We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Challenging Golf Course” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Purisima Golf Course

La Purisima Golf Course
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Listed as one of Golf Magazine's Top 100 Public Courses in the United States.
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Challenging Golf Course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Played La Purisima for the first time yesterday. It is a very unique and challenging design with a lot of elevation changes and occasional water hazards. It is a course where local knowledge would be helpful as it is often not obvious what dangers lurk in the distance. The course is a little rough around the edges but the greens and fairways were in excellent condition. It was a calm day but I understand that it can be quite windy at times which would increase the difficulty. It is a course I would definitely want to play again if I am in the area, especially if I could duplicate the great weather of yesterday.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob6796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LOMPOC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tough course”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a great, challenging course for golfers of all capabilities. There are the usual ladies tees and the Red, White, Blue and LONG Black tees. Challenging.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deaconjohnburke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc, California, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Phenomenal Course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is a well maintained and very challenging golf course. The slope rating tell on part of the tale. If you haven't played here before then be prepared for a very humbling experience. The rough can be totally unforgiving, the wind adds an unexpected hurdle and the greens are slippery and treacherous. Bring extra balls, but don't be surprised if you play only one ball but finish 10 strokes over your handicap. GOOD LUCK!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Hold onto your hat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

There is more than one reason this course is nicknamed "La Piranha". I play here at least a couple of times per year and always enjoy the condition and layout of the track. Be ready, however, to play in stiff, if not outright windy, conditions. The day we played the winds were a consistent 25 mph gusting to 35. Don't be deterred...as it is a really fun, quality course on which to spend a few hours.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CoffeeBuzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Difficult but excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This course has been rated the 33rd most difficult in the U.S. by ESPN. If that is the case, I'd hate to play the top 32! Long course with only 2-3 holes I would classify as easy. Narrow fairways, rolling hills, deep difficult bunkers, it all adds up to a tough day on the course. However, it is more than worth it. There aren't too many more beautiful courses that I have seen, and I've played a lot. It's rarely ever busy here, which makes standing on the tee box on #6 and looking back at the rest of the course even more amazing. A couple of my favorites were #8, a downhill curving hole coming back towards the highway that is reachable with a well-placed tee shot and a long iron, and #12, with the tee shot over a pond and a long narrow entryway to a well-gaurded green in the trees. Highly recommended. It's not the score that counts here, but the enjoyment of a beautiful day on the links.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michelob14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Purisima Golf Course also viewed

 

Been to La Purisima Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing