We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just an incredible bed and breakfast!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Review of Inn at Locke House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Locke House
Ranked #1 of 1 Lockeford B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Loved, loved, loved this place!!!!!!! My entire family(10 of us) stayed at the Inn
for several days while attending a family wedding. Lani and Richard Eklund(owners)
were so incredibly warm and accommodating----helping with places to eat, local
wineries, directions, stores......
Being at the Inn was like being at home! The breakfasts were AMAZING----so delicious---
we never had to eat again until dinnertime!!!! I can't emphasize enough just how
hospitable the Eklund's were!!!!
And the Inn itself has such interesting history. It has been updated to a very clean,
very comfortable inn.
We couldn't have asked for a more welcoming, comfortable, hospitable place to stay!!!
THANK YOU Lani and Richard!!!!!! We all hope to visit the Inn again someday!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InntheGarden, Owner at Inn at Locke House, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Your family made our "job" as hosts a breeze! It was so nice to be a part of such a joyous occasion. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and please consider another reunion during one of our holidays - Thanksgiving and Christmas, especially.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 90 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at The Inn at Locke House. Lani, Richard, and Kerri were all so friendly and welcoming, the food was delicious, and the accommodations were clear and comfortable. The room and public spaces were updated in such a way that is different from many of our stays in older inns. The floors were not creaky, the rooms were not musty, the lighting was not poor. It was historic, but it was completely comfortable at the same time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the2roadtrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InntheGarden, Owner at Inn at Locke House, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thank you for the response to your stay. We also appreciate the solidness of this 150 years old structure. Dr. Locke built it to stand for a long time. Please return from another comfortable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Stayed there 1 night with my wife. Loni was a great host and just as good of a breakfast cook. The room was cozy, but quiet and cooled off nicely at night. There's a great garden and porch outside to read a book in. Loni was a great host, suggesting wineries and places to eat. I had no idea there was so much wine in and around Lodi. It's a beautiful area.
Breakfast impressed us two foodies, and tided us over until about 2 in the afternoon. We met some nice people at breakfast, and found out that the Calaveras County frog jumping competition was that day. Off we went.
What a great B&B!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

We are so glad you enjoyed your visit! There are now over 70 wineries in the area - each so unique and serving such delicious wines that some of our guests spend a good part of their day at just one or two of them! Give yourself time to take in even more of this area on your next visit - the parks, museums and galleries are reflections of the bounty and beauty of the northern valley. Thank you for taking time to post a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I took a chance on purchasing a trip on Living Social. My husband and I took the trip. When we arrived, we were greeted by Lani, the owner. She had a warmth about her spirit that said, "Welcome home." Our room was clean and we had our own bathroom. My favorite breakfast was the first morning. She served a French toast orange souffle. To die for! We got our wine tasting voucher in nearby Lodi. I had no complaints about the Inn at Locke House. The only problem, per se, was that everything closes by nine in Lockeford and Lodi except for the fast food restaurants (by 10). It was a great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amayezn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return. Thank you for taking time to post a review. Closing early in small towns is part charm and part inconvenience during the week. Weekend hours are later.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We had a terrific one night stay in the Water Tower Suite. The room was spacious, private, and overlooked a lovely garden. The hosts pay a lot of attention to the details - both small (like the soaps) and big (like the renovation of the historic home); there is a lot to enjoy. We didn't take advantage of any local restaurants but really enjoyed the generous breakfast and coffee. We plan to repeat the visit.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Eatandhike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InntheGarden, Owner at Inn at Locke House, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. It is surprising, even to us, how much there is to see and do within a day! It is heartening to see the little towns in this area focus on revivial, especially saving historic sites and putting them to new use - including restaurants. You'll have to have a restaurant adventure on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

My husband and I were celebrating his birthday and decided to attend a concert at Garden Stone Winery (which was very close). We stayed at the Inn at Locke House so we wouldn't have to drive back even though we only live about 40 minutes away. The owners of the Inn could be any more nicer or accomodating! Breakfast was beyond anything we expected. Beautifully cooked, and presented, generous, and delicious. Our every need was easily and happily taken care of. The Inn is very clean, the local wineries are fun to visit as is downtown Lodi. We do not stay at Bed and Breakfast places very often, but highly recommend the Inn at Locke House for a get away, winery tour, take advantage of conerts offered in the area, or just retreat. Make sure you visit the sausage place on the main street and bring home some sausage (which are served at breakfast - a real treat!). We could be more happy with our stay!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie502010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InntheGarden, Owner at Inn at Locke House, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2012

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay....and thank you for the review. Isn't it amazing how much there is to do in this area? Next time, put the historic Old Schoolhouse Museum and Harmony Grove Church and Cemetery (we have a great guidebook) on your list ot things to do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

A wonderful historic bed and breakfast. We enjoyed reading the history of the house and seeing a display of items from the original owner Dr. Locke. Our room was very nice with a large bathroom. The room has a small gas stove for heat in winter and in summer a portable AC. The super quiet ceiling fan was all we needed to keep cool in June. The bathroom has a claw foot bathtub, but it was taking to long to fill with water so I ended up taking a shower. The rooms are on the second floor, so you must be able to climb stairs to your room. Downstairs the parlor is furnished with lovely victorian furniture and a TV. The hosts Lani and Richard are very nice and Lani even made our dinner reservation. The breakfast was outstanding. A pot of decaf coffee was made just for me. There is plenty of off street parking and outdoor seating areas in garden. I sat outside having coffee and reading Sunday paper. This is a great place to relax while visiting the many wineries nearby and in Lodi.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jswinetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InntheGarden, Owner at Inn at Locke House, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Thank you for posting a review. Wine tasting in Lodi is so diverse that one visit is just not enough. Hint, hint! We'll work on the water pressure for that clawfoot tub because we know how soothing and relaxing a tub soak (with bubbles) can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Locke House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Locke House

Address: 19960 Elliott Rd, P. O. Box 1510, Lockeford, CA 95237-9438
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lockeford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lockeford
Price Range: $152 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Locke House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning restored historic farmhouse offering the charm and nostalgia of Gold Rush era California with the amenities of the 21st century. Each uniquely decorated guest accommodation has private bathroom, great views, and luxury amenities. Full breakfast, made with local, organic products, is served in the sunny carriageway dining room or in the garden, weather permitting. Complimentary inn-made confections and beverages available all day for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Inn at Locke House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing