We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hole in the wall, but great meatloaf” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of American Host

American Host
Ranked #7 of 109 Restaurants in Lompoc
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hole in the wall, but great meatloaf”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

We used to go here for lunch from the Air Force Base. My friends introduced me to it and it took me forever to be able to find it on my own. We'd always go on Meatloaf Thursdays.

Helpful?
Thank Dee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    14
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lompoc, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“All American Meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

I love to dine at the Host because their menu has something for everyone. The burgers, salads, french toast and coffee have kept me coming back for years.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mitzileee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

We drove down H street around 1 pm looking for a retaurant, got to the North end, and decided to turn around by driving around the block. We came across American Host restuarant, saw cars in the parking lot, and decided to go in. What a great decision! Sandwiches were excellent -- large, fresh, and lots of salad on the side. The coffee mugs are large and well insulated, and the coffee is HOT, which is great for me because I add lots of cream. Service was friendly. Prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jw-fv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victorville, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Hole in the wall with AWESOME food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

American Host serves home cooked meals, not the kind of meals that you get from chain restaurants. The service is outstanding and the food is delicious. Big portions too. They are only open until 2 pm, so they don't serve dinner!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best biscuits and gravy anywhere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

Ok, not just the biscuits and gravy....commonly known as "heart attack on a plate" but heck. Never hurts to indulge once in a while. Pancakes are tasty, not the bland sort you usually find. This restaurant isn't on the main drag, you have to look for it but when you do, it's worth going in for. Their burgers at lunch time are the best in town. Really good high quality beef! American Host isn't just for breakfast anymore!!

Helpful?
Thank spark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to American Host? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing