We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wanted, nice late lunch experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crush

Crush
Ranked #122 of 192 Restaurants in Lodi
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: located in the old Woolworth Building. Fun, fresh ingredients and good service. Ran into a wine maker there
california
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wanted, nice late lunch experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

We rarely dine out for lunch but over a week ago that was the plan. Had an evening meal before at Crush which we had enjoyed. Upon arrival there was no indication it was open and as we started to leave someone came to the door. Several people were inside. We shared a beet salad. Good(the old warm beets were better). We split a hamburger. The bun was large, the small meat was either reheated, overcooked or both. No taste, no moisture and nothing on the bun to help. The added bacon had a good flavor. The cheese, it was not really melted but was a great adhesive to the bun. #1 as the worst! Soiled plates were left on our table, napkins dropped on the floor needed to be picked up. The service person was friendly. Very difficult to return with this memory.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Italia077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    6
    3
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Out of the way surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Don't eat out often but this is a winner! Food was very nicely presented and tasted great. Quite a change to have popcorn instead of bread. Only negative is that parking can be a bit of a problem.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank konatraveler40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Villa
Level Contributor
120 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Wine and Chocolate Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Lodi, CA is our favorite wine appellation. This particular weekend was especially special. It was the Wine and Chocolate Festival.Our friends from Merced, CA met us there. The wineries were wonderful. Dinner at Crush was every bit as wonderful.

Our reservations were honored on time. The restaurant was pleasant. The wine we ordered was great. Our meals were delivered in a timely fashion and were very tasty.

In all of our visits to Lodi, this is only the second dinner we have eaten in a restaurant. We would definitely recommend it. We would eat there again

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, CA
Level Contributor
129 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Bright Lights and Bland Bites”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Wanted to like this tucked away venue on the main street of Lodi but it fell short on many levels. The lights were bright enough to illuminate a stage and the floor plan was counterproductive to intimate conversations. The noise level was a decibel or two above comfortable.

On the plus side the service was attentive but the food was uninspired and bland. The short rib on pollenta looked inviting but the meat was void of any discernible seasoning of flavor and the pollenta was watery. Meanwhile, the signature eggplant dish was ok, but its presentation seemed uninspired. The popcorn was a unique touch.

Next time we will seek out a venue that exudes a bit more intimacy.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank unpre10ous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHARLOTTE
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“wonderful surprise in Lodi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

My scallops were incredible, my husband's duck even better. The honey-fried eggplant app was out of this world. The popcorn instead of bread at the onset was also crazy-good. If you only eat one meal in Lodi, this is where you should eat it. If you get to eat here more than once, you are totally lucky.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crush? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing