We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Hindu temple”

Livermore Shiva-Vishnu Temple
Ranked #9 of 63 things to do in Livermore
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
324 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 439 helpful votes
“Very nice Hindu temple”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This is easily one of the best Hindu temples in the US. It has the idols of almost all the major Hindu Gods and instills a lot of peace and tranquility. The "poojas" and festivals are conducted well and there are a lot of priests servicing the various Gods.

The facilities are well-maintained and there is a lot of free parking available within the temple facility and also on the streets. They have a separate building to leave our footwear while visiting the temple and also for purchasing special "Prasad" like "laddus" etc. The general "Prasad" is available at the back of the main temple building.

The place can get very crowded during festival days, so it is better to avoid those days.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sushar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    5
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Just visited one time. Temple is beautiful and would definitely visit again. Parking is free and I think this is one of biggest hindu temples I have seen in California.

Helpful?
1 Thank Chirag K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
“peaceful”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Living in Bay Area since 3 years now, and I have made it a habit to visit this temple once a month!
Not during festive days, but any normal day this temple makes me feel pleasant...My 1 year old loves to walk around inside the temple hall :) :) !!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank rvrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very lovely and welcoming.”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I love the large events here. Very warm and welcoming. Any event with food is amazing! The temple itself is very lovely and is well cared for. We enjoy visiting when we get a chance.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank KMathews590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Hindu temple”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I am privileged to get the Hindu temple listed on Tripadvisor and to write the first review.

Its about an hours drive from bay area. My family and I have been visiting the temple for a long time now. There is this that you experience peace inside the temple. Its also a great place to teach and familiarize your kids on hindu mythology. Usually you get the bhog/prasad every afternoon.

During durga puja the hall is used for authentic bengali style puja.

We are very lucky to have the temple nearby.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank tbandopadhyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Livermore Shiva-Vishnu Temple also viewed

 

Been to Livermore Shiva-Vishnu Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing