We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopped in for lunch”

Poppy Ridge Golf Course
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This public course's three nines are named for area grapes: Chardonnay, Zinfandel and Merlot.
Tracy, California
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Stopped in for lunch”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The view of the Livermore Valley is fantastic from here. The lunch was a little pricey but very good, as was the service.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ralfeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    20
    2
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Underrated Golf Course”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is one of the moist under rated golf courses, I have ever played and I play in excess of 100 rounds/year with an Index of 16.1

This is a 27 hole Public Course; the 3 nines are named, Merlot, Chardonnay and Zinfandel. We played Chardonnay & Merlot. Everything about the course is fabulous! We played in 40/50mph winds with gusts of up to 60mph, so not the best playing conditions. Still, there are many interesting holes; the holes are fair, not very tough or easy. The scenery is excellent. Have to think of the right club to use. No need to pull out Driver on every tee. Some blind shots so need to have played it more than once to really enjoy it. Friendly staff and apparently a great restaurant but we did not get to eat there because we had to rush home.

If the course condition was better, this could be very high end course, but it is a public facility, so green fees need to be accessible by most. If maintained like a high end course, this would easily be in the top 100 in USA. The course is reasonably well maintained, but the potential if well groomed is huge!

Be on the lookout for specials, Seniors, Coupons, Weekdays, etc., in which case probably one of the best deals in USA in terms of Quality/Cost.

Will play there again!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Baba1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery Bay, California
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A challenging course”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My handicap is 15.....so this course can be tough. But its in excellent shape and fairly priced. You can also find coupons & specials.....

Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainStevers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The grounds are equisite and the restaurant is really good. The people are nice. It is a really nice place to go for a special event.

Helpful?
Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“"Vinyard Golf" is an experience!!!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Never thought playing gold in Livermore California would be so memorable. The weather was perfect and so was the course. My wife and I took a chance on bringing our clubs and never realized how much fun we would have. We are spoiled, being from Hawaii- this is a golfers paradise...BUT, we will be back to Livermore to play this course again. It was truly memorable.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poppy Ridge Golf Course also viewed

 

Been to Poppy Ridge Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing