We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not clean, charging for cribs...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bear River Casino Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bear River Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loleta
Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not clean, charging for cribs...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Checked in tonight for one night on the way to SF. Wasn't made aware that there is a charge of $10 for a crib. Never had a crib charged before (understand rollaway charges but a crib???). Hallway smelled of heavy smoke, and not of cigarettes, walked in to the room which looked nice at first site, but found it to be very dirty, hair on the floor, bed and only 3 towels for a room of 4 guests. Not sure how this hotel is ranked #1 on tripadvisor. I am sure it will be great for some, but we will drive next time straight to SF

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank tommyboy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We absolutely apologize for failing to achieve either your standard or ours for cleanliness. We would certainly never charge for a room where there was hair found on the bed. At the very least, we would have hoped to have the opportunity to move you to a room that was actually ready or come up and clean the existing room to your satisfaction.

Our housekeepers and inspectors work very hard, but that is certainly not to say that we never miss anything. We do. Having said that, we certainly attempt to do our very best to correct any mistakes when they occur. We know how important it is for a hotel guest to be able to check in to a clean room, and it is just as important to us.

Once again, we apologize for the cleanliness not meeting standards in the room you were given. We consider it unacceptable and we are only sorry that we did not get a chance to correct the problem while you were here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    65
    33
    12
    11
See reviews for
47
88
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

So, the hotel is new, but a little "off." Nice beds, everything looks good, smells good, accommodations are fine, but simply put the pillows suck and the shower could have been cleaner. If it weren't for those two issues, I'd give it a 5 rating. It's less than $100 a night--yes, they want you to gamble, but with $2 and $5 minimums on the blackjack tables, why not? Oh, yeah, the smoke. It's truly overwhelming. The restaurant was fine and the brunch was fine--nothing special, their omelet station and the peel n eat shrimp were the highlights. Desserts, fruit, bacon, and other miscellaneous items left something to be desired. Oh, and a lovely carving station, with a heat lamp that apparently doesn't work. Watch out for the cold ham fellow gamblers and travelers :). Cheers,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stxjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
We are happy that you took the time to post a review of your stay with us. It is very good to know that we are so close to a perfect 5 score in your eyes. However, I am very sorry that the shower did not meet your expectations. That is certainly not acceptable in our eyes. We would expect the shower to be near perfect for each guest. I am also sorry that the pillows did not meet your liking. We understand that everyone has personal preferences when it comes to pillows. For that reason, we do keep some pillows on hand that are not as fluffy or firm just in case. Please do not hesitate to ask if that meets your preference. We aim to find everyone's sweet spot, but we are certainly open to try and accomodate any guest preference that we can.

We were particularly pleased to see that you found the casino to be a great value and a good time. We believe we have, by far, the superior casino product in Humboldt County. We offer a wider variety of table games and the loosest, newest slot machine choices around. It is nice to see that you enjoyed the River's Edge restaurant as well. We are sorry that the heat lamp did not do a sufficient job on the ham. We will certainly take a look at that. It is also understandable that smoke in a casino can affect some of us that do not smoke. We apologize if that bothered you during your gambling entertainment. We are working on improving that issue as we speak in hopes of alleviating at least some of the smoke in the casino. We do, also, offer two non-smoking slot areas that may be preferential for some. We anticipate addressing all of your issues prior to your next stay so that we can earn a true 5 rating from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel! We were greeted warmly by all the staff we met. The prices were reasonable; the location was perfect. The lobby had a two-sided fireplace and there was an indoor pool and spa. The casino is small by Vegas standards, but adequate. Our room was large, modern, immaculate and beautifully decorated in Native American decor with dark wood furniture and crown moulding. The beds were VERY comfortable! The large bathroom had a walk-in shower and stone tile on the floor and in the shower with granite around the sink. They offered free WiFi, but their service was hit or miss, as was the TV reception, probably due to their remote location. The bathroom was large and had a walk in shower with stone tile. Another perk...a mini Keurig coffee maker with plenty of coffee, decaf, hot cocoa & tea pods. The restaurant was reasonably priced and served delicious meals and they offered room service. Everyone we met in this hotel was extremely accommodating, cheerful and eager to please. We will definitely come here again when passing through!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trip_loverCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your enjoyable stay with us. We are so happy to hear that everyone greeted you with cheer and an eagerness to please. That is indeed, our expectations, for every guest encounter. It is always nice to hear that the accomodations and amenities exceed a guest's expectations. But, it is particularly pleasing to know our staff, our food, and our value met or exceeded your expectations. It is also always nice to know when a guest room is clean enough to be considered immaculate. We were sorry to hear that your wi-fi and cable reception had some issues, but I am confident that we can address these issues if they should arise during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahoa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We found this gem thanks to tripadvisor and want to be sure to heap on the kudos. Clean, trendy rooms with a small coffee maker and free wifi and TV. We booked a single queen bed on the fourth floor and had a beautiful view. Rooms were quiet and again, very clean. Food in the restaurant was okay - we carried up to eat in the room and was pretty cool by the time we arrived. Food prep was basic - prices a bit high, but it is a casino location. Still, this puts you right in the heart of some of the most beautiful scenery in California - a great place to venture out into the redwoods or to play on the Pacific or wander up a mountain trail. You will LOVE your shower when you get back to your room! The staff was helpful and the front desk staff was quick to help and keep things moving. We have family in Eureka and so this will definitely be our go-to spot. Check the prices at the Eureka Super 8 and then check here -- you suddenly realize you get so much more (and safety, too!) at the Bear River Casino Hotel.

Room Tip: fourth floor...facing river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graceisenough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your endorsement of our hotel. We were very happy to hear that the amenities and the view met your expectations. It is also nice to know that the cleanliness and the showers exceeded your expectations. That is our goal for every guest. We would love to become your go-to spot here in the Eureka area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

The casino was nice but the hotel was outstanding. The customer service was great and the room was awesome. You really get your moneys worth. We didnt how ever know there was a pool but next time we stay we will check it out.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
We want to thank you for taking the time to post your review of our property. We are always happy to hear that someone found our hotel to be outstanding. We certainly feel the same way and aim to make every guest depart with that same feeling. We believe that we are the best deal in town as well. I apologize that the pool was not mentioned to you at check-in. Our facilities and amenities should always be explained to a new guest during the check-in process. We would absolutely look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights. Room quiet and comfortable. Internet easy to access and steady signal. TV reception poor. Casino tight. Restaurant reasonable and tasty. Noticed menu items changed depending on the kitchen staff. One day the parfait was mostly yogurt with fruit sprinkled on top. The next day it was mostly fruit with minimal yogurt included. Bill was wrong first night although bartender readily reimbursed me.

Room Tip: Fourth floor has a view of surrounding area. Nothing spectacular to see
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paupaubean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you very much for letting us read about your stay here with us at Bear River. We were sorry to see that you had issues with the TV reception and the consistency on the parfait. We are happy to read that your room was quiet and comfortable. We are thankful you gave our property a chance and we hope that we have convinced you to stay with us on your next trip through the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I ended up checking out of another hotel in the area because of the lack of phone service and internet. The customer service was great here. I explained my situation to the receptionist and she escorted me to a room so I could check my phone reception before I check into the room. I thought that was really above and beyond! The place is brand new and the rates are less than i was paying at the other hotel. The only downside was that the fitness area was closed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay with us here at the Bear River Casino Hotel. It is always nice to hear that our guest service went above and beyond. That is certainly our goal for each and every guest. It is also good to know that you found our property at our price as a good value. We believe it to be the best deal in town. We look forward to seeing you again on your next business trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loleta
10.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Country Inn
12.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Fortuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
20.9 mi away
Blue Lake Casino Hotel
Blue Lake Casino Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blue Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear River Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear River Casino Resort

Property: Bear River Casino Resort
Address: 11 Bear Paws Way, Loleta, CA 95551-9684 (Formerly Bear River Casino Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Loleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bear River Casino Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-new Bear River Hotel is the newest addition to Bear River, here to make your gaming experience even better. The hotel complex features a new restaurant complete with a new menu and a spectacular view of the Eel River Valley and Pacific Ocean, a lobby bar, 105 guest rooms (many with amazing views of the valley and ocean) and meeting space, all connected to the award-winning Bear River Casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Bear River Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing