We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hidden Gem just outside Lodi in Lockeford!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Locke House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn at Locke House
Ranked #1 of 1 Lockeford B&B and Inns
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem just outside Lodi in Lockeford!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Did some research on Lodi and came upon this beautiful Inn in Lockeford. My husband and I enjoy wine and visiting Lodi was our Anniversary trip. We had only planned to stay a couple of nights but our hosts had availability for an extra night. Lani and Richard were just wonderful and made our stay VERY enjoyable. We had fantasitic weather in late September and took advantage of sitting outside in their beautiful garden. This is truly a hidden gem just minutes outside Lodi. We will be returning some day soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InntheGarden, Owner at Inn at Locke House, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
How thoughtful of you to post a review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We've been busy pruning trees and roses so you'll need to come back and enjoy them in full bloom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    14
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
58
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My love, took me as a surprise to the Locke House! Regretfully it was only one night! The Locke House has such charm, dated eloquence and rich history. You will love your stay as well as the charming and delightful owners Lani and Richard, who put so much love and care into Locke House enhancing it's character. We plan on returning in the spring for a couple of days to enjoy the Locke House when in full bloom.

De

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank De R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InntheGarden, Owner at Inn at Locke House, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thanks for taking time to review your stay. We look forward to your return, especially during spring and summer when the garden "canvas" changes so dramatically.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Inn at Locke House is a delightful bed and breakfast in a very small town outside of Lodi, an area bursting with wineries and tasting rooms. The inn keepers, Lonnie and Richard, are just so accommodating - gorgeous breakfasts served in this charming 1800's home of a physician with 13 children, Dr. Locke. There were fresh sugar cookies wafting through the house when we arrived Friday night. With the house full of antiques, the rooms are small but adequate with its own bathroom with heated floors. Lonnie was a source of information about local wineries and events, the Sandhill Crane Festival in Lodi in our case. The town of Lockford itself is tiny with a couple of antique shops and a sausage store. We enjoyed our stay here and will return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank home4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InntheGarden, Owner at Inn at Locke House, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
It was our pleasure to have you stay, and it will be our pleasure to welcome you again! There are so many sites to explore in this region that we "play" tourists ourselves to discover more of the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
141 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

If you're in the area for wine tasting or just relaxing, this in a wonderful place to stay the night. Lana and Richard are wonderful hosts, and they have worked very hard to create a unique country, but yet still edge of the city, experience. It's obvious Lani has a passion for this sort of thing, and it shows in the atmosphere of the place, and the food she prepares.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CFMWvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InntheGarden, Owner at Inn at Locke House, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for taking time to post a review. We do love what we do. You do know that there's lots more wine to taste, so come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

1st time guests at this very nice B&B near Lodi, CA for my husband and I and another couple. Not knowing what to expect from our choice of accommodations this weekend, we were pleasantly surprised at this quaint, comfortable and cozy inn. We have not been fans of B&B's in the past, but this Inn has changed our minds! Lani and Richard were very gracious hosts and ready to please us at every turn. They shared the Inn's history in a creative story telling way, but were not overbearing (as we have experienced at other B&B's). Our room was quiet, nicely decorated and quiet. The sitting rooms and living parlor was darling. We brought our own picnic dinner from home and enjoyed it on their outdoor patio by the lovely gardens. Breakfasts were delicious, as were the treats in the afternoon. We all even enjoyed a board game one afternoon. There are many wineries in this region and the wine tasting is amazing. Why not finish those great days with a quiet, comfortable evening at the Inn. We will definitely be back again to stay with the Eklunds!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the opposite side of the building from the road. It may be just a bit more quiet t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yothequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InntheGarden, Owner at Inn at Locke House, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
You'll need to stay a little longer next time and tour a bit of the town, including the soon-to-open Old School House museum. And there's always a new Lodi wine to taste! Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Loved, loved, loved this place!!!!!!! My entire family(10 of us) stayed at the Inn
for several days while attending a family wedding. Lani and Richard Eklund(owners)
were so incredibly warm and accommodating----helping with places to eat, local
wineries, directions, stores......
Being at the Inn was like being at home! The breakfasts were AMAZING----so delicious---
we never had to eat again until dinnertime!!!! I can't emphasize enough just how
hospitable the Eklund's were!!!!
And the Inn itself has such interesting history. It has been updated to a very clean,
very comfortable inn.
We couldn't have asked for a more welcoming, comfortable, hospitable place to stay!!!
THANK YOU Lani and Richard!!!!!! We all hope to visit the Inn again someday!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InntheGarden, Owner at Inn at Locke House, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Your family made our "job" as hosts a breeze! It was so nice to be a part of such a joyous occasion. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and please consider another reunion during one of our holidays - Thanksgiving and Christmas, especially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mass
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at The Inn at Locke House. Lani, Richard, and Kerri were all so friendly and welcoming, the food was delicious, and the accommodations were clear and comfortable. The room and public spaces were updated in such a way that is different from many of our stays in older inns. The floors were not creaky, the rooms were not musty, the lighting was not poor. It was historic, but it was completely comfortable at the same time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank the2roadtrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InntheGarden, Owner at Inn at Locke House, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for the response to your stay. We also appreciate the solidness of this 150 years old structure. Dr. Locke built it to stand for a long time. Please return from another comfortable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lockeford
8.6 mi away
Wine & Roses Hotel, Restaurant & Spa
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lodi
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lodi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
University Plaza Waterfront Hotel
6.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Host Inn
13.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN I-5 Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Locke House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Locke House

Property: Inn at Locke House
Address: 19960 Elliott Rd, P. O. Box 1510, Lockeford, CA 95237-9438
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lockeford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lockeford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Locke House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning restored historic farmhouse offering the charm and nostalgia of Gold Rush era California with the amenities of the 21st century. Each uniquely decorated guest accommodation has private bathroom, great views, and luxury amenities. Full breakfast, made with local, organic products, is served in the sunny carriageway dining room or in the garden, weather permitting. Complimentary inn-made confections and beverages available all day for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Inn at Locke House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing