We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big burger on the beach.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jalama Beach Grill

Jalama Beach Grill
Jalama Beach Park, Lompoc, CA
8057363504
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 104 Restaurants in Lompoc
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Big burger on the beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I heard about a burger at Jalama Beach that was big and good. It's a ways out there, but well worth the beautiful drive to the isolated campground and general store. The general store has a grill that makes a big and good burger. The burger comes with fries, so may fries, that I could not finish them. There is a dining area with tables and chairs with spectacular views of the beach. The park has an entry gate with a ranger. They will let you in with a one hour pass to go to the grill. Just ask the folks in the grill to validate and your visit will be free.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vincent N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
vandenberg village, ca
Level Contributor
296 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“GREAT BREAKFAST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Three of us had breakfast and all were very pleased. Good variety, service, quality and friendly service. Lunch and dinner menu very nice also.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank billkathy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea,CA / Chattanooga, TN
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beyond Belief...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The famous JalamaBurger is absolutely awesome! The fries are even better than MacDonalds ... and enjoy from a surfside window view worth the drive and wait.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jwalk77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good Quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The preparation of the foods here are done with care. It's a grill, but does have a fairly diverse menu. The Jalama burger is their primary claim, but they have lots of other options too. I only tried the burgers because I saw no reason to try anything else.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank s2global
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winkhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great burger and nice friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stopped into the state beach and were just going to have a quick look around, but a guy who was also visiting there said we should try the 'Lama burgers. We weren't really ready for dinner yet but when we saw the great menu we decided to give it a go. We were glad we did, as the old guy behind the counter was lovely and even offered to cut the huge burger in half so we could share it. We also ordered a portion of fries (yummy with some kind of season-all on them) and onion rings (which were beer battered and gorgeous!) and a drink. The whole thing came to just over $15 so wasn't too expensive either. The place is quite unusual and has a load of history stuff on the walls to have a look at while you wait for your food. The location is also spot on but watch out for the cheeky birds; they are fearless and will try to steal your fries (the guys warned us about it when we left the shop)!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Selina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jalama Beach Grill also viewed

 

Been to Jalama Beach Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing