We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Campsite - Look no further!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harford Bridge Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Peter Tavy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harford Bridge Park
Certificate of Excellence
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 review
“Campsite - Look no further!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Visited this site over the August Bank Holiday, it is excellent. The site is relatively quiet as there is no bar so bring your own, this absolutely suited us. The site is flat and there is plenty of shelter which also provides additional privacy. The ablutions are clean and well maintained with plenty of hot water. The site also lends itself to hiking on Dartmoor, my son and I left the site at 0840, we walked to several Tors then hiked down to Fogintor and around the back of Princetown, arrived at 1220 in time for Sunday Lunch in the Plume of Feathers. We are already planning our next stay and wish we had been able to stay for longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichieDenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    14
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
54
51
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lyme Regis, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights over the August Bank holidays, park was full to the brim, but its so spacious you have loads of space for everything. It's beautifully kept, the staff are very helpful, and, although we stayed as a couple it was great to see so many children enjoying the river and riding their bikes around. There's a great play area for younger kids, loads of facilities for everything you need for a long stay plus it's near Tavistock which you can cycle to entirely off the main road. Did I mention Dartmoor?
We came here once in the early 80's, I don,t understand why it took so long to come again. We won't wait so long for our next visit.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We camped at this site for two nights and had a brilliant time despite the weather. We had a pitch with electric hook up. The pitch was huge and next to the river. The facilities are spotless and the park is well maintained. The park is close to Tavistock and Peter Tavy, where I recommend the Peter Tavy Inn for food.
The baked goods and fresh eggs are excellent!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Gary8265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We have just returned from a ten night stay at Harford Bridge Park and can honestly say it's the best site we have ever stayed on. The site is immaculate, the amenities excellent and the surroundings beautiful. The staff are friendly and helpful and the toilet/shower block spotless - with unlimited FREE hot water! The site is dog friendly too with an excellent dog exercise field. It is ideally situated for exploring the Dartmoor National Park and we saw numerous types of birds - including a Nuthatch- our first ever sighting! We also had a close encounter with a hedgehog-which was brilliant! We would thoroughly recommend this camp site and will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Have just returned from a little tour of Devon and Cornwall and a two night stay by the river at Harford Bridge Park. The best campsite we have ever stayed at. Great amenities and a beautiful location, just lovely all round really. Many thanks, we will be returning. x

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M0070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had a lovely stay earlier in the year. Great location only bad thing was the number of very annoying dogs barking at random times (day an NIGHT) which was driving me crazy. I don't blame the dogs just can't understand why irresponsible owners of such dogs were not removed as if someone's children or any adults were this loud I'm sure someone would have taken action.
Overall I think this is possibly one of the best sites around very well cared for and we look forward to many return visits.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZambeziFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at Harford Bridge Park, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your very positive review. We are sorry your stay was spoilt by irresponsible dog owners.

We always try to deal with issues when guests bring them to our attention and have staff on duty day and night to respond. If there is an issue please do raise it with us as soon as possible so we can resolve the matter during your stay.

We are though very glad to hear you plan to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We have just returned from a four night stay using a pitch with electric hook up on the hottest weekend of the year. So much space around each tent and some areas had trees for shade. Our 4 yr old loved the play area and we could watch him from the pitch once we were sure he was confident on all the equipment, though I went in with him most of the time as there were so few children this weekend for him to play with. All dogs were kept under control. Facilities immaculate and aplenty. Peaceful and other campers were just chilling out like us. Staff very friendly. We enjoyed a visit to Lydford Gorge. Live within an hour so will definately go back for the odd weekend in future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mum2ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Manager at Harford Bridge Park, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your very positive review. We are working hard to keep the park looking good and are making small improvements here and there as the season progresses. To receive such positive feedback is reassuring that we are getting things mostly right! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peter Tavy
2.3 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tavistock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
4.5 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
2.2 mi away
Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harford Bridge Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harford Bridge Park

Property: Harford Bridge Park
Address: Tavistock, Peter Tavy, Dartmoor National Park PL19 9LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Peter Tavy
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Peter Tavy
Hotel Class:4 star — Harford Bridge Park 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning, 4 Star beautiful independently run holiday park set in Dartmoor National Park with delightful views of the moor. The River Tavy forms a boundary offering riverside camping and other level spacious pitches. The Park is just 2.5 Miles from the historic market town of Tavistock linked by the recently completed National Cycle Route 27. There's a choice of accommodation waiting for you at Harford Bridge Park including:- 120 pitches available for riverside camping, touring caravans, motor homes, trailer tents and tents. Self-catering caravans. Holiday Cottage. Holiday Lodges Shepherd's Hut Unmetered hot water for bathing, showers and washing-up- Hard tennis court- Children's enclosed play area- Indoor table tennis and table football (no slot machines)- Tourist information room with colour Freeview TV, general reading and reference books- Recreation Green for football and other ball games. A plentiful supply of picnic tables. Dog exercise area. Self-catering accommodation available all year. Camping & touring from 14 March to 15 November. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing