We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it @ Dennen's in Little River”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse
Ranked #5 of 7 Little River B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it @ Dennen's in Little River”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

My wife and I had a few days off from work and decided to do a little wine tasting in Mendocino County. We had visited Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse a couple years ago during a wine tasting they hosted at their B&B. We booked the Dennen Suite for a very reasonable price directly with the receptionist and everything was terrific. After a nice leisurely day of wine-tasting on highway 128 leading up to highway 1, we enjoyed Dennen's warm reception, service and the comfortable bed. Jo's breakfast (served in bed) was top notch, and a great way to start our day of exploring the North Coast. Ditto on the second evening and morning. Sadly we had to return from paradise back to the big city -- but there is no doubt that we return again soon to the Farmhouse.

Room Tip: Website has great pictures of the rooms and tips of where to go and what to see in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TestyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    13
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
81
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
La Crescenta, California
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Dennen's the weekend of March 22. This was our second stay at the B&B, and it was really wonderful. We stayed in the very spacious two room Mendocino suite which had a huge spa tub and a super comfortable king size bed. We loved the tub - haven't had a great bubble bath in a few years. We really like that this B&B brings your breakfast to your room. And of course, the breakfasts were delicious and filling. They even accommodated my husband with his morning Diet Coke! Jo and Fred are gracious innkeepers and you can tell that they work very hard to keep the inn in great shape. A gal named Cathy checked us in and showed us to our room, and she was super nice and helpful too. We really enjoyed our visit and will stay at Dennen's again on our next trip to Mendocino. If you stay here, don't miss the chance to visit the secret ocean cove right down the street. Only the staff can give you directions!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkodama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My husband and I live in San Francisco and love to go wine tasting in Hopland and then drive to the beautiful coast. We stayed at Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse in a gorgeous suite with a super large soaking tub surrounded in bubbles!! Not a noisey jacuzzi tub, but a quiet tub of hot bubbly water!! Wow, a glass of Pinotage and candles and our IPod.......this was heaven! Thank you to Jo and Fred for their wonderful hospitality and knowing exactly what we needed to make our stay one that we will NEVER FORGET!
The breakfast was delicious and fresh and hot served in our room early next morning while we sat in front of window watching the water and smelling the fragrances that are so reminiscent of Mendocino. We are planning on going back again every chance we get.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldengatekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I had booked a reservation with Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse to celebrate a belated birthday. My husband & I unfortunately had to cancel & I contacted "Jo" the innkeeper 3 weeks prior. Jo informed me that they would refund my deposit by check less a $25 "processing fee." I was never made aware of such a fee & have never encountered a cancellation/processing fee with any other B&B that we have stayed in, especially when cancelling so far in advance. Jo informed me that it is posted on their website and it is listed that this fee is due to the intimate size of their establishment since cancellations greatly affect their business. I would normally appreciate this fact but that is why I cancelled so far in advance & at the time of cancellation we were the ONLY room booked for the weekend. I could understand if they had to turn away other people because of our reservation but that was not the case. In addition, I have never heard of another establishment refunding your deposit by check instead of putting a credit back on to your card. I had planned on rescheduling our trip at a later time but due to the fee and the attitude of Jo I decided we would never stay at Dennens. Jo mentioned in our conversation that it was too bad we had to cancel because it was a great deal (they were running a special for the whale festival). I sent an email explaining my disappointment and frustration and explained it is not a deal when it ended up costing me for nothing. After receiving my email Jo contacted me by phone I thought to apologize or let me know that she would make an exception & refund my full deposit but instead she simply wanted to reiterate why she was right & I was wrong. Nice way to run a business.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rahmefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo B, Owner at Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
This person never had the pleasure of staying with us here at Dennen’s. She had a problem with our policies.

As small business owners we make a business model and than make policies and procedures. We find as we go that there are some that need to be in place for happenings and events that we do not perceive. We take the suggestions from financial advisors, go to classes and learn how to run not only a business, but a bed and breakfast. Our Policies Page is under our reservations button and is listed before “Book Now”. We want you to see the policies before you book…Before you make a verbal or electronic contract with us.

When you call and book with us verbally, we go over all those policies before we ask you for your credit card. The opportunity is there for you not to book if you do not like our cancellation policy, or any of our other policies. This person had that same opportunity, it was all explained.

Processing Fees for Cancellations are a very common practice. Airlines and some lodgings take all your payment up front and then you cannot change your reservation at all. We have tried to be fair, just covering our costs.


Jo Bradley
Owner/Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles Wine Region, California
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is not a review I relish writing, however I feel compelled to present my personal experience with Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse and let the reader judge their ethics and business acumen.
I was planning a combination business/pleasure trip to Northern California in December 2012. The business portion of my trip required that I be in the Napa area on the eve of January 1st, so I booked my two nights there first. I then set out to plan the pleasure portion of the trip to include two nights on the coast, December 30th in the greater Monterey area and December 31st on the Mendocino area coastline. I had already booked the room in Monterey and chose Dennen's Victorian Inn for my December 31st stay. I felt fortunate to find this establishment and booked a room, the Victorian Suite, for which I received a formal written confirmation, #P22140A8533, dated 12/5/12. A short time later I received an e-mail from the Innkeeper at Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse acknowledging my reservation and welcoming my upcoming visit. The booking of my entire trip was now complete. Then came the phone call that totally disrupted my plans. On the evening of December 6th, I received a phone call at home from a woman identifying herself as "Jo," the innkeeper at Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse. Jo stated that she would not honor my reservation for December 31st and requested that I book elsewhere. I was totally shocked at her attitude toward a reservation that had already been CONFIRMED. Jo went on to say that if I wanted the room, I would have to book a second night, despite the fact that her online reservation system indicated a one night stay was available! Unfortunately, two nights certainly did not fit into my plans, which I tried to explain to her. She refused to acknowledge my dilemma. At this point our conversation was cut off and she quickly re contacted me and resumed telling me that she did not care about my problems and that she was involuntarily cancelling my reservation. At this point I explained to her that I, too, had a lodging business background and was appalled that she would treat a customer in this manner. Believe it or not, with TWO written confirmations and a CONFIRMED credit card deposit, I was a customer. I then related to her the importance of business establishments maintaining positive identities and ethical standards and was very taken back with her reply that if I attempted to review her establishment poorly, she would claim "Extortion." At this point I had enough and hung up the phone. I was then forced to reschedule my two days on the coastline, as I could not find suitable accommodations in the Mendocino area. While I ultimately found another nicer establishment to book on December 31st, it was 150 miles south of where I had wanted to be and it totally turned my desired expectations into a lesser desired experience, though I made the best of it. I have purposely waited to write this review so as not to give in to "Jo's" inference of "extortion." My trip is over and I have nothing to gain, other than to let it be known that ethical business practices mean something to me and to many of the people I used to know when I was in the lodging business. I would like to believe that others feel the same.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank TravelinInaDavlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My sister and I stayed in the converted chicken coop of the Victorian Farmhouse last year. The entire trip was magical. The food spectacular, the location perfect and the atmosphere to die for! I can't say enough about the people who run the show! Fred and Jo work hard to make every aspect of your stay enjoyable. I recommend this to everyone. Best to take someone other than your sister to a romantic place like this.

Room Tip: The renovated Chicken Coop was fun, cozy and well furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights in this beautiful, tranquil spot. If you're looking to escape the rat-race for a couple days, this is the spot. The rooms at the Inn are cozy and comfortable, and the service is spectacular. Its in a great location too, with great hiking or walks on the beach nearby, not to mention its just a couple miles drive from the shops in Mendocino. We've been to many B&Bs and this place truly takes the "breakfast" part seriously. The presentation and quality completely exceeded our expectations. We'll definately be going back to Dennen's Vicotrian Farmhouse next chance we get to escape.

Room Tip: To maximise your enjoyment of this location, ask for a room that has a view of the ocean from the br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul_M1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
3.0 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
1.5 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
619 reviews
0.7 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
#3 of 7 in Little River
274 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cobbler's Walk Mendocino
Cobbler's Walk Mendocino
#2 of 7 in Little River
173 reviews
2.6 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#5 of 25 in Mendocino
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse

Property: Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse
Address: 7001 N Highway 1, P.O. Box 661, Little River, CA 95456-9514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Little River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our romantic bed and breakfast in Mendocino County. Sit back and experience amazing ocean views, beautiful scenery, and gracious service at our Mendocino Coast Inn. Rooms at our Mendocino B&B feature custom furnishings and luxurious linens, some with private decks, fireplaces and Jacuzzis. Enjoy an unforgettable gourmet breakfast in bed, complimentary Wi-Fi, and special packages at our inn in Little River, CA, only minutes to the picturesque village of Mendocino. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing