We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Tradition - BUT....restaurant service is TERRIBLE” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charlie Brown Farms

Charlie Brown Farms
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Littlerock
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Valdosta, Georgia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Family Tradition - BUT....restaurant service is TERRIBLE”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

The store and restaurant is a welcome break for anyone traveling through the Antelope Valley and Littlerock areas. Charlie Brown's is a place that I grew up visiting and I can honestly say that the service in the restaurant has been worse every single time I have visited. The food is still good and the shakes/malts are great! Just keep in mind that you will likely have to wait for 30-40 minutes for your food to be finished and have to endure the blank stares of the employees hired to work there.

The store is an entirely different story! You can find any kind of quirky thing at one of the three buildings and can get any variety of fresh produce, local honey, nuts, seeds, and a cornucopia of candies and nostalgic sodas of the past. Every time we go, we get souvenirs for 3-5 people.

The Verdict: Place your order at the restaurant and then wander around the shop for 30-45 minutes. By the time you are ready for a break, your food should be ready :)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kbroski42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    17
    17
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Slow/no food service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Placed an order, came back 20 minutes later and still no one was there making it. How long does it take to make a milkshake. No milkshake and no refund. Awful. Better to have gone to McDonalds.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank webmobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“It's sad that places like this won't be able to stick around”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Been going to Charlie Browns for a while now. Have had the best shake of my life there and the worst. Have had great BBQ, the brisket is delish, and the worst...too dry, over cooked, burgers. Tasteless Buffalo. The service and attitude gets worse every time. Although, tonight will probably be my last visit. The staff acts like they're doing you a favor. We got an inquisition when we asked for more BBQ sauce...after spending $40+ on 4 sandwiches and $12 more for 2 shakes, you shouldn't feel like a mooch when you ask for extra BBQ sauce. They roll their eyes at you if you ask questions, and it seems like the effort it takes to expel the air from their lungs to formulate a response it just too much for them to bear. It didn't take too too long to get our food tonight, but last time it took forever, and tonight I overheard another couple wondering if there order had gotten lost because they had been waiting so long. The store is fun. Lots of retro candies, soda's, toys, unique crafts, movie memorabilia. They have jerky, all kinds, not as good as some but still good. They offer jugs and jars to fill with maple syrup, molasses, and three different types of honey. It's a shame the staff is so uncaring and have no sense of customer service. This is a unique place, should be great stop en route to or from Vegas/Las Vegas. Great fun for kids with all the quirky stuff...we really WANT to come back... but really...enjoy the customer, let them know they're wanted, be happy to serve or ...we won't be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alisa j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelanto, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cool store, terrible restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

The store is great! A bit "cluttered" but a fun place to walk through. Candy and Sodas and toys from the 50's, 60's and 70's. as well as a million fun little novelty items. They also carry uncommon meats (turtle, ostrich, rabbit, buffalo and venison) which is interesting to see. (I almost bought some turtle meat just because I had never seen it before.
They have an area where you can buy fresh fudge as well.
The fresh beef jerky is really good.
We bought three dinners. The ribs, chicken and brisket. Sides of fries, potato salad coleslaw and beans. Never in my life have I had a rib as overlooked and dry as the rbs at Charlie Browns. The 1/2 chicken was huge... But it too was overlooked and dry. I have never had dry dark meat before. If the leg and thigh were dry.... Just imagine the dryness of the breast. I was SOOO disapointed.
The fries were soggy and the beans were OK. I didn't taste the potato Salad..... But family said the potato chunks were huge sober all.....below average rating at best for the sides.
The brisket was EXCELLENT! Moist, tender and tasty. If I ever go back... I will order the brisket by the pound and then go next door to McDonalds for the fries.
As mentioned above the service is very slow. It seems to be very unorganized. It looked like they had plenty of staff... But it was like everyone was doing everything.... So it took a long time to get anything done.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food is delish, but the service is garbage.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

The food here is really good. The service is garbage. It starts with the manager of the place. He has no personality, walks, around and provides service no better then a zombie would. Some employees that take the food orders are no different then the manager. If the owner would change the staff this place would be one of a kind, & thats a compliment.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Miguel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie Brown Farms also viewed

 

Been to Charlie Brown Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing