We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unless you are gambling don't stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bear River Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loleta
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Unless you are gambling don't stay”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Booked a "mountain view" room - got a view of the back of the casino and the generator along with its noise. Went back to change rooms and "best they could do" was give me the same view from 2 floors up in a room designed for handicapped individuals. Not sure why this was necessary when at 105 rooms and the day after labor day it clearly wasn't busy. Bathroom fixtures are terrible and it was possible to estimate the height of the person who cleaned the shower from where the stains started!
Ate in the restaurant which is not an experience I recommend - chicken was smothered in cheese sauce and I was not well afterwards. Was waiting to be seated (even though only 3 tables were occupied) & was sitting for 15 minutes waiting for the check so I could get out of there. Wished I had just gone ahead and stayed in Eureka.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine-Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We are certainly sorry that you did not appreciate being in a casino hotel. We are a casino and we are all connected as one building. But, we are sorry if that is not what you were wanting. I can assure you that we were sold out on the day following Labor Day this year, so I apologize that there were not any free upgrades available with a better view. We are very sorry if the service in the restaurant was not up to your expectations or ours. No one should have to wait that long to be seated or to receive their check. That is unacceptable and we apologize. I just cannot find the item on the menu that is chicken with cheese sauce, but we are very sorry if it was not what you were wanting. We would hope you would give us another chance on your next trip. Although we are a busy casino hotel, we certainly believe that our service is the best in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    70
    33
    12
    11
See reviews for
49
91
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

If you are in the Fortuna/Eureka area, this is a great place to stay. Fairly new. Clean. Easy to get to from the highway. Hot showers. Good breakfast. Great price! I can highly recommend this property as a place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watsup1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We certainly believe that we are the preeminent hotel in the Humboldt County/North Coast area and we are happy to hear when one of our guests is convinced of the same. It is simply not possible to find a better value for what you get here at Bear River Casino Hotel. We hope you get a chance to stay with us again on your next trip out here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bluff, Ca
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The hotel has everything to offer.
The rooms are very clean and the beds are great. Friendly, helpful staff. The restaurant served a great breakfast. Casino is small, but they have lots of options. It is in a good location to enjoy all the points of interest in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post your review of your hotel. It always good to hear that a guest enjoyed every facet of their stay. We take a lot of pride in our cleanliness standards and appreciate you noticing. Our breakfast menu is very reasonable and delicious and we are glad you were able to enjoy it. We offer the widest variety of slot machines and table games on the North Coast and are happy to see that you were able to enjoy them as well. We certainly hope to have you with us on your next trip out this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Easy check in. Room was great, comfortable bed, nice decor and excellent value. the pool is extremely small and the hot tub was nice to use. I only stayed one night wish I had booked 2 nights. The staff is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your time with us. We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your room and guest service. We certainly hope you can stay with us more than one night on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stopped here for one night while driving the coast. Very impressed! The room was very large, and the bathroom was huge! Bed was comfortable. The restaurant was...ok. Went down to the restaurant for dinner, not the best service. We did room service for breakfast. Decent food, just a little too greasy for me. We did not go into the casino. The covered parking for no additional fee was a nice touch. I might go back if I'm ever in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katelyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a positive review of our hotel and casino. It is great to know that the spacious rooms are appreciated. We were sorry to hear that the restaurant did not exceed your expectations. We hope you give them another chance on your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson
2 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2013

It was a little disturbing that as soon as I walked into the bathroom I easily spotted the last visitor's dental floss on the floor and two dark black 4" hairs in the bathroom sink. Later when I used the shower there was bright aqua shampoo on the white shower tile grout, kind of hard to miss. That made me wonder if that stuff was left behind what stuff I couldn't easily see was there? Other than that the room was spacious and nice, but to see the sort of distant ocean view you had to stand to the left side of the window and look to the right. So the oceanview room actually had a nice view of the mountains and the Eel river and is just a way to charge more since the hotel is situated north & south and the ocean is west. Also could use some insulation from the noise. Could hear people talking and road noise and motorcycles throughout the night. Dinner was mediocre with not great but very nice service people. Oh and they charge a 10% "tax" on everything even though they are "tax exempt" by state & federal law. When pressed on this issue the front desk lady final admitted it was really more of a surcharge, but goes "straight to the tribe." Doesn't all of it?

Room Tip: Choose a mountain view room on the 4th floor in the low digits for the (i.e.405) quietest room you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gae77e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
We would certainly like to apologize for being checked into a room with a bathroom that was not clean. It certainly sounds like the room was never inspected. If we had known, we would never charge for such a horrible shortcoming. That falls way short of our expectations. It was nice to hear that the guest service exceeded your expectations. There is only a 10% tax on lodging. The lodging tax does the same thing on the Rancheria that a lodging tax does anywhere else. It helps pay for upkeep and repairs of roads, government buildings, etc. Even though the Rancheria may not pay the lodging tax towards the county as other hotels would, the county also does not keep up the roads and government buildings within the Rancheria. I hope that explains it to your satisfaction. We would certainly look forward to you staying with us again. I would feel that we would owe you the next stay on us considering the state of your bathroom upon check-in. Please, give us another chance to impress you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendocino, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Went on a little motorcycle ride with three other buddies and one did recommend the Bear River Hotel. Brand new and the rooms at the hotel were good and no smoking throughout the hotel. We had a good dinner in the restaurant and the woman bar tender was very attentive and nice. The casino was extremely smokey and my favorite game of roulette was done with playing cards instead of the bouncing ball and spinning wheel.The smoke and the phoney wheel forced me out, also while gaming there are no comp drinks. It is nice to have a covered garage to use, and do not let them put you in an East side room, because the delivery and garbage trucks will wake you early. The West rooms face the Bay and Ferndale. Those are OK. The $71.00 rooms advertised ended up costing me $98.00, so beware of that. Would I go back?, probably not.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of our property. It was very nice to hear that you enjoyed the room and the restaurant. For better or worse, all table games in California must use cards. We are confident that we have the very best options when it comes to craps and roulette in all of California. We would hope you would consider staying with us again on your next trip up on the Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loleta
10.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
4.5 mi away
Best Western Country Inn
21.0 mi away
Blue Lake Casino Hotel
Blue Lake Casino Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blue Lake
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Fortuna
201 reviews
12.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
4.4 mi away
The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear River Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear River Casino Resort

Property: Bear River Casino Resort
Address: 11 Bear Paws Way, Loleta, CA 95551-9684 (Formerly Bear River Casino Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Loleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bear River Casino Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short drive from Eureka, CA, Bear River Casino Resort offers you a special way to enjoy entertainment, relaxation and recreation. Celebrate with gaming, rewards, dining and regional exploration – all close to beautiful Humboldt Bay! Our location by the bay also gives you access to great boating, sailing and fishing. Humboldt County features lots of seasonal fairs and festivals too. Even the weather here is ideal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Bear River Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing