We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mendocino Coastline Gem”
Review of Little River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Little River Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Certificate of Excellence
SF, CA
1 review
“Mendocino Coastline Gem”
Reviewed October 20, 2008

We stayed at the Little River Inn for the first time last weekend and had a wonderful time. We discovered the LRI on a previous journey, fell in love with the location and booked a weekend in October right on the spot! The view of the Mendocino Coastline from our back deck of our room was unsurpassed. The fireplace room was clean and cozy, with a no-frills oak furniture motif.

We opted to dine at the LRI restaurant our first night and experienced some of the best cuisine and service since we can remember. The pine nut crusted salmon entree was simply to die for. Our server and host were top notch, and the chef paid us a table-side visit to make sure everything was to our liking.

My wife and I will definitely be back again and highly recommend this location to anyone in need of a great Pacific Ocean fix.

  • Liked — Pacific Ocean views
  • Disliked — Rooms could use updating
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OceanFix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    159
    31
    14
    4
See reviews for
104
473
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2008

We dropped in, hoping for accommodations at this stunningly beautiful Inn. Staff were very pleasant and helpful, offering the best accommodations and a small discount for midweek stays.
I only wish we could have stayed longer. The view has to be the best in the west, lovely sunny weather and a great laid-back town (Little River (and Mendocino - 2 miles away)). What could be better.

  • Liked — The oceanfront inn and view are the best!
  • Disliked — I don't think they have elevators, although there are first level accommodations.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2008

My friend and I stayed here for a 'girls getaway' weekend and had a great experience. We stayed in a downstairs 'Bayview Room'. The room itself was sparse, minimalist with old school oak furniture and white walls...but WHO CARES because all you are really looking at is the view out the sliding glass door....a wonderful view of the ocean! The sliding door opens onto a shared deck with rocking chairs and a table. My friend and I spent hours out on the deck in the chairs reading, chatting and drinking wine. It was amazing. You can hear the ocean from the room. The room was very clean.
I had a massage at the on-site day spa, which was one of the best I have ever had (thanks, Tranna!). We ordered room service for breakfast, both mornings. It was terrific. We ate at the on-site restaurant for dinner both nights. We absolutely loved the bar staff, in particular Sue! Sue has worked there for 20 years and was truly the highlight of our entire weekend. She was absolutely adorable with some amazing life stories!!!
We cannot wait to go back...we decided we are taking our mothers for their birthday in a few months!

  • Liked — the deck overlooking the ocean!
  • Disliked — wished there was a dvd player
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christinenicole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ooltewah (Chattanooga) Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2008

We recently returned from a trip along Highway 1 in California---our fourth such trip even though it's quite a long trek from Tennessee. This trip took us north of San Francisco, and ultimately to Mendocino------and on the way we were thrilled to find the LIttle River Inn. We had good impressions of the inn from reviews on Trip Advisor; howver, we also made new friends along the way who highly recommended the inn-----and we were NOT disappointed! The setting is absolutely breathtaking. We enjoyed every sunset from our lovely patio/porch overlooking the Pacific. Many rooms have such beautiful porches or balconies, and all have terrific views. The atmosphere was so peaceful---with little to interrupt the quiet except barking sea lions on the rocky coast. We thoroughly enjoyed everything about the Little River Inn------beautiful landscaping, a wonderful restaurant, cozy fireplaces in many rooms, and outstanding service offered by everyone from the office staff to the servers at breakfast.
We are totally hooked------I can't imagine staying anywhere else when we return to California! This retreat MADE a great trip perfect!

Helpful?
Thank Lewallen76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2008

This is our second weekend stay at the Little River Inn - a great getaway for my husband & me which I think is now becoming an annual. Always think of Mendocino as being so foggy, but we've had great weather every time we've gone the last few years (and fog seems to take awhile to get to the Little River Inn). Great Stay...enjoyed room service on our deck on Friday night, taking in the incredible view and sounds of the ocean (& calamari was delicious!) Played golf on Saturday, grabbed a pizza from town (only 2 miles away), which we also enjoyed on our deck, complimented with some tasty cocktails from the bar (very friendly bartender). Tennis on Sun (courts are in great shape); can also hike right from the inn. We'll be back again next year!

  • Liked — Love the view
  • Disliked — Would like an exercise room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jalito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2008

We are a local couple and needed to escape to some peace and quiet for our anniversay. We have alot of obligations at home (teen son, 83 year old mother in-law and a down syndrome sister); we weren't able to go far. So we thought we would try the Little River Inn. We splurged and got one of the rooms on the cliff with a hot tub and wonderful views. We were so surprised at how wonderful the room was. We built a fire and had room service delivered. It was one of the best trips we have taken! We are already planning how to go back and will definetely recommend the Inn to all our friends and family. By the way, Sue, in the bar, makes a fabulous Ramos Fizz! We loved it.

  • Liked — Quietness
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kipper2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2008

I've traveled this part of the coast extensively but never seen these kind of world class accomodations. Suite 270 is one of two above Abalone Hall -- splendid views, vast room, a lovenest waiting to happen. The bed may have been the most comfortable I've ever slept in ... anywhere.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MetroDaily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
2.4 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
2.4 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
623 reviews
10.0 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
619 reviews
2.2 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
634 reviews
1.5 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little River Inn

Property: Little River Inn
Address: 7901 N Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456-9500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic coastal resort with spectacular ocean views, scrumptious breakfasts and dinners in the garden-view dining room, lighter fare and libations in the popular Ole's Whale Watch Bar, golf course and tennis courts, inspirational meeting facilities, and pampering in the Day Spa. A tradition of family hospitality since 1939 will make you feel welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Little River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little River Hotel Little River
Little River Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing