We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Great Romantic Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little River Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Little River Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Certificate of Excellence
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Great Romantic Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2006

My husband and I spent our third year in a row at Little River Inn in the Van Damme units. These units are very private rooms right near the ocean. First, the good: This was our third visit and I can't tell you how romantic and relaxing this place is. There are four units across the highway from the main inn each with their own private deck and hot tub and wood burning fireplaces. The only time I heard anything from our "neighbors" was when the cleaning crew was vacuuming - otherwise it felt like we had our own private cabin. The beds are comfortable, they provide ample firewood and you can't hear the traffic from Highway 1 once you are inside the room. The bad: Not really bad, but this visit had a few bumps. For the first time, we encountered an unpleasant and rude employee - everyone had always been so nice and accommodating before - it was a little bit off-putting. Also, the wrong room was reserved. I thought I made it clear which room I wanted, but apparently that was not the case! All the rooms in the Van Damme units are NOT the same and we ended up with one of the smaller ones ( The Abbott and Bullard rooms are the smaller ones.) Once I got over the disappointment, I realized this room had more windows and because it was on the end, a more extensive view. But I learned my lesson and I will make sure I am clearer when making reservations next time. In conclusion, this is a wonderful small inn, the beds are comfortable, the bathrooms are clean, if you rent one of the Van Damme units you will feel like you have your own cabin overlooking the Pacific Ocean a great romantic getaway. We will be back!

  • Liked — Fabulous view, Clean private rooms
  • Disliked — Good room in Mendocino is costly
  • Tips/Secrets — If you want romantic/private - ask for Van Damme Units
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Newlywed_Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    143
    29
    13
    4
See reviews for
95
428
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ocean, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2006

My husband and I were celebrating our 40th anniversary! We stayed here for 2 nights. Everyone from the reception to the maids were very kind and helpful. When I called to make the reservation, I mentioned that we were celebrating our 40th. Upon entering our room, we saw a beautiful printed card made just for us wishing us a happy 40th anniversary with a box of gourmet chocolates. What a very thoughtful touch! The view of the ocean was beautiful and we made much use of our deck with 2 rockers.Every chance we had we made a fire with the firewood which was always supplied for us. How cozy and romantic! The toiletries were high class, and the coffee was outstanding for hotel coffee.The gardens were beautiful and we immensely enjoyed the hummingbird show.There is nothing like watching the sun set in the west from your own private deck!

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2006

The hotel is in an absolutely amazing location, above a gorgeous stretch of coast accessible from a footpath from the hotel. The view from the property is great, and I would guess the view rooms are worth the premium. We stayed in the "Rose Cottage", a small duplex-style unit at the rear of the property. The "garden view" from our deck was essentially a fence and trees, but this was fine. The room itself was very clean, and nicely decorated. Beds were comfortable and the place was incredibly quiet (except for some plumbing noise from the adjoining unit). Enjoyed the free movie "rentals" from the desk (the selection is great). Breakfast at the restaurant was delicious (hotcakes earned their reputation), but we found the service very slow. Other folks seemed to get more attentive service, but we felt a bit invisible (we had the same problem at the front desk when checking out).

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — Indifferent service
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Krista_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2006

My family and I stayed at the Little River Inn for 3 nights in July. We chose to stay in the Bayside rooms because of the view and the shared balcony. We were vacationing with my husband's parents and sister. While this property does contain one cottage with connecting doors, we stayed there 2 years ago, we were looking for a room with a view and we found an outstanding one.

Our check in went smoothly and we were given 2 first floor bayside rooms on the first floor each with 2 double beds. While the rooms were your typical hotel type room, the balcony and views from the balcony were outstanding. Since all the first floor bayside rooms share one large balcony, this was nice for us to go to our relatives rooms whenever we wanted.

All hotel staff were more than friendly and helpful. The room service was great, as was the resturant on site. We all agreed our dinner at the resturant while pricey was one of the best we have ever had.

We throughly enjoyed our stay at The Little River Inn and would definitely recommend it to ours.

  • Liked — Beautiful views from the balcony, friendly and helpful staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jmjh02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2006

We stayed at the Little River Inn for our third anniversary. We had a GREAT time! What fantastic views. You can watch the divers diving for abalone, kayaks going everywhere and hear the waves. The room was clean and comfortable, it is an older property, so not like a resort. You can not ask for a better location.

We had dinner in the restaurant, and the food was very good , great service. Sue in the bar was hilarious. She always has something funny to say. The next morning the staff helped us with good ideas for art. Do not forget to pet Abby, she welcomes you at the front desk!!

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank Trvls4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malibu, california
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2006

We stayed in an upstairs deluxe room with a beautiful view. The immaculate room was appointed very nicely and at least 550 square feet with the bathroom. Given the cost of the room, main negative was a very poor mattress,low quality towels, foam pillows and they put us above the Abalone Room dining area. You could hear noise in the evening and in the am.We would stay here again, but only if they address and understand a fine hotel needs a good mattress,towels and not foam pillows!! M.Klein

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank malibuwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anguilla
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2006

My husband and I have stayed here twice, once in one of the cottages with a whirpool on the deck overlooking the ocean. The other time up on the hillside in a beautiful spacious room with a great bathroom. We loved them both. They staff at the front desk are wonderful as is the resident cat Abbey Rose. Sue at the Whale Watch Bar is always great fun and we love the appetizers. All of the staff are extremely accomodating. We celebrated our annevesary here after attending WineSong! and we absolutely loved it. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2004, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
2.3 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
9.9 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 stars 437 reviews
10.9 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 stars 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 stars 592 reviews
13.2 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#4 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 stars 354 reviews
2.2 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 stars 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little River Inn

Property: Little River Inn
Address: 7901 N Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456-9500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic coastal resort with spectacular ocean views, scrumptious breakfasts and dinners in the garden-view dining room, lighter fare and libations in the popular Ole's Whale Watch Bar, golf course and tennis courts, inspirational meeting facilities, and pampering in the Day Spa. A tradition of family hospitality since 1939 will make you feel welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Little River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little River Hotel Little River
Little River Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing