We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun little Loleta”

Loleta Cheese Factory
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Loleta
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
257 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Fun little Loleta”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We love the tiny downtown area of Loleta. The cheese factory is fun to visit. You can watch the cheeses being made, taste dozens of varieties and ship to the family. Love the Havarti.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank norcalhummingbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    50
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unexpected surprise!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We popped in the Loleta cheese factory on our way down to the Avenue of the Giants and we are so glad we did! We weren't expecting much, but were plesantly surprised to see that they have most of their cheeses on sample. The staff was really friendly and gave us the quick rundown of their operations. We were there when the cheese makers were making a batch and the staff explained the process, the type of cheese that was being made and a few other fun facts. It wasn't anything we haven't already heard from other cheese tours, but it was fun nonetheless. We ended up leaving with a package of squeaky cheese (cheese curds) and two other blocks of cheese and will share them friends when we get home.

We also took a quick walk through the town of Loleta afterward.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stadum C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada, California
Level Contributor
731 reviews
182 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 463 helpful votes
“Small shop but plenty of cheese sampling”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is a very small place. However, they have many varieties of cheese available and one can sample most of them (I have never tasted cheese curds until this place!). There is also a small gift shop. The people that run the place are very nice and are ready to answer any questions one might have about their cheeses.

There is also a beautiful meditative garden attached to the building where one can either wander about or sit and enjoy the flowers and plants.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rogerdob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
326 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Friendly people, tasty cheeses!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

A fun little stop in a quiet little town. The sales staff is friendly and helpful. The cheeses are available for sampling and they have a great variety of cheeses that they make. They have a cute little gift shop with a surprising variety of items available for purchase.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SLPlovesPE42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very good cheese”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife nd I have been in other cheese factories, but this is one of the best. Excellent selection of cheeses to sample and buy. The owner was present in the front store to answer questions. Do not be deceived by the factory area. Go in and enjoy the free samples and hopefully buy something!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank robert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loleta Cheese Factory also viewed

 
Eureka, Humboldt County
 

Been to Loleta Cheese Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing