We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a surprise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of O'Cairns Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
O'Cairns Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Lompoc
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

What a nice surprise! We stopped here for one night based on other TripAdvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. So many wonderful extra touches to make a very nice stay. I was expecting a typical roadside one night stay but exceeded my expectations. I would go out of my way to stay here again.

Everyone we interacted with on staff was friendly, helpful and genuinely cared about our experience. From the front desk, to bartender to staff preparing breakfast.

The front desk explained all the amenities we could expect including a large library of DVDs, laundry facilities with detergent supplied and most appreciated after a day of driving... happy hour with complimentary drinks! A continental breakfast was also complimentary in the morning and was definitely well above the average hotel continental breakfast. Very nice selection of fruit.

The bed was very comfortable and there was also a large, comfy recliner. The hotel isn't new and a few items could be upgraded (such as the bathroom area), but cannot beat the value and the service.

Thank you so much for making our stay so nice!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo4029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    110
    28
    9
    6
See reviews for
101
145
16
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

I am pleasantly surprised by the generosity of this hotel! Free DVD rentals from the front desk - literally hundreds and hundreds of titles; complimentary soda, water, ice cream bars and fruit 24/7; during happy hour each person is allowed 4 drinks for free... including beer, wine or whiskey. The free breakfast is no longer an actual breakfast, but English muffins, toast, cereal or fruit with coffee, juice and milk. The previously mentioned items are all free, so IMO, nothing to complain about. The rooms are comfortable, quiet and clean. Around the world, I have never stayed at a place so giving to its guests and not have anything they're trying to make up for. O'Cairns is well worth the $$ spent on the rooms and I'd recommend to anyone traveling through the area.

While I was there, the pool was closed for maintenance, but probably a bit cool for that anyway.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blu_h2O_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County ca
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Really love this place everything is really nice I'm going again this april but just to let you know the Pool is not heated only if the hot weather and lots of sun heat it, pool heated by nature. They have changed the breakfast to a continental which looks really good, and watching your waistline should be better, I think, DVD's all free, Happy Hour always like that, get together with people

Room Tip: we love the suites if you're staying more than one night be comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittytoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dornoch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

The room was excellent in every way - good quality pillow-top mattresses, nicely furnished room, spacious and well-lit dressing area, great shower - the list goes on.
Free drinks early evening and breakfast cooked to order in the morning, not to mention plentiful supply of cans of Coke, etc., ice cream, fruit, cereal bars to take for the road, all there for free. We were amazed - for the rates they charge to have all the extras included this place can not be beaten.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 14foxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

I have been staying at O'Cairns during the week for the last 10 weeks. Everyone at this Inn are wonderful - from the front desk to the house keepers. The rooms are exceptional - always clean and tidy. The court yard area around the hotel is always spic and span - never any litter blowing around. The happy hour is top notch - always a friendly face on the other side of the bar. Not really a breakfast person - but when I have eaten there it was great - quick and friendly - good food. The front desk personnel are always professional and cheery - will go out of their way to help you with anything that you may need. The pool area has a gas grill and a fire pit - always has oak wood and fire starter on hand. Also there are all of the amenities that you may need to cookout with in the gazebo area. Really is a home away from home. I have stayed out of town for work quite often and I have to tell you - this is one of the best hotels/inns that I have ever had the pleasure of stay in. Really a topnotch Inn. I will always stay at an O’Cairns affiliation whenever I can!!! Beth, Angie, Eric, Michelle and Patrick – thank you for making my stay a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

We have stayed in Lompoc as it is close to La Purisima golf course. We have stayed at many places, most good value for the money. The little bit extra you pay here is made up for by the countless freebies, but the real value is the quality of the room itself.

freebies: free cooked breakfast. free cocktails from 5-8 each night. free ice cream from the front desk. free energy bars from the front desk. free wi-fi. free dvds to use.

the room: slightly larger than normal hotel room with flat screen tv, very comfortable bed and quality bathroom amenities.

there is no doubt we will use this motel in the future. it stands alone.

the service: second to none, from the front desk to the bar staff.

Room Tip: please note: no room service. couldn't delete the item.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mahatma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Such nice comps that you dont ever see anywhere else: wifi, drinks, 3000 dvd's & big TV, cooked-to-order breakfast. Even the bathroom amenities are of high quality. No need to stay in Buelton/Solvang. Stay here instead. The price is great and it's just so comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lompoc
1.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lompoc Central Coast
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lompoc
1.8 mi away
Lompoc Valley Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
17.6 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
17.6 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Cairns Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Cairns Inn & Suites

Property: O'Cairns Inn & Suites
Address: 940 East Ocean Avenue, Lompoc, CA 93436
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lompoc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Lompoc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — O'Cairns Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently close to Vandenberg Air Force Base, the Lompoc Wine Ghetto, Surf and Jalama Beaches, and the famous community of Solvang, the O'Cairns Inn & Suites proudly offers a wide array of amenities at comfortably reasonable rates. Our guests enjoy a delicious cook to order breakfast each morning, Monday-Friday 5am-9am & Saturday and Sundays 7am-10:30am, and enjoy complimentary drinks during our Happy Hour, Sun-Thur from 5pm-8pm plus Friday and Saturday from 6pm-10pm. Our rooms are roomy and home-like, and include large flat screen TV's, refrigerators, microwaves, dvd players, pillow top mattresses, full size pillows, and some even have leather recliners. O'Cairns Inn & Suites is a family owned and operated hotel and our goal is to treat our guests like extended family. We are a dog friendly hotel that offers certain allocated rooms for dogs at an additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your O'Cairns Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o`Cairns Inn And Suites
o`Cairns Hotel Lompoc
Best Western Lompoc
Lompoc Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing