in the bathtub; the coffee maker had dried coffee spots all over it; the microwave door hadn’t been cleaned in who knows how long and was grimy with fingerprints and grease; the counter under the microwave had dust and crumbs everywhere; the couch was dirty, spotted and had holes in it; the curtains were dirty and so shrunken that they barely covered the small window and the carpet had apparently not been vacuumed too well because we found the burnt end of a marijuana cigarette under the kitchen stool – in plain sight (not to mention the food along the baseboards).

Unfortunately, when we checked in, we didn’t examine the room; we simply took our key and headed out for a drive and to get a bite to eat. When we returned three hours later (about 7:00pm) and discovered all of this we decided we simply would not stay in this filthy hole of a place and I went down to the front desk to tell them we were leaving and why. Gee…they gave us $10.00 off the cost of the room for ‘early checkout’ and they had people waiting in line hoping to get a room as everything from Camarillo to Santa Maria was booked solid due to UCSB graduation, so re-selling our room didn’t look like it was going to be a problem. We wound up paying $70+ for a room we didn’t inhabit.

Avoid this place like the plague!

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Dreamwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2005

My wife and I stayed in one of their "suites" with a baby and friend. The problem is that the "suite" is shotgun-style, it is basically one long room with a king bed and then a living room/kitchen area. Because of this, when our baby went to sleep we couldn't hang out in the living room area without waking her, and she even woke up when we'd use the bathroom or go in and out of the front door. Plus we found a black spider (suspect a black widow) in her crib. On the other hand the service at the hotel was good, the people were all nice and friendly, and the breakfast was good. Just don't go thinking that their "suites" are really "suites"!

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JSaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2005

Our family of four stays here 2-3 times a year to tour the central coast. We've been coming for almost 10 years. It's not a four star hotel, but is very comfortable, has a kitchen (minus an oven), cable TV, a large heated pool that our kids use even in January and a nice evening reception and breakfast. The suite is fairly large. We have never noticed any noise problems from the suites on each side (although you can hear the people above walking around sometimes), and the next door showers are so quiet we tend to oversleep in the morning.

The reception desk is very helpful and friendly and they have free high speed internet service in the suites and internet service on a desktop for guest use in the lobby. It's right across the street from Albertsons and pizza hut and there are lots of restaurants just down the street. The beach is 15 minutes away and the mission is about 5 minutes away.

If you want good value and a decent, clean place to bring kids, come here. If you want something more upscale, go to Embassy Suites, but you'll pay more for it! If you're looking for romantic, keep moving north and go to Apple Farm Inn.

6  Thank 4Robshavinfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lompoc
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lompoc
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lompoc
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lompoc Central Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Lotus of Lompoc - A Great Hospitality Inn
18.6 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
19.4 mi away
The Historic Santa Maria Inn
The Historic Santa Maria Inn
#3 of 21 in Santa Maria
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lompoc Valley Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lompoc Valley Inn & Suites

Address: 1621 N H St, Lompoc, CA 93436-2820 (Formerly Comfort Inn Lompoc)
Location: United States > California > Lompoc
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Lompoc
Price Range: $104 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lompoc Valley Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lompoc Valley Inn and Suites in Lompoc, California is minutes from Vandenberg Air Force Base, La Purisima Golf Course, La Purisima Mission, and the Lompoc Wine Ghetto. The Lompoc Valley Inn and Suites is adjacent to the Lompoc Airport and is a 15 minutes walk from downtown Lompoc. The Lompoc Valley Inn and Suites features a daily complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, including: scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits and gravy, Belgian waffles, cold cereal and oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, toast, danishes, coffee, milk, and juices. A gym, jacuzzi, and outdoor pool are provided to all guests of the Lompoc Valley Inn and Suites. Business center and laundry facilities are also available. All guest rooms include a microwave, refrigerator, flat screen TV, desk, hair dryer, iron, and ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Lompoc Valley Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Lompoc Hotel Lompoc
Quality Inn Lompoc
Lompoc Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing