We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Amazing views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little River Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Little River Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Certificate of Excellence
Largo, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Our second time to stay at the Little River Inn and it was amazing. Sitting on our balcony watching whales swim by, watching the sunset every evening over the ocean. Had room service one night, the food came quickly and was delicious. Couldn't ask for a better stay

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    141
    28
    12
    4
See reviews for
94
419
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We were looking for a B&B in Mendocino and couldn't find what we were looking for. A friend suggested The Little River Inn and it turned out to be a real highlight of the trip. Nice clean rooms, comfortable beds and a view to die for!
We ate a late breakfast and loved it too. My son couldn't believe how good the steak and eggs were!
If traveling Hwy 1, this is a real charmer and good value.
Nice people too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
259 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

As soon as we opened the door to our room and saw the view though the big picture window we were thrilled that this would be ours for two days. We could sit inside and enjoy the scene from our comfortable wing back chairs in front of the fireplace when it was cold, and could sit outside in the afternoon. The fire place is real wood and they have it all set so all you have to do is put a match to it and off it goes.....throw another log on, available next to the fireplace, if you don't want it to die out too quickly. We had dinner on premises and my husband said it was the best meat loaf he ever tasted. When we told them it was our wedding anniversary we were given the most delicious chocolates to take back to our room.

The nine hole golf course was the perfect way for my husband to start the next day. It is set into redwoods, with Bambi and Thumper hopping around. I had a perfect morning too with breakfast sent to the room and enjoyed painting a seascape with the gorgeous rocks with waves crashing on them, yes you can hear them. For a while we both watched the hummingbirds feeding on the abundant flowers in the landscaping. Understand, this is not a new property. It is well kept, but it does not have the posh décor of younger places. The bedding is top notch, with some of the most comfortable sheets I have ever had in a commercial establishment. It is just a short drive to get into Mendocino, and worth whatever length drive it takes to get you to the Little River Inn.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMaven2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloverdale, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The Little River Inn shines brilliant white on the Pacific Coast of Mendocino County. This collection of buildings boasts a wonderful restaurant, 9 hole golf course, spa, tennis courts and an iconic bar, all of which have spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. Our room was an upstairs end unit with jacuzzi tub, fire place and a kiing bed. The Inn is owned and operated by 5th generation innkeepers. Their co-owner, Marc Dym, Culinary Institute of America trained is a master of kitchen creations which highlight the amazing seafood caught along the coast. Makes a pretty darn good Pork Osso Buco. Very romantic location and setting.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view but ask for one at the end of a building for additional privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California, Usa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Beautiful views from nice large rooms, most with fireplaces (some gas/some wood burning). Clean and comfortable, rooms have a small refrigerator and coffee maker. Some of the property could use a little refreshing up, minor repairs, paint, etc, although the place is still quite nice and has been around for a long time. Excellent bar & restaurant on the property with delicious food and drinks. Also an excellent Spa where we received wonderful massages (you get get the massage in your hotel room for a few dollars more if you'd like). The grounds are exceptional with beautiful gardens through out the property.

Room Tip: Upstairs room have little better view and you can leave your door open to hear the waves crashing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The whole experience was incredible! Gorgeous views, beautiful landscaping and cottages nestled in the cliffs made this a fantastically romantic getaway. We had a wood burning fireplace and a jacuzzi tub for two. The bed was just soft enough to make you dream you were sleeping on a cloud. The staff made us feel very welcome and everyone was friendly. We had dinner in the restaurant that night. It was to die for! I had the duck and it was superb. Breakfast the next day was also delicious and filling. We were both so relaxed after our stay. I can't wait to go back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suisun City
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. We had a very nice room, king bed, fire place, jacuzzi bath tub for 2, out side deck with a 2 person jacuzzi spa. The room was very clean and fresh. There was a small fridge in the room, a coffee pot. It was very quiet in our room. We had neighbors on both sides of us and couldn't hear anything. Our private deck with rocking chairs was pleasant to be out there. The check in staff was very friendly and helpful, making reservations for us. We had a car pick us up for dinner so we didn't have to drive. I would recommend everyone stay here at least once. We came back after staying here 27 years ago. Beautiful grounds, restaurant, golf course and spa.
They offer dog friendly rooms.

Room Tip: We had room 258, it was separate from the main property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
2.3 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
9.9 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 stars 422 reviews
10.9 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#6 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 stars 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 stars 584 reviews
13.2 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#5 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 stars 338 reviews
2.2 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 stars 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little River Inn

Property: Little River Inn
Address: 7901 N Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456-9500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic coastal resort with spectacular ocean views, scrumptious breakfasts and dinners in the garden-view dining room, lighter fare and libations in the popular Ole's Whale Watch Bar, golf course and tennis courts, inspirational meeting facilities, and pampering in the Day Spa. A tradition of family hospitality since 1939 will make you feel welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Little River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little River Hotel Little River
Little River Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing