We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Purple Orchid Wine Country & Spa
Nearby Hotels
La Quinta Inn Livermore(Livermore)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 06/03
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $154/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
$196
$169
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 05/31
Book now, pay at stay
$269
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 06/01
Book now, pay at stay
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn(Livermore)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 06/02
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 06/01
Book now, pay at stay
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Livermore(Livermore)
$184
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveler rating
56
19
12
9
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
56
19
12
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine countrycouples massagebed and breakfastgas fireplaceolive grovesbeautiful wedding venuemoon suitepool areamassage therapistlivermore valleyevent centerhot tubsan josewine tastingupon checkderekrelaxation
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 103 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We found this charming inn while in Livermore tasting some great wines. Everyone including the owners were very cordial and helpful and made us feel welcome as soon as we entered the door. Beautiful grounds in a peaceful setting. Wish we could have stayed longer and will definitely return. Excellent breakfast also. M. A. Benick

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

As we were enjoying some fantastic wines this weekend in Livermore, Ca we stabled upon this lovely country inn called Purple Orchid! Charming, spacious vineyards with only 10 rooms! Each has a fireplace and jacuzzi tub and pool patio area was gorgeous! We sat outside in the evening and enjoyed our wine, iPod and the quiet of the stars and cool breezes.. Perfect to relax and planning next trip to include this Inn!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CorkyMata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We recently stayed for one night after a friend recommended The Purple Orchid. We wanted a couples massage and to spend some relaxing time in Livermore as a change of pace from the Silicon Valley since we only live 45 minutes away; so we spent two days and one night in the Wilderness Retreat room.

First, the room: 4-poster king-size bed with nice linens, a beautiful quilt, and a nice size bathroom. The bathroom had a separate shower, a jacuzzi tub with good accessories, a robe, and thick towels. Only hot water came from both faucet nozzles in the sink, however, so you couldn't brush your teeth with anything other than really hot water. The bath robe was scratchy and uncomfortable. No vending ice was available anywhere in the building nor was there a mini fridge in the room. Instead, there was a small shared fridge in a hallway with a little microwave. There was no air conditioning in the room in a city that reaches 100+ degrees in the summer. Our second-story room did have two fans and windows with screens that actually opened. The whole place seemed to have a problem with flies and mosquitoes. Our room was decorated with antlers and faux leopard curtains. A little tacky but keeping with the theme of our room, I suppose.

The breakfast: It was a pleasant surprise to have a hot breakfast included in the price; however you only have two choices. We both had the mushroom spinach omelette which were very tasty, although the diet coke was flat and the iced tea tasted funny.

The grounds: The pool area is really pretty with olive groves, gorgeous flagstone pathways, flowers, and charming log-cabin buildings. The fountain in the pool is beautiful, but the water was too cold in the pool to swim (weird, since it should have been warm with the weather and hot sun beating on it). I can see why they would hold weddings in the courtyard because it must be really beautiful when the hills behind the property are green.

The massage: We were taken from the main building into a separate building to change into our robes before walking over to a third building (in our robes) for the actual massage. We were really disappointed and embarrassed that the robes were VERY small and designed for more petite people than we are, and THEN we had to walk outside where other people in the courtyard could see us in robes that barely covered us. They apologized but didn't appear to know how to handle it. (Spend extra money for larger robes, perhaps? I commented that all of their guests must be skinny because they had no idea what to do.) We both had sensitivities to scented oils and lotions, and they were able to accommodate it. We both really enjoyed Leah's and Marjorie's relaxation massages, and they continually checked in with us to make sure the pressure wasn't too much and we were comfortable.

All in all, it was a pleasant experience but not fantastic. For the price we paid for one night at a resort spa, we expected more upscale accommodations and more professional handling of large guests. Walking to a completely separate building for a couples massage seems in poor taste considering the number of single massage rooms they have that could be combined when necessary.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CaliforniaOceanGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here recently and found the Inn to be in a perfect location, close to all main attractions in the area. The service was friendly and unobtrusive. The wine and cheese service offered in the afternoons is a very nice touch. The Vintners Estate room is a lovely, spacious room on the ground floor. The Purple Orchid Inn would be the perfect choice for a destination wedding or other special event.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stepford68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stay at the Purple Orchid Inn whenever I travel to Livermore on business. This is a wonderful little hotel in the middle of the Livermore wine country. It is great because it's close to our office and only a short drive from downtown Livermore. You have a feeling of being secluded, but it's close enough to everything you could possibly need. The resort backs up to an olive orchard and a very nice pool area. In the morning, it's so nice because it's very quiet. There's less than 10 rooms, and each one is individually named. The rooms are very nicely appointed with fireplaces and Jacuzzi tubs in the bathrooms. The hotel offers a breakfast, although since we have to leave early to get to work, they set out a continental breakfast for us each morning, which is very nice. The owners are incredibly accommodating and have always gone out of their way to make our stays comfortable. I only wish I could go back for a personal trip so that I could hang out and truly relax. The Purple Orchid Inn is a beautiful place to stay and a must if you are visiting or stopping in Livermore.

Room Tip: Grand Champion is a nice room. There is also a beautiful room on the first floor that has a private patio facing the resort pool area. I've stayed in three or four different rooms, and each one has been very nice.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lovinlv08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews