We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine & Roses...An Experience in Good Taste”
Review of Wine & Roses Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wine & Roses Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Lodi
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Wine & Roses...An Experience in Good Taste”
Reviewed February 1, 2006

If you are looking for a one of a kind get-a-way week-end, I advise checking out the charming Wine and Roses hotel and restaurant. The rooms are mindful of a European style with lush beddings and tastefully selected furnishings.

The restaurant is top notch. If you are in the mood for a fine dining experience while in Lodi, Wine and Roses is a must. I have visited on numerous occasions and have never been less than thoroughly pleased with the presentation, taste, and uniqueness of the dining experience.

The surrouding gardens are landscaped with a wide variety of lush flowers and bushes that are still in bloom even in the dead of winter. I can only imagine what it must look like in sping and summer.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    90
    21
    14
    16
See reviews for
81
226
17
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Forestville, California
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2006

We’ve enjoyed dining at Wine and Roses many times, and our first stay at their hotel was an excellent experience as well. The main building is a beautifully restored historic farmhouse which contains their restaurant, lobby, lounge area, and inn rooms. There’s a very attractive stone “events building” next door, and their garden rooms and suites are located in a series of new Mediterranean-style 2-story buildings that are clustered around gardens and a main patio area. The grounds are beautifully landscaped with a fountain, secluded walkways and an abundance of greenery and flowering plants. A full service spa is in the works, and currently, limited spa services are offered. A nice Continental breakfast was provided in the pretty dining room with a fireplace. Breakfast included: orange juice, coffee, home-made fruit scones (delicious!) and pastries, bagels and English muffins, hard-boiled eggs, fresh fruit and premium quality granola.

We stayed in Room #28 on the 2nd floor. It’s a “Garden View” room with a king bed. Decor is a very pleasant blend of rustic and sophisticated, with attractive Mediterranean colors. The room was quite spacious and yet felt cozy and warm. It really had more of a feeling of a suite with its tiled entry, large bathroom and bed/sitting areas. The bath had a deep soaking tub, ample marble counterspace and even a small TV. An honor bar and frig were stocked with a nice variety of good quality snacks and beverages.

French doors opened onto a good size covered patio with an inviting wooden table and chairs and a view of the pretty gardens below. My only complaint is the rather noisy little refrigerator, which couldn’t be turned off. Other than that, our room was very quiet and comfortable at nite.

The entire staff at Wine and Roses was friendly and helpful. We spoke to the front desk staff, housekeepers, groundskeepers, and restaurant personnel and each experience was warm and welcoming. After a wonderful dinner at their restaurant we returned to our room and I noticed the phone light indicated we had a message. It was from Julie at the front desk welcoming us to the hotel and offering whatever assistance we might need during our stay--a very nice touch! The service and courtesy provided throughout our stay were really first rate. Lodi has been called “the new Napa”. But I do know that an inn or hotel in Napa that provides the level of accommodations and service offered by Wine and Roses, would cost $125 more per nite!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Forestvillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2005

We were excited to stay at the Wine and Roses in Lodi, as it is the cutest Inn in town, and definately the highest-end accommodations. For $350 a night, we had high expectations. First sign that things might be rough was when the shower filled up with water due to clogged drain....ick. That night we called the front desk to request an extra blanket and were sent a twin bed sheet. When we called back, the front desk apologized for the error and promised a blanket would be sent right over. It was, but this time we were given a mattress pad...ick again. Just say you are out of blankets, we weren't fooled. The kicker was when we settled in for the night expecting a restful sleep......bounce bounce bounce, flush flush flush, trickle trickle trickle. People walking above and the sound of rushing water down the walls from the upstairs plumbing kept us up late and woke us up early. We checked out early to find something more quiet. Such a shame as the grounds of this Inn are beautiful! Hopefull they will spend more on the insulation for the new rooms they are adding.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TripMemberAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 22, 2004

We stayed this past weekend, August 20, 2004, in a room in the historic part of the hotel. Our room was so clean and comfortable, it was like being at home. The bedding was top of the line, not your usual hotel-fare. The clawfoot bathtub was big enough for two. We attended a wedding in the gardens and the reception in the Garden Ballroom and the food and ambience was all fantastic. I would recommend this place to anyone. In the morning, there is a gourmet continental breakfast for guests that runs until 10:30 with coffee, juices, cereals, pastries, yogurt, fresh fruit and toast. Everything was just lovely!

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 14, 2004

My husband and I and our three children (4, 2 and 1) stayed in the historic part of this hotel. We were part of a party of that stayed in four rooms for one night so that we could be there early for a wedding that was to take place in the morning. The reservationist neglected to mention that there would be amplified live music until 11:15 pm directly below our room. The shower in our room was dirty and didn't work. The toilet seat lid was dirty. The hot water for our baths ran out after 20 minutes. There was a dirty rag and a used water glass left in another room. There were very obvious stains on some of the furniture. The bride's suite was below a family with small children who woke her up running and screaming. Overall, one our worst hotels stays. On the bright side, the wedding the next morning went off without a hitch. The grounds were beautifully kept and the food and service at the reception were excellent. I would recommend having a wedding there, just don't plan on staying.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2003

This is a classically warm and inviting hotel in a town famous for gold rush fame, as well as a famous line in a song...."stuck here in Lodi again..." I was stuck in Lodi on business and happened upon this charming place. The room was full of rich ambiance. Wall colors are soothing; there are high-end granite counters in the bathroom, Anichini bed linens, and a bed so comfy as to lull the most hardened insomniac to dreamy sleep. The restaurant is expensive but again, with ambiance and charm. There is a wonderful, ample continental breakfast in the restaurant in the morning. I am a female and when I stay away on business by myself, I like to feel safe and comfortable. I always look forward to a trip to Lodi.

  • Stayed January 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank labeille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lodi
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lodi
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lodi
3.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Lodi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Best Western I-5 Inn & Suites
13.2 mi away
University Plaza Waterfront Hotel
3.3 mi away
Motel 6 Lodi
Motel 6 Lodi
#5 of 13 in Lodi
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine & Roses Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine & Roses Hotel

Property: Wine & Roses Hotel
Address: 2505 W Turner Rd, Lodi, CA 95242-4643
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lodi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Lodi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wine & Roses Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Lodi Wine Country in a breathtaking environment of natural beauty is Wine & Roses. Experience an abundance of amenities in the luxurious hotel, savor fresh ingredients in the exceptional restaurant and enjoy the tranquility of the state-of-the-art spa. Wine & Roses also provides the perfect setting for unique weddings, business events, and special occasions accommodating up to 350 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wine & Roses Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine And Roses Hotel, Restaurant & Spa
Wine & Roses Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Lodi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing