We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“GREAT BREAKFAST” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jalama Beach Grill

Jalama Beach Grill
Ranked #13 of 107 Restaurants in Lompoc
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
vandenberg village, ca
Level Contributor
367 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“GREAT BREAKFAST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Three of us had breakfast and all were very pleased. Good variety, service, quality and friendly service. Lunch and dinner menu very nice also.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank billkathy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brea,CA / Chattanooga, TN
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beyond Belief...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

The famous JalamaBurger is absolutely awesome! The fries are even better than MacDonalds ... and enjoy from a surfside window view worth the drive and wait.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jwalk77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

The preparation of the foods here are done with care. It's a grill, but does have a fairly diverse menu. The Jalama burger is their primary claim, but they have lots of other options too. I only tried the burgers because I saw no reason to try anything else.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank s2global
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winkhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great burger and nice friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stopped into the state beach and were just going to have a quick look around, but a guy who was also visiting there said we should try the 'Lama burgers. We weren't really ready for dinner yet but when we saw the great menu we decided to give it a go. We were glad we did, as the old guy behind the counter was lovely and even offered to cut the huge burger in half so we could share it. We also ordered a portion of fries (yummy with some kind of season-all on them) and onion rings (which were beer battered and gorgeous!) and a drink. The whole thing came to just over $15 so wasn't too expensive either. The place is quite unusual and has a load of history stuff on the walls to have a look at while you wait for your food. The location is also spot on but watch out for the cheeky birds; they are fearless and will try to steal your fries (the guys warned us about it when we left the shop)!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Selina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmpoc
Level Contributor
71 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Needs a thorough cleaning and new employees”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Ok, we all undertsand that a great burger and fries at the beach inherently tastes better. Maybe it's the atmosphere, the view, the salt air - whatever. But that doesn't mean we should risk our health should it?

The employees are all either in HS or fresh out and certainly do not care about cleanliness, customer service or food. Becuase of the tight space in front of the ordering window, they make all patrons stand behind some "imaginary" line. The rest of the store and shop all have hanging signs that say "Do not wait for food here". It's comical becuase there isn't enough sapce to sit down outside and wait becuase those tables are taken by patrons eating.

Also, the second reason for standing behind that imaginary line is you really don't want to see the cooks scratchign themselves and then making your burger. The short time I was watching them make peoples food, I saw raw meat patties right next to produce. WTH? The cooks are rude and really don't give a rodents behind.

This is par for the course as the entire camping facility is old, nasty and in need of serious updating. I really can't ebeleive the health department hasn't closed them down. Or maybe they are beyond their reach as it is in a county park?

Get a fish taco on the streets of LA and you have about the same chance of not getting sick.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rb252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jalama Beach Grill also viewed

 

Been to Jalama Beach Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing