We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice and a Bargain of a Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bear River Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loleta
Certificate of Excellence
Eureka, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very Nice and a Bargain of a Price”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

As the name implies, the Bear River Casino Hotel is part of the Bear River Casino.

The rooms are very nice and would rate very well, if not five stars (out of five). The rooms are of adequate size and are of very good quality and cleanliness. The king bed room only has one really comfortable chair (for reading or watching TV) and I would expect a five star hotel to have two, because there are normally two people in the room. The double queen rooms do not have any comfortable chairs, just a desk chair. Most rooms do not have a mini-fridge or a microwave.

There is a 24 hour casino gas station and cars get gas all night long... which can be somewhat noisy. I suggest you get a room that is not close to the gas station. In fact, the premium side of the hotel (the oceanview side) also is the freeway side. I might suggest you save the 10 or 20 dollars and get a mountainview room (with a nice view of the parking lot) if you prefer quiet.

Like any intelligently run casinos, they have their specials. Now, you can get a king bed room for a 100 bucks and get a 50 dollar credit at their very good restaurant (which rates almost 5 stars by itself) and 50 dollars in casino chips... the room is essentially free. Or, if you just want the room, the internet rates start very low because they want you to throw a few coins in the slot machines.

For a free room, this place is outstanding. A word of advice... unlike Las Vegas and similar to most Indian casinos, don't expect to win a lot of money at the Bear River Casinos. For example, they have altered the rules a bit for the black jack tables so that the odds are very much in their favor instead of ever so slightly in their favor as in Las Vegas.

Room Tip: Read what I wrote above. Stay far away from the 24 hour gas station and even the side of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GTMickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review of our property. We will certainly consider your idea of more chairs inside the rooms. We thank you for the idea. We also believe that whether you want a view of the ocean, valley, and river or you just want the quieter side of the hotel that both have nice enough views and come at a very good value.

We would encourage everyone to give the casino a chance. I think you will find that our hold is competitive with any of the nicest casinos you have visited. We also have a very wide selection of slots and table games.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    70
    33
    12
    11
See reviews for
49
91
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Hotel is fairly new (coming up for 1 year old) and is easily reached from 101, set on a hill with views out over the river. Although in the same building hotel and restaurant are separate from gaming area. Reception was friendly and efficient. Our river view suite was spacious clean and comfortable. The bathroom has a large shower area, but no bath. You can request room with microwave and fridge, but we didn't. TV and complementary WiFi worked fine.

Dinner in restaurant was delicious and reasonably priced, starter and main for two with glass of wine and tip $50. Waiting staff were enthusiastic, but a bit amateurish, so we got pleasant rather than slick service.

All in all this was a great place to spend two nights whilst viewing giant redwoods and lost coast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul6111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post your review of our property. We also believe we are conveniently located along the highway and that our views are dramatic and beautiful. We were particularly pleased to read that your room met your expectations regarding cleanliness. That is our goal for each guest on each stay.

It was very nice to hear that you enjoyed your meal in the River's Edge restaurant. We certainly believe it is a delicious product at a good value. We would encourage every guest to at least give the casino a chance. We have the best selection of slots and table games in the North Coast. We would hope to see you again on your next trip along the Lost Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The room that we stayed in was fine, large, nice bedding, decent bathroom and TV. Coffee maker in the room, but no fridge. We had booked well in advance, and arrived at 4 pm on the day. We were told that our room on the 3rd floor was not ready, could we find something to do for 30 minutes or so or we could take a room on the first floor that doesn't have the view we had booked. After driving for 9 hours we were not interested in waiting 30 minutes or whatever to get in our room, when it clearly stated in our reservation that check-in was 3 pm/ No offer from the clerk to refund any of what we paid for the view room either. We had dinner in the restaurant. I cannot describe the food as anything less than awful. I had pasta that was floating in about 2 inches of a clear soup like broth, no flavour at all. My partner had a steak sandwich that was on horrible bread with a poor tasting sauce, all in all a bad experience. This needs to be corrected as there is no place within walking distance to eat.

As for the casino, extremely smokey and half the machines are shut down, so if you were there for a night of gambling you would have a very limited selection of slot machines.

A disappointment on all fronts, would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Endlesstraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your experience. We would certainly have rooms available by 3pm. However, if there is a specific room that you are wanting, it is possible that there may be a brief wait for the room. That just all depends on when the housekeepers are able to get into the specific room.

I am very sorry to hear that the food in the restaurant was not to your satisfaction. We would expect to meet your expectations each and every time. We truly apologize for falling short.

We also understand our guest frustrations with the casino floor having so many machines down during that week. We share the same frustrations. We were putting new carpet into the casino in order to keep the property looking fresh and clean and it did require the machines to be shut down and moved by section. Unfortunately, not all of the machines came back up as quickly as we would have hoped. We apologize for any inconvenience this caused to any of our guests and sincerely hope that everyone understands that it was every bit as frustrating for us as well. We are very sorry that there were so many issues during your stay and we would only hope that you would consider giving us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I have nothing negative to say about the hotel or the hotel staff. The rooms are quite nice for the price...having said that, the restaurant really needs to get its act together! I would like to thank the restaurant staff for ruining my holiday. being told there was an hour wait for a table wasn't fun, but accepted it and wandered off. After an hour and fifteen minutes we thought we ought to check in. Four were ahead of us is what we were initially told. When we checked in, we were told that there were still two ahead of, we were confused. It was explained to us that since there were "only" two of us, we were waiting for the ONE table that was being used for two. ONE table for every party of two. WOW, unless you're in a group you just don't matter at all. Good to know. Since we don't matter, we won't be returning, ever.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank preciouseureka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We are very sorry to hear that you had such a long wait in the restaurant. We do try to encourage reservations whenever there is a holiday. For better or worse, our demand on holidays for the restaurant exceeds our capacity. Once again, we are very sorry that your wait for the restaurant was so excessive. We would hope that you would give us another chance. We are confident that we can meet you expectations. And, please, feel free to give the hotel and/or casino a try as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights while sightseeing. Nice place to relax. Large rooms, good prices. We ate dinner at the snack bar, the restaurant a little too high. Weekday room rates for 2 queens only 65 with tax. We loved this place. Wished we lived closer. Better than any hotel in Eureka for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelinthrutowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We believe we are in a perfect position for those traveling along the 101 Highway for sightseeing purposes. We are minutes away from either beaches or redwoods and we are also close enough to town for any other needs you may have. And, most importantly, we have almost anything you may be looking for in order to relax before or after sightseeing. We have a gas station and full service convenience store, we have 2 restaurants plus room service, we have a non-smoking bar as well as a separate smoking bar, and we have the finest selection of slot machines and table games along the North Coast. We would be more than happy to welcome you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Checked in tonight for one night on the way to SF. Wasn't made aware that there is a charge of $10 for a crib. Never had a crib charged before (understand rollaway charges but a crib???). Hallway smelled of heavy smoke, and not of cigarettes, walked in to the room which looked nice at first site, but found it to be very dirty, hair on the floor, bed and only 3 towels for a room of 4 guests. Not sure how this hotel is ranked #1 on tripadvisor. I am sure it will be great for some, but we will drive next time straight to SF

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank tommyboy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We absolutely apologize for failing to achieve either your standard or ours for cleanliness. We would certainly never charge for a room where there was hair found on the bed. At the very least, we would have hoped to have the opportunity to move you to a room that was actually ready or come up and clean the existing room to your satisfaction.

Our housekeepers and inspectors work very hard, but that is certainly not to say that we never miss anything. We do. Having said that, we certainly attempt to do our very best to correct any mistakes when they occur. We know how important it is for a hotel guest to be able to check in to a clean room, and it is just as important to us.

Once again, we apologize for the cleanliness not meeting standards in the room you were given. We consider it unacceptable and we are only sorry that we did not get a chance to correct the problem while you were here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

So, the hotel is new, but a little "off." Nice beds, everything looks good, smells good, accommodations are fine, but simply put the pillows suck and the shower could have been cleaner. If it weren't for those two issues, I'd give it a 5 rating. It's less than $100 a night--yes, they want you to gamble, but with $2 and $5 minimums on the blackjack tables, why not? Oh, yeah, the smoke. It's truly overwhelming. The restaurant was fine and the brunch was fine--nothing special, their omelet station and the peel n eat shrimp were the highlights. Desserts, fruit, bacon, and other miscellaneous items left something to be desired. Oh, and a lovely carving station, with a heat lamp that apparently doesn't work. Watch out for the cold ham fellow gamblers and travelers :). Cheers,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stxjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
We are happy that you took the time to post a review of your stay with us. It is very good to know that we are so close to a perfect 5 score in your eyes. However, I am very sorry that the shower did not meet your expectations. That is certainly not acceptable in our eyes. We would expect the shower to be near perfect for each guest. I am also sorry that the pillows did not meet your liking. We understand that everyone has personal preferences when it comes to pillows. For that reason, we do keep some pillows on hand that are not as fluffy or firm just in case. Please do not hesitate to ask if that meets your preference. We aim to find everyone's sweet spot, but we are certainly open to try and accomodate any guest preference that we can.

We were particularly pleased to see that you found the casino to be a great value and a good time. We believe we have, by far, the superior casino product in Humboldt County. We offer a wider variety of table games and the loosest, newest slot machine choices around. It is nice to see that you enjoyed the River's Edge restaurant as well. We are sorry that the heat lamp did not do a sufficient job on the ham. We will certainly take a look at that. It is also understandable that smoke in a casino can affect some of us that do not smoke. We apologize if that bothered you during your gambling entertainment. We are working on improving that issue as we speak in hopes of alleviating at least some of the smoke in the casino. We do, also, offer two non-smoking slot areas that may be preferential for some. We anticipate addressing all of your issues prior to your next stay so that we can earn a true 5 rating from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loleta
10.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
4.5 mi away
Best Western Country Inn
21.0 mi away
Blue Lake Casino Hotel
Blue Lake Casino Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blue Lake
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Fortuna
201 reviews
12.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
4.4 mi away
The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear River Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear River Casino Resort

Property: Bear River Casino Resort
Address: 11 Bear Paws Way, Loleta, CA 95551-9684 (Formerly Bear River Casino Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Loleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bear River Casino Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short drive from Eureka, CA, Bear River Casino Resort offers you a special way to enjoy entertainment, relaxation and recreation. Celebrate with gaming, rewards, dining and regional exploration – all close to beautiful Humboldt Bay! Our location by the bay also gives you access to great boating, sailing and fishing. Humboldt County features lots of seasonal fairs and festivals too. Even the weather here is ideal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Bear River Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing