We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jalama Beach County Park
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Lompoc(Lompoc)(Great Value!)
$144
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $140/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$74
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Budget Inn(Lompoc)
$69
$59
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $71/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveler rating
33
19
7
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
19
7
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswindy roaddump stationsanta barbararvhookupselectricityhwy
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 68 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2012

hello...was at jalama beach campground again a few months ago....once again there were high winds for a day or so....it seemed that they made a few changes,like adding some cabins and some mobil homes you could rent in advance if you wanted.....now for a quick list of the main campground and everything else,,,,GREAT BURGERS,,,,CROWDED UNPRIVATE SITES,,,DOG CRAP IN THE CAMPGROUND AND ON THE BEACH....BATHROOMS UNCLEAN...CRAPPY SHOWERS WHEN THEY WORK...LOUD,,,DRUNKEN UNDER AGE ''PUNK ROCKER PARTIES''AT NITE,SO NO ONE CAN SLEEP...STILL,NO SHADE!!!there was an oil derek platform a few miles out that you could see from the beach....i cant remember seeing it there this last trip but that is where the tar on the beach came from....9 years ago,when i was there,,,a large drunken loud'' skater boy ''party was going on late at nite...the neighbors complained.....and the rangers at the time had no problem throwing them out of the park...they were gone in 15 min....one good thing about the rangers,,,is the fact that they are armed...the prices at the store are high so you remember next time to bring everything you need.....that store has a huge inventory of camping needs.....i have to agree with some of the other posts....this could be a great place...but needs a complete makeover.....make it so you can bring your family there,,,and safe for old folks,,,,enforce rules on loud partys,,,,,,the reason that they wont do anything ,is the fact that the beach has been turned into a huge under age party beach,that generates lots of money from loud selfish party animals.....i would say to stay away from JALAMA till they get it under controll.....

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank selmaGranadaHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I do belive this was one of our best trips to Jalama. We went March 8th thru the 12th. It was perfect weather and the Beach was empty we did lots of beach combing. Just enjoy this Beach all together been coming here with my wife and son now for four years. :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rootpopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

i never could figure out why they didnt plant any trees for shade in the campgrounds. 1971 was my first time there, and even now there still isnt trees for shade...when you are not 20 yrs old you need some shade...the only shade is a group of cypress trees at the east end of the campgrounds. to get one of these 2 campsites you must be very lucky..also when i was there in 1971 the sand on the beach was very level and you could camp another 2 or 3 hundred feet toward the water...if each campsite had a manemade overhang,like some parks have ,to shade the campers from the sun,it would be a much better campground.....sometimes i feel the 15 mile drive from 101 through the farmlands to jalama is the highlight...JEAN YOUNK if you are reading this...my email is [...].....keith ,,,,from beth stried fame.........

Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
4  Thank selmaGranadaHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

During the summer we like to go beach hopping. A friend of mine told me about this beach and decided to try it out. My brothers family and mine went, the drive was a bit much.. like 15 minutes to get to the campground and when we got there it was pretty packed, but we managed to get a spot near the center by the play ground. But it was super windy and a nice man said to go towards the back and get a campsite with a bush next to it so it would block the wind. We switched campsites and it was still windy but way better than where we were. What helped us was that I went to the store and purchased huge stakes that looked like huge nails to hold the tent down. There were some kids that were a bit loud but not too bad. We felt safe there. The Man at the store was so nice and helped me bunches.. he even lent me things like a pan, hammer and tools. it was a great experience and the Jalama Burgers are the best burger I had ever tasted...I will definitely go back.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
6  Thank MaribelF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We just returned from our 3 night trip to Jalama. We stayed in the new cabins. We were looking to go "camping" but didn't have all the gear....tents, lanterns...etc so we were excited to learn about the new cabins being offered and the ability to reserve them in advance.

We stayed at the Seagull which is a 5 person cabin. There is a smalle room in the back the size of the bunkbeds. There is a small bathroom with a shower and a queen size bed with a single pullout futon in the liviing room. The kitchen is small, but well equipped and more than sufficient for a short trip. All you need to take are sheets, blankets and food. There are french doors that open on to a beauitul porch overlooking the campsite below and the gorgeous beach beyond.

The beach is beautiful and you can walk for blocks and blocks enjoying the beautiful California Coast in all its glory. The mornings are nice and cool allowing for long walks and total silence. There is NO cell reception..... a good thing if you want to escape for a few days.
The nights can get a little chilly and windy, but we were lucky to have two good nights with great weather and clear skies that allowed us to see all the beauitful stars.

We traveled with out two boys 3 and 7 and they enjoyed every minute of it. We simply can't wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank vannesah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews