We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bear River Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loleta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2013

If you are in the Fortuna/Eureka area, this is a great place to stay. Fairly new. Clean. Easy to get to from the highway. Hot showers. Good breakfast. Great price! I can highly recommend this property as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watsup1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

We certainly believe that we are the preeminent hotel in the Humboldt County/North Coast area and we are happy to hear when one of our guests is convinced of the same. It is simply not possible to find a better value for what you get here at Bear River Casino Hotel. We hope you get a chance to stay with us again on your next trip out here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for Bear River Casino Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 210 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

The hotel has everything to offer.
The rooms are very clean and the beds are great. Friendly, helpful staff. The restaurant served a great breakfast. Casino is small, but they have lots of options. It is in a good location to enjoy all the points of interest in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to post your review of your hotel. It always good to hear that a guest enjoyed every facet of their stay. We take a lot of pride in our cleanliness standards and appreciate you noticing. Our breakfast menu is very reasonable and delicious and we are glad you were able to enjoy it. We offer the widest variety of slot machines and table games on the North Coast and are happy to see that you were able to enjoy them as well. We certainly hope to have you with us on your next trip out this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Easy check in. Room was great, comfortable bed, nice decor and excellent value. the pool is extremely small and the hot tub was nice to use. I only stayed one night wish I had booked 2 nights. The staff is excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your time with us. We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your room and guest service. We certainly hope you can stay with us more than one night on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stopped here for one night while driving the coast. Very impressed! The room was very large, and the bathroom was huge! Bed was comfortable. The restaurant was...ok. Went down to the restaurant for dinner, not the best service. We did room service for breakfast. Decent food, just a little too greasy for me. We did not go into the casino. The covered parking for no additional fee was a nice touch. I might go back if I'm ever in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katelyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a positive review of our hotel and casino. It is great to know that the spacious rooms are appreciated. We were sorry to hear that the restaurant did not exceed your expectations. We hope you give them another chance on your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

It was a little disturbing that as soon as I walked into the bathroom I easily spotted the last visitor's dental floss on the floor and two dark black 4" hairs in the bathroom sink. Later when I used the shower there was bright aqua shampoo on the white shower tile grout, kind of hard to miss. That made me wonder if that stuff was left behind what stuff I couldn't easily see was there? Other than that the room was spacious and nice, but to see the sort of distant ocean view you had to stand to the left side of the window and look to the right. So the oceanview room actually had a nice view of the mountains and the Eel river and is just a way to charge more since the hotel is situated north & south and the ocean is west. Also could use some insulation from the noise. Could hear people talking and road noise and motorcycles throughout the night. Dinner was mediocre with not great but very nice service people. Oh and they charge a 10% "tax" on everything even though they are "tax exempt" by state & federal law. When pressed on this issue the front desk lady final admitted it was really more of a surcharge, but goes "straight to the tribe." Doesn't all of it?

Room Tip: Choose a mountain view room on the 4th floor in the low digits for the (i.e.405) quietest room you c...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gae77e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

We would certainly like to apologize for being checked into a room with a bathroom that was not clean. It certainly sounds like the room was never inspected. If we had known, we would never charge for such a horrible shortcoming. That falls way short of our expectations. It was nice to hear that the guest service exceeded your expectations. There is only a 10% tax on lodging. The lodging tax does the same thing on the Rancheria that a lodging tax does anywhere else. It helps pay for upkeep and repairs of roads, government buildings, etc. Even though the Rancheria may not pay the lodging tax towards the county as other hotels would, the county also does not keep up the roads and government buildings within the Rancheria. I hope that explains it to your satisfaction. We would certainly look forward to you staying with us again. I would feel that we would owe you the next stay on us considering the state of your bathroom upon check-in. Please, give us another chance to impress you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Went on a little motorcycle ride with three other buddies and one did recommend the Bear River Hotel. Brand new and the rooms at the hotel were good and no smoking throughout the hotel. We had a good dinner in the restaurant and the woman bar tender was very attentive and nice. The casino was extremely smokey and my favorite game of roulette was done with playing cards instead of the bouncing ball and spinning wheel.The smoke and the phoney wheel forced me out, also while gaming there are no comp drinks. It is nice to have a covered garage to use, and do not let them put you in an East side room, because the delivery and garbage trucks will wake you early. The West rooms face the Bay and Ferndale. Those are OK. The $71.00 rooms advertised ended up costing me $98.00, so beware of that. Would I go back?, probably not.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of our property. It was very nice to hear that you enjoyed the room and the restaurant. For better or worse, all table games in California must use cards. We are confident that we have the very best options when it comes to craps and roulette in all of California. We would hope you would consider staying with us again on your next trip up on the Coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We found the hotel to be quite nice and very reasonably priced. Upon check-in, I asked if the Internet rate I had was the lowest available rate and was told that I could have the same rate plus a $30 restaurant food credit, a nice touch, I thought. The restaurant offers a varied menu; the portions are large and the meals are nicely prepared and presented. There is a range of prices and menu selections that should fit most tastes and budgets. We found the hotel and dining room staff to be pleasant and helpful. The only slightly negative points I would make about the accommodations are 1.) we found the shower floor to be extremely slippery. Be careful! And 2.) It is impossible to close the room doors quietly from the outside. This can impact sleep quality.

The casino is small, but adequate, but it could use a larger non-smoking area.

Still and all, we would not hesitate to return or to recommend this hotel/casino.

Room Tip: Ask for a tower room with an ocean view (as much to avoid the potential for parking lot noise as for...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We were very happy to see you enjoyed all of the facets of the property. It was especially nice to see that you took the time to enjoy the restaurant. I appreciate you taking the time to write about the shower issue and I wanted you to know that we are in the process of rectifying the issue. We thank you for recommending us to your friends and we hope to see you again as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loleta
4.5 mi away
Best Western Country Inn
21.0 mi away
Blue Lake Casino Hotel
Blue Lake Casino Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blue Lake
159 reviews
10.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Redwood Country
12.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
#5 of 21 in Eureka
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear River Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear River Casino Resort

Address: 11 Bear Paws Way, Loleta, CA 95551-9684 (Formerly Bear River Casino Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Loleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loleta
Price Range: $135 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bear River Casino Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short drive from Eureka, CA, Bear River Casino Resort offers you a special way to enjoy entertainment, relaxation and recreation. Celebrate with gaming, rewards, dining and regional exploration – all close to beautiful Humboldt Bay! Our location by the bay also gives you access to great boating, sailing and fishing. Humboldt County features lots of seasonal fairs and festivals too. Even the weather here is ideal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Bear River Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing