We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outrageous charge for pillow and case”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Livermore
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Livermore
GreenLeadersBronze level
Albuquerque
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outrageous charge for pillow and case”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

I stayed at this hotel and thought things were good. However, when I returned home, they billed my credit card for an additional $80 for a pillow case and pillow. When I talked to the managers they told me that I was lucky that is wasn't more. They sent pictures of some purplish color that I couldn't have caused. I've never in my life heard of something like this. I asked them to send me the pillow case and pillow so that I could have it examine, but they never responded. I wonder if it was just me or are there others. If you stay there beware, could happen to you. I know that for me I will not ever stay there again.

Room Tip: Look elswhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chknhwk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    104
    83
    56
    57
See reviews for
88
80
18
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Margoes
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We just returned from travel to the bay area for our annual company party. The party was at the doubletree and we stayed there as well!
The food at the party Buffett was phenomenal and the wait staff on top of it!
The rooms were immaculate, very well appointed and the bed extremely comfy.
Breakfast was over the top with an enticing buffet or you could order off the menu if you are watching your calories! Best garden omelet! I would return just to have it again! Our waiter at brunch was as attentive as if we were at the Ritz! Seriously!
The cost was very reasonable for such a fabulous experience!
If you are in this area STAY HERE! You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2011

The room was clean and nice if not ultra modern. The bed and linens were extremely comfortable and there was a microwave and fridge and free internet via cable although the wifi was too weak in my corner room.

The front desk were nice, but a few in our group had to wait long past the checkin time before their rooms were ready. The free delicious cookies only partially made up for that inconvenience.

The climate control was convenient to adjust from the wall mounted thermostat, but the unit itself was extremely noisy and the air near the floor remained cold. This heater/air conditioner is unusable while sleeping because of the ruckus it made.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

This is a typical Doubletree. I read an earlier review about the Gold member's experience and I didn't have the same experience. I had the normal full breakfast, make sure you get the 'blue' (full breakfast) ticket vs. the 'yellow' (contential breakfast) ticket. I had the standard two bottles of water in the room. The bathroom was an odd layout and small. I'm also used to 2 queen beds and was surprised to find 2 double beds. I was travelling alone so it wasn't a problem. The reason for the low score is that this hotel is just 1-2 miles from the National Labortories and they didn't have wireless and the internet cable didn't work. I was trying to finish up a presentation for the next day and had to drive to Starbucks. Very frustrating. If you don't rely on Wi-Fi or internet capability then it was a fine place to stay for the night.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HaFinkne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Livermore hotels

St.Gallen
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Rooms and location are great! Clean and well looked after.
The staff is slow and just as friendly and helpful as they would have to be.
If you need a good nights rest, just want to check in and out, then this place is good. if you expect a little more service, friendliness and anticipation - this is not such a great place! Staff seems to be busy with other work and not paying full attention to guests needs and special requests. Maybe they are just understaffed...?

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We got this hotel via priceline for a wedding we were attending nearby. It doesn't look like much from the outside but it is a nice mid level hotel on the inside. Our room was clean and the bed was really comfortable. The breakfast was good as well. I requested late check out because my man was trying to recover from food poisoning and they were very accommodating and even offered to help with recommendations on nearby clinics and remedies.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindseyTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We checked into the hotel as part of a wedding group. Our reservation was made by credit card and when we told the receptionist that we wished to settle our account in cash, we were told that the hotel did not accept cash! I pointed out that we had stayed in Hotels all over the world, including the US, & everyone accepted cash. The receptionist abruptly poined out that none of their hotels in the chain accepted cash, which I knew was untrue.

After asking asking to speak to the Manager, a very polite, Afro American lady came to the front desk and said "Of course we accept cash Sir" and continued to check us in, whilst the flustered and bemused receptionist hid in the back office.

My second experience of poor service was when I was waiting to be served, I observed a male Customer Service Manager makig faces to the telephone whilst receiving a complaint on the phone. At the end of the call, he turned to me & said "Uhh! Some people!!!" If you are going to belittle your customers then do it in private and not in front of other customers but what do I know, he was the Customer Service Manager!

Anyway, the hotel itself was great, nice pool, great bar, nice restaurant, nice sized clean rooms, parking outside your room, free tea / coffee in reception, free WIFI.

On leaving, we checked our bill and found that we had been charged more per room than the rest of our group and brought this to the atention of the person who had booked all the rooms. He phoned the hotel and was told that because he had booked these as additions, they would be charged at the full rate rather than the group rate. Yes you guessed it, ,it was the same Customer Service Manager, who refused to honour the group rate! He persistantly argued the point & in the end agreed to consult an unavailable manager who would issue a refund cheque. THis was obviously no good to us as we have no way of cashing a US cheque in Dollars in the UK! It was his way of getting rid of us. Needless to say, we heard no more from him or the hotel!

All in all a great place, shame about the key staff and the Customer Service Manager.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Armsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livermore hotels
4.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Livermore
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Livermore
Hampton Inn Livermore
#1 of 16 in Livermore
624 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Livermore Wine Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 16 in Livermore
44 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Livermore
La Quinta Inn Livermore
#6 of 16 in Livermore
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Livermore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Livermore

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Livermore
Address: 720 Las Flores Rd, Livermore, CA 94551-1459
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Livermore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Livermore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Livermore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Livermore Wine Country is one of Northern California's oldest wine regions featuring over 50 wineries all just minutes from our hotel. Hotel is centrally located to many of the Tri-valley's area business and leisure attractions. Less than 10 minutes from Lawrence Livermore National Labs & Sandia National Laboratories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Livermore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing