We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bear River Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loleta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2012

My husband and I were driving up the coast and most places were either full or way overpriced for what you get. We stopped at a coffee shop to research our options and found the Bear River Casino hotel online, where they also quoted a lower price than other hotels around. After staying in a dingy place the night before, this looked like it would be a great clean and new place to stay and refresh.
It was mostly good, we were impressed with the room, the bed was comfy and the room felt luxurious and clean after what we had stayed at for more money. The front desk was very polite and helpful and checked us in with no problems.
We were excited to have a pool, and we did do a quick dip in the hot tub, but the place was tiny! The tub is in a corner of the pool, so that takes away from pool size and privacy. There is no way anyone could do more than splash around in the pool, so I guess for kids its just fine. The so-called fitness center had only a treadmill and bike, maybe a few med balls. All was not bad and it was doable, but not quite what we expected.
We did not go to the restaurant, but prices seemed higher than they would be in town. Most other hotels on our way up the coast had a breakfast included, this one did not.
Upon checkout I got a bit angry, as the price quoted online when I booked our room quoted one price, but upon checkout they suddenly added tax. Im ok with tax, but it was not disclosed online. Before booking I searched and searched to make sure the price they said was total price, nowhere did it quote the price with tax, and so I had an unpleasant surprise upon checkout. We payed cash for our room. We stayed there a week ago and I just looked at my bank account and it shows that the Hotel has taken $75 from us.. I will be calling shortly to find out what is going on, but I dont like it. A week after a stay there should not be a charge on my account if we payed for the room in cash.
In general, the place was a nice clean retreat and I would recommend it for a quick stay to avoid higher prices or dirty places closer to the water.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spone7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. We are very happy to hear that the room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the staff was pleasant.

We are certainly sorry to hear there was an issue with your bill. Anytime you make a reservation online, it should certainly include the 10% lodging tax. Just by testing it, I see it does include it on my confirmation page when I make a reservation. However, when there is a system issue, we would certainly be willing to honor the rate that was quoted to the guest on the confirmation page. The 10% lodging tax is not kept by the hotel, but we would still be more than willing to adjust our rate in order to accomodate the price a guest was quoted.

We would also never charge an additional amount after checkout for no reason. We do authorize the credit card at check-in for room and tax plus 25% for incidentals and security deposit. However, at checkout, we release whatever amount of the authorization was unnecessary. If you paid cash at checkout, we would release the entire authorization. It may, indeed, take a few business days for that authorization release to show up on your statement. If it is a debit card, it may even take longer than a few business days for the release to show up on your statement. Unfortunately, I would have to refer you to your card issuer for their authorization release rules. We release any unused authorizations at checkout, but the amount of time that the issuing bank holds those funds does vary some from one card issuer to the next.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 211 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2012

the best value in the Eureka area by far! my wife, 2 daughters and I stayed in a two queen room. the room was super clean, beds were very comfy, and everything was brand new. the pool and spa were great fun and the deck off the side had a wonderful view of the sunset. overall a great place to stay! :)

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank 123kd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review after your stay. We are especially glad to hear that our housekeeping staff lived up to your cleanliness standards. That is what we strive to achieve for each guest. We were very glad to hear you took the time to enjoy the view off of the pool deck during your stay. At sunset, it is truly amazing. Please come stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We were traveling through on a family vacation and needed a place to stop for the night. Was recommended this by a waitress at a Restaraunt. This is by far the nicest hotel in the area. Place is very new and clean. Customer service was excellent. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review after staying with us. It is very nice to hear professionals within the local community recommend us to visitors. Obviously, we also feel that we are the nicest hotel in the area. It is very nice to hear that both the customer service and the cleanliness lived up to your expectations. We aim to exceed expectations whenever possible. Please come stay with us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

I spent weeks looking for a hotel around Eureka. I finally found this one and paid less than a motel 8. The room was awesome. Clean, new and wonderful. The staff were so kind. It was my birthday and they had a card and chocolate for me. We just stayed the night on our drive up the coast. We ate in the little cafe inside the casino. The sandwiches were excellent and fair priced. Out of the five hotels we stayed at during the week, this one was by far the best and the cheapest. I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a clean and inexpensive room. Thank you to the staff for making our stay the best out of all hotels on our trip. Oh and free wifi which worked great!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jastx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thank you so much for the response. Your taking the time to post it is very much appreciated. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with the value of the room at the price you got it at. We also like to think we are the best deal around.

I was happy to hear that the staff was attentive enough to pick up on your birthday and celebrate the special occasion with you. It is good to know that housekeeping is living up to your cleanliness standards. That is our goal each and every stay. Thank you, also, for the positive feedback on the cafe and wi-fi. We appreciate any response we can get on any of our amenities or outlets.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Are stay here was very nice the rooms are clean and spacious the beds are great the service is wonderful the staff are amazing and the price is so well worth it we would stay again in a heart beat I have nothing bad to say at all about our stay and we stayed here for a week it was great if your gonna stay in lolita stay here !!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Athena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay. I am very happy to hear that housekeeping did such a fine job during your extended stay. We hold ourselves to high standards here and would expect you to do the same. Please come back soon and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We are locals with a fair amount of travel experience. We were offered a basic room at Bear River Casino Hotel as a free comp. We stayed over on a Saturday night and had a fantastic time. The rooms are new (as of Summer 2012) and everything was in perfect working order.

The staff and amenities were above average for the area. I would easily recommend this hotel room to anyone. The room was well worth the $125 per night rate, if we had been paying.

Why four stars and not five? The restaurant is still working out some kinks. They don't have a full menu and what is served is not very good in taste or quality. I've tried a half dozen meals at the restaurant and have only had one that was acceptable. Their burgers are expensive but good. The menu is oddly short with little appealing. They need to hire a real chef and create a menu that complements the beautiful dining area and hotel.

Room Tip: The ocean view side has nice very distant views of the ocean over the Ferndale area. The mountain v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank HumboldtRedwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

We truly appreciate you coming out and trying out our new property. We are eager to get as many people as possible exposed to the product, which we feel is exceptional for any area. I am especially grateful that you took the time to express such positive sentiment after your stay. I would encourage you to come out and try us again, particularly in the restaurant. We are rolling out a new menu very soon and would very much expect you to appreciate the changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank TJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loleta
4.5 mi away
Best Western Country Inn
21.0 mi away
Blue Lake Casino Hotel
Blue Lake Casino Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blue Lake
160 reviews
10.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Redwood Country
11.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear River Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear River Casino Resort

Address: 11 Bear Paws Way, Loleta, CA 95551-9684 (Formerly Bear River Casino Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Loleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loleta
Price Range: $129 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bear River Casino Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short drive from Eureka, CA, Bear River Casino Resort offers you a special way to enjoy entertainment, relaxation and recreation. Celebrate with gaming, rewards, dining and regional exploration – all close to beautiful Humboldt Bay! Our location by the bay also gives you access to great boating, sailing and fishing. Humboldt County features lots of seasonal fairs and festivals too. Even the weather here is ideal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Bear River Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing