We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden local treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of American Host

American Host
Ranked #7 of 110 Restaurants in Lompoc
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lompoc, California, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Hidden local treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Prices are good, ambiance is down-home, and the quality of the food is second to none. If you want a real American breakfast that makes you know you're alive, this is the place to do it!

Helpful?
Thank josephmclain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    15
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good value for breakfast special”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Breakfast special $6.99 with additional nominal charge for biscuits with sausage gravy. Delicious. Had home fries and was enough for two meals. Went with adult daughter, fiancee and husband. All of us were very much satisfied and will return in the future.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kingshark808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“This is the place for breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

I don't know if some of these reviewers went on a bad day or what, but American Host has fantastic breakfasts, the best you'll find in Lompoc and certainly better than an Embassy Suites breakfast! Large portions, excellent taste, good service, there's no better place to have your eggs on the weekend than American Host. I have never had lunch here but I hear that it is just as good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelob14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmpoc
Level Contributor
72 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“An Enigma, a poor man's Denny's.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

a place like this apparently has a defined clientele. old fashioned, greasy spoon stick to your ribs food, or easy to chew for the AARP crowd. Spartan Americana decor, waitresses that work way too hard for the dollar or two tips. Kinda crusty, but I can see how someone that lives there would go in for breakfast or lunch if they didn't feel like making thier own omlette or tuna melt.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rb252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Huge portions, poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Enormous amounts of food, but lack of attention from indifferent waitress. Had to look for someone to refill coffee at breakfast...what other attention do you need in the morning? Meal came out tepid and never did get my toast. If more is what you want then I recommend it. The food tasted fine but hot would have made it better and topping my cup o'joe would have made it GREAT!

Helpful?
Thank lesiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Host also viewed

 

Been to American Host? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing