We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent”
Review of Budget Cafe

Budget Cafe
Ranked #64 of 111 Restaurants in Lompoc
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Seafood
Restaurant details
Nipomo, California
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Decent”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The service was excellent, the eggs (omelette made into a scramble) were perfect, home fries barely OK, toast hard (but I could have had her redo it, so that is my fault as well), prices not budget. I imagine the decor hasn't changed in 30 years so kind of depressing.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelerCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    10
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lompoc, California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Thaksgiving any time of the year”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The only time we go to the Budget Cafe is on Friday because they serve a turkey dinner that rivals my own cooking. And its only $10.95! Turkey is prepared that day, served with mashed potatoes, dressing, veggies, cranberry sauce , salad and rolls. All home-made, and large portions. My husband has tried their other entrees and in never disappointed either. Take the kids too, and check out their other weekly specials such as meat loaf and tri-tip.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JoycesChoices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Average but ok”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

The name sure doesn't make we want to head over there at meal time! It's kind of an old-style greasy spoon cafe. Lots of locals love it but for me, it's a little underwhelming.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank SchmoeJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc, California
2 reviews
“Awesome!”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

They do not know how to make scramble eggs nor scramble eggs with cheese. Pleasant fast service and the food tastes great.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmmoMan357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Filthy, slow service and average food.”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Can't get past the filthy part. Tried several times over the past decade and it is getting worse instead of better. Not only is it dirty each time (floor is beyond disgusting and so are the windows and tables) they are taking shortcuts on the food and it shows.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pattis_Zone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Budget Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Budget Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing