We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Romantic Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse
Ranked #5 of 8 Little River B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
A TripAdvisor Member
San Francisco
13
Reviewed June 12, 2006

It was the first getaway trip with my boyfriend. Everything was just perfect!

We stayed at the Sunrise Suite, the room is comfortable and it has unique antique furniture. It felt great when the sunlight shines thru the stained glass window in the morning. The breakfast and coffee was extraordinary. The Cove is just 5 – 10 mins walking distance away from the Inn and it is a must see visit point, it is a breathe-taking scene. It was just a perfect getaway!

We are thinking about going back in January for the Crab and Wine Festival.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 122 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Nevada City, California
11
Reviewed June 8, 2006

We spent some of our spring break at Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse in Mendecino and had a wonderful time. We stayed in Quail Cottage and saw many quail throughout our stay. so it lived up to it's name.

The accomidations were spacious with a livingroom with chairs and a dinning table. It also had an extra bedroom for our daughter. The down pillows and comforters on the beds were delightful and were very refreshing and cozy. The tub had jets and that was enjoyable after spending the day out and about in the rain. We had a small kitchen in Quail Cottage and used it for breakfast in the mornings and it was a big plus in our choice to stay at the Farmhouse. The decor was victorian and very comfortable. My favorite thing about Quail Cottage was sitting out on the deck and listening to the rain while I was reading. It was so peaceful.

The owners of Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse were gracious, generous, and cheerful and made our our stay at their Inn very special. We will certainly plan another trip to the Mendecino area and stay at Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse again. We will recomend the Victorian Farmhouse to anyone who wants somewhere to stay in Mendecino. It was delightful and relaxing and well worth the cost.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2006

We stayed a couple of nights in Quail Cottage. The cottage was very nice, roomy, and had everything you needed including a full kitchen, dishes, etc. It has a main room which has the stove and the kitchen, a dining set, and a sitting area, and also a small room with a day bed and trundle if you had kids along. The woodburning stove was really nice and the wood was ready to go each night. We were not around the place very much so in hindsight we probably would have gone for one of the smaller rooms if we did it again, although if you are staying for 3 or more days or have a kid or two the cottage is the way to go. Jo, the innkeeper, was very nice and made sure we were very comfortable. Breakfast was awesome! Not much of an ocean view, but Jo said you could see blue water which is true and they provide a telescope and binnoculars in the cottage. Yes, we did see quail! Several of them roaming the grounds.

One of the highlights of the trip was walking down to Buckhorn cove which is a very short walk. This was the most breathtaking view of the ocean we had, just beautiful and very peaceful, we were the only ones there. Great tide pools, rock formations, and crashing waves.

Our only disappointment was part of the reason we selected Victorian Farmhouse, was the special that included a whale watching trip which we were really looking forward to. When we arrived, the staff person that met us didn't seem to know anything about it and said she would check with Jo and let us know when it would be. We never heard from anyone and by the time we asked on Saturday the boat had left. Jo apologized and said she would set it up for us on Sunday and it would leave at 11 A.M. Sunday there was a note on our food tray saying the trip was cancelled due to high seas. Needless to say we were very disappointed. There was no offer for a discounted rate or anything, we just "missed the boat" so to speak. Otherwise, we had a great time and we were very comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RMD994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2005

My boyfriend and I just spent a romantic night at the Victorian Farmhouse in Little River California. It's 3 minutes from Mendicino. We had a delicious breakfast delievered to our room. We took a relaxing bath in the tub with the jets and we had an excellent nights sleep on a comfortable bed. The gardens are beautiful and the innkeepers were really helpful. It was a wonderful stay.

1  Thank Zulieka24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
CA
13
Reviewed October 3, 2005

I think the reviews are a little over hyped. We thought the place was ok and not as good as the reviews make it out to be. The innkeeper's are very helpful, friendly and prepare good breakfasts, but our room(Treeview) as such was not very impressive. The carpets and the fireplace are really old and there isnt much space in the room. To enjoy the fireplace, we'll have to sit on the floor beside the bed and thats not very convenient!

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2005

This was the first time my husband and I stayed at a Bed & Breakfast, and we could not have picked a better one. Our innkeepers, Fred & Jo were gracious hosts, making sure we were comfortable and satisfied with our accomodations and meals. Our room was the Victorian Suite w/ a two person soaking tub that we used nightly. The room was clean, nicely decorated and had a separate entrance that made the room perfect. The breakfast was absolutely delicious and the grounds were beautiful, that of a country cottage. Would definately stay again.

1  Thank Catlover4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2005

My Husband and I have now stayed at Jo and Fred's Inn on three weedend trips, each of which have been such a treat. We have enjoyed three rooms starting with Creekside, Sunrise and the newly remodeled Victorian Suite. On our next trip we hope to stay longer and book The Quail Cottage.
Our stays have been wonderful. Each time it is so nice to have breakfast brought to our room, so we can lounge and not worry about getting dressed to go to a Dining Room on a fixed schedule. The breakfast Jo serves is truly gourmet and it seems She never runs out of recipes. She always prepares something different and delicious from streudels, fretattas, quiche and it all comes with the best coffee.
After breakfast we go for a walk at the Cove or shopping in the Village or see the sights. For dinner there are several great restaurants in the area and Jo makes sure we have reservations.
In the evening after our night out, we always look forward to returning to our room. We light a fire in the fireplace, relax in the soaking tub and then fall into the most marvelous featherbed. It is truly luxuriously comfortable.

1  Thank livingattheranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
0.7 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
730 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
#3 of 8 in Little River
297 reviews
2.1 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
665 reviews
1.0 mi away
Glendeven Inn Mendocino
Glendeven Inn Mendocino
#1 of 8 in Little River
683 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cottages at Little River Cove
Cottages at Little River Cove
#4 of 8 in Little River
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse

Address: 7001 N Highway 1, P.O. Box 661, Little River, CA 95456-9514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Little River
Price Range: $165 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our romantic bed and breakfast in Mendocino County. Sit back and experience amazing ocean views, beautiful scenery, and gracious service at our Mendocino Coast Inn. Rooms at our Mendocino B&B feature custom furnishings and luxurious linens, some with private decks, fireplaces and Jacuzzis. Enjoy an unforgettable gourmet breakfast in bed, complimentary Wi-Fi, and special packages at our inn in Little River, CA, only minutes to the picturesque village of Mendocino. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing