We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like visiting home”
Review of Inn at Locke House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Locke House
Ranked #1 of 1 Lockeford B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I had a wonderful stay at the Inn at Locke House. It was a lovely experience. Richard and Lani are both so delightful. I felt like I was visiting home because of the way they doted over me! The room was very comfortable and the breakfast was truly amazing. Lani made me home-made waffles from sour dough starter along with a fresh fruit topped with crème fraîche mixed with almond extract and honey! I would highly recommend it as a perfect alternative to an impersonal hotel. I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The Berkshire has a lovely large bathroom with a big shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtwineglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InntheGarden, Owner at Inn at Locke House, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

It's a pleasure to pamper our guests. So glad you enjoyed the breakfast menu. We've been featuring artichokes and peaches in season. We look forward to your return and reaction to a different menu!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 90 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were on our way home to San Diego from Ashland, Oregon and were looking for some place off the beaten path and unusual to stay the night. Well, we found it. The property is off of Route 99, jsut before you get into the old part of Lockesford. The home is occupied by the owners, and beautifully preserved and renovated. We stayed upstairs and had a nice view of the gardens. The proprietor Richard is really interesting, a retired engineer and private pilot. Both Richard and the house is filled with history of the area. Its walking distance from the old town and a great little diner (Country Kitchen). Plus its just outside of Lodi and the inland vineyards. Its way out of the way and way out of sight.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jesko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InntheGarden, Owner at Inn at Locke House, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at our inn and for taking time to write a review. The California poppies are in their glory right now. Please do return and take time to explore more of the gems in this area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

If you would like to stay at the historic house with the historic grounds that romance you, this is an excellent choice! The charming garden with paths and flowers are a treat to explore. We loved the charm of the old barn and the old water tower. Inside, you will find a living room with antique furniture that makes you feel warm and welcome. Owners are supper sweet and reminded me of my grandmother who was always so happy to see me, feed me and make me comfortable. We stayed in 2 rooms: regular one and then in the Water Tower. I would highly recommend both! The water tower experience is just amazing! Large first floor with the cozy reading place at the top of the water tower. Your own entrance. The regular room was better insulated for sound than a water tower room, but the experience was divine! Very clean with good linens and furniture. Modern clean restrooms and showers. Every detail is taken care of! Highly recommend.

Room Tip: if you don't have time for your breakfast, the owner will make it for you to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 121Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InntheGarden, Owner at Inn at Locke House, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thank you for taking time to detail your experiences at the Inn. We're so glad you took time to relax in the parlors and explore the gardens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Did some research on Lodi and came upon this beautiful Inn in Lockeford. My husband and I enjoy wine and visiting Lodi was our Anniversary trip. We had only planned to stay a couple of nights but our hosts had availability for an extra night. Lani and Richard were just wonderful and made our stay VERY enjoyable. We had fantasitic weather in late September and took advantage of sitting outside in their beautiful garden. This is truly a hidden gem just minutes outside Lodi. We will be returning some day soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jrbates61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InntheGarden, Owner at Inn at Locke House, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

How thoughtful of you to post a review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We've been busy pruning trees and roses so you'll need to come back and enjoy them in full bloom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My love, took me as a surprise to the Locke House! Regretfully it was only one night! The Locke House has such charm, dated eloquence and rich history. You will love your stay as well as the charming and delightful owners Lani and Richard, who put so much love and care into Locke House enhancing it's character. We plan on returning in the spring for a couple of days to enjoy the Locke House when in full bloom.

De

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank De R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InntheGarden, Owner at Inn at Locke House, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thanks for taking time to review your stay. We look forward to your return, especially during spring and summer when the garden "canvas" changes so dramatically.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Inn at Locke House is a delightful bed and breakfast in a very small town outside of Lodi, an area bursting with wineries and tasting rooms. The inn keepers, Lonnie and Richard, are just so accommodating - gorgeous breakfasts served in this charming 1800's home of a physician with 13 children, Dr. Locke. There were fresh sugar cookies wafting through the house when we arrived Friday night. With the house full of antiques, the rooms are small but adequate with its own bathroom with heated floors. Lonnie was a source of information about local wineries and events, the Sandhill Crane Festival in Lodi in our case. The town of Lockford itself is tiny with a couple of antique shops and a sausage store. We enjoyed our stay here and will return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank home4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InntheGarden, Owner at Inn at Locke House, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

It was our pleasure to have you stay, and it will be our pleasure to welcome you again! There are so many sites to explore in this region that we "play" tourists ourselves to discover more of the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

If you're in the area for wine tasting or just relaxing, this in a wonderful place to stay the night. Lana and Richard are wonderful hosts, and they have worked very hard to create a unique country, but yet still edge of the city, experience. It's obvious Lani has a passion for this sort of thing, and it shows in the atmosphere of the place, and the food she prepares.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CFMWvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InntheGarden, Owner at Inn at Locke House, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for taking time to post a review. We do love what we do. You do know that there's lots more wine to taste, so come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Locke House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Locke House

Address: 19960 Elliott Rd, P. O. Box 1510, Lockeford, CA 95237-9438
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lockeford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lockeford
Price Range: $152 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Locke House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning restored historic farmhouse offering the charm and nostalgia of Gold Rush era California with the amenities of the 21st century. Each uniquely decorated guest accommodation has private bathroom, great views, and luxury amenities. Full breakfast, made with local, organic products, is served in the sunny carriageway dining room or in the garden, weather permitting. Complimentary inn-made confections and beverages available all day for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Inn at Locke House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing