We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT PLACE TO STAY ON THE COAST !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse
Ranked #5 of 8 Little River B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is the perfect place to put a smile on your face and warmth in your heart. We couldn't have been more pleased. It was like the warm embrace of a long missed friend. Jo creates breakfasts that are not only pleasing to the stomach,but also to the eye. She and Fred have not missed a single detail. (This is a first for us.) Breakfast delieved to our room made us feel "Special." The property is reminiscent of a gentlier time and has been the subject of a number of artists. One of which was Thomas Kinkade. A great place to escape the hussel and bussel ! In all a pleasant experience that lingers.............Toby and Tom Pacifica, Ca

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 122 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at this "paradise made in heaven"! We stayed in the Mendocino suite, a 2 room suite equipped with a huge air jet bath tub for two....unbelievable! The hosts, Fred and Jo, are so friendly and knowledgeable about the area, including the best restaurants in town. We were served a gourmet breakfast, in our room, every day and it was so delicious, Jo must be a 5 star gourmet chef! The room had incredible views of the beautiful garden and ocean...we didn't even want to leave our room! We had the best honeymoon ever, thanks again, to the GORGEOUS Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse. And a very special thanks to Fred and JO! You are forever in our hearts!

Room Tip: The Mendocino Suite is incredible ( :
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

- from the antique furniture to the thunderous belch of "Igor," the pull-chain toilet, to the absence of TV and telephone, the stay was simplistic and relaxing. We even gathered the set of Dominos in the lobby and had ourselves a friendly game or two. When was the last time we even took the time to play any game? Breakfasts were exquisite and brought right to our room. Well done Dennon's! Just a side note- we weren't totally out of the 21st Century. We took advantage of the free wi-fi and brought our laptop.

Room Tip: The Dennen's website is accurate. Look at the pictures and descriptions. Very user- friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We spent two nights at Dennen’s Victorian Farmhouse as we were lucky enough to find a vacancy just a couple of days before our stay.
You can reserve your room quickly and safely from their internet website as we did. The day later Jo called us to inquire about our arrival time and see if everything was OK. The B&B is in Little River, just 2 minutes by car south of Mendocino and faces the beach and coastline. The property also has access to the beach, the owner will show you the way if you ask.
The B&B is a Victorian cottage-style house with a wooden main building and some units scattered in the garden but all adjacent to the main building. They also have an in-site parking area which is very convenient as you’ll probably arrive by car like we did.
Joe and her husband are wonderful! We checked in late after 6 pm and she was so kind as to inquire about our breakfast preferences and prepare a separate vegetarian breakfast just for me. She explained everything about the property and the county and practically created our day itineraries for the next two days. We love Straying at B&Bs and seldom have we found such hospitality.
Every day breakfast changes and is delicious.
They call their property not Bed & Breakfast but Breakfast in Bed as they actually bring it to you every morning so you can enjoy it in the sitting area of your room in all tranquility.
We chose Dora’s room which is in the main building on the upper floor and faces the ocean. Unfortunately in August the coastline is very misty and we were able to experience the view only once but it was a good choice.
The room provides heating and also an electric feather blanket and feather mattress. The house is all built with redwood and this keeps it warm for a long time even if nights were kind of chilly.
Thje property also offers a free telephone in the lobby for local calls and 800-numbers.
By car you can easily reach Mendocino and Albion for good dining restaurants. Ask Joe for recommendations she’s always updated about all latest menus.
Strongly recommended!

Room Tip: Upper floors rooms offer ocean views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alek77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Dennens is a nice place. It is about a 5 minute drive out of town, which isnt too far - but knowing I had to drive even a couple of miles put a small dent in the evening. This is wine country, after all... If you are looking for a fancy B&B with big ocean views like you see in the movies this probably isn't your place, but if you want a simple, quiet place with good service and a very good breakfast, this could be the place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_hermit_crab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We wanted to experience California north of the bay and this was it. Absolutely amazing countryside and the drive over on 128 from 101 through the Redwoods actually brought tears to my eyes. Dennen's is a good base of operations. We stayed in the Dennen Suite and it was very cozy...a little musty, but cozy. The breakfasts were outstanding and delivered promptly and very pleasantly. Jo, the owner, knows her business and has perfected the most desirable blend of friendliness, helpfulness, yet our stay felt completely private. The rooms reminded me a bit of the Irish B&B's I've stayed in - completely cozy, if not Martha Stewart perfect. The beautiful gardens and Allen's hummingbirds were wonderful, but not as wonderful as our own pet 10 inch banana slug on our deck - an indigenous creature not seen in other areas of the country. Oh, the breakfast fare was tasty and perfectly plated. I would definitely return, and hope to again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house, but the little rooms with chimneys looked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auldlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My husband and I wanted to take a trip up from San Francisco and do some wine tasting in Holpland on the way. We have been to Little River many times but never stayed at this place. All we can say is it has an absolutely, lovely and peaceful atmosphere!!! The owners of the business were very warm and welcoming. They knew what we wanted and they were right to make us feel as comfortable as possible.
We stayed in a suite with a huge tub and bubble bath and candles. Need I say more? The fireplace was cozy and the bed was so warm and cuddly.....they had an electric blanket on it as well. Ee never wanted to get out of bed, that is until we smelled the breakfast. They didn't forget anything when they designed this room with their guests in mind!!!
Breakfast was hot and so deliciously fresh!!! Delivered right to our room. We sat and had a wonderful breakfast as we watched the hummingbirds gather around the heather outside our window.
It's so quiet and you never even realize that there are other guests around. Beautiful well kept gardens.
We are definitely going back again and again and again.......what a peaceful place!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldengatekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
3.0 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.7 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
724 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
#3 of 8 in Little River
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
655 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cobbler's Walk Mendocino
Cobbler's Walk Mendocino
#2 of 8 in Little River
188 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cottages at Little River Cove
Cottages at Little River Cove
#4 of 8 in Little River
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse

Address: 7001 N Highway 1, P.O. Box 661, Little River, CA 95456-9514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Little River
Price Range: $198 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our romantic bed and breakfast in Mendocino County. Sit back and experience amazing ocean views, beautiful scenery, and gracious service at our Mendocino Coast Inn. Rooms at our Mendocino B&B feature custom furnishings and luxurious linens, some with private decks, fireplaces and Jacuzzis. Enjoy an unforgettable gourmet breakfast in bed, complimentary Wi-Fi, and special packages at our inn in Little River, CA, only minutes to the picturesque village of Mendocino. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing