We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place to stay”
Review of Les Cheres Meres

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Cheres Meres
GreenLeadersGold level
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to stay”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We had an overnight stay on our way to the Dordogne. On arrival Tina offered us a welcome cold drink in the lovely garden.
It was lovely sitting in the garden, watching the horses and chickens, it made an excellent start to our holiday and it was nice to eat the delicious dinner Tina cooked for us with the other guests in the garden.
Our room was excellent, spacious with a very well equipped shower room and a lovely balcony.
Mark served us an excellent breakfast the following morning, again in the sunny garden.
Although we only stayed one night we left feeling relaxed and in holiday mode. The location is quiet and peaceful with excellent views and fantastic hosts, Tina and Mark.We will certainly stay again when we next come to France.

Room Tip: The room with the balcony is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen9027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    9
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
24
45
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

My wife and I had an excellent overnight stay at Les Chères Mères on our way from Spain to the UK. Lovely renovated Guesthouse with a nice garden (Little England in the heart of France), very rural, but within 15 minutes of the motorway. Great size, by French standards, room. Extremely comfortable night sleep. Welcome glass of wine on arrival, well, turned out to be a bottle in the end! Delicious and plentiful breakfast in the morning. If you like animals – dogs, cats, horses and many others (over 40 heads to feed every day, as Mark said) it’s definitely a place for you. Quiet, relaxed atmosphere, what else do you need after having to drive for the whole day. There are also plenty of nice walks in the nearby forest to stretch your legs. We could only wish we had more time to enjoy all this.

Very welcoming and friendly hosts. Tina and Mark easily made us feel like we were at home, and very soon it seemed to us that we had known both of them for ages. Everything was absolutely wonderful and we would not hesitate to recommend Les Cheres Meres to all.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergei T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We arrived hot and tired, following excellent directions, at this lovely farmhouse. Immediately we were offered a drink and then shown to our room. The room was very comfortable and spacious. The views are amazing and it is very peaceful. Breakfast is superb and very filling, as were the evening meals that can be booked in advance and were very tasty. Tina and Mark are excellent hosts, putting their guests first and making sure everyone is comfortable. Le Mans race track was easily accessible, but far enough away not to be heard. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandles2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Lovely farmhouse in a beautiful countryside. Located not far from Le Mans. The hosts Mark and Tina are really friendly and provided us with a much needed beer on our arrival! Fantastic breakfast. Brilliant stay, will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuyNew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2014

"We were all looked after really well by Tina and Mark during our recent stay for the MotoGP at Le Mans. Arriving at the lovely "Les Cheres Meres" farmhouse, after a long day on the bikes, we were welcomed with warm smiles and cold beers, then taken to our large and comfortable room. Hearty breakfasts set us up for full-on days spent at the race circuit and it was great to return to the quiet and comfort of the farmhouse each evening. Travel to and from the Le Mans circuit was fairly quick and straightforward even on the main race day, so from a location point do view, this is an excellent place to stay. Highly recommended all round!"

Room Tip: I expect you need to book early for bike and car racing events. All guests seemed happy and contente...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2014

My friend and I booked up for the Les Cheres Mares farmhouse B@B for this years MOTO GP, on arrival we were greeted by Mark who offered us a cold beer to cool us down after what was a long and very hot drive, after cooling down we met Tina who showed us to our room this we found out later was Mark and Tina's room who let us have it because of a kind gesture to take extra people from a racing team.Two of the nicest people I have ever met.I only hop we can spend more time in this fantastic part of France with these lovely people next year.
PS. The food was first class.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motoeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina G, Owner at Les Cheres Meres, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you for your very kind review, we look forward to you staying here again, it was a genuine pleasure..!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanteuil En Vallee, France
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Very pretty farmhouse in quiet rural position only 15 minutes from the motorway. The English owners, Mark and Tina welcomed us unreservedly and felt like old friends by the time we left the next day. Our room was very attractive, comfortable, with television and tea/coffee making facilities. Lovely outside terrace overlooking fields and the gardens were full of colour. We will definitely visit them again on our next trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkduck44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina G, Owner at Les Cheres Meres, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Certainly looking forward to it. Thank you for your kind comments on the garden, it certainly is nice that all that hard work is recognised and appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Mars-d'Outille
9.9 mi away
Hotel Le Charleston
Hotel Le Charleston
#2 of 41 in Le Mans
282 reviews
10.0 mi away
Mercure Le Mans Centre
Mercure Le Mans Centre
#6 of 41 in Le Mans
443 reviews
10.6 mi away
Ibis Le Mans Centre
Ibis Le Mans Centre
#1 of 41 in Le Mans
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Hotel Novotel Le Mans
Hotel Novotel Le Mans
#5 of 41 in Le Mans
544 reviews
11.0 mi away
Best Western Premier Le Mans Country Club
9.3 mi away
Auberge Relais du Cheval Blanc
Auberge Relais du Cheval Blanc
#1 of 1 in Beaumont Pied De Boeuf
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Cheres Meres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Cheres Meres

Property: Les Cheres Meres
Address: Lieu Dit la Fosse Rouge, 72220 Saint-Mars-d'Outille, Le Mans, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Sarthe > Le Mans > Saint-Mars-d'Outille
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Mars-d'Outille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
English run country Farmhouse B&B surrounded by open countryside, guaranteed peaceful silence for a truly relaxing stay. Evening meals. Free full breakfast with free range eggs, wifi and secure parking. Complimentary welcome drinks on arrival. 9km to A28 motorway. 9km to 24hr racetrack and 14km to Le Mans city. Children over 6yrs are most welcome and can help to feed the hens and horses. Nature lovers will adore this 'Multi Award Winning' guest house in the peaceful open countryside next to a huge forest with wild boar, birds and deer. Evening meals served on the terrace with complimentary wine. All rooms ooz character with beams, ensuite bathrooms with power showers & WC, country views, tea & coffee, satellite TV's DVD & films, ceiling fans, soundproofing, heating, hairdryer, toiletries & free wifi. Why not spoil yourself and stay in our beautiful Suite Room with huge balcony and triple aspect country views, leather sofa and binoculars to watch the local wildlife - everything you need for a totally relaxing break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Les Cheres Meres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing