We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, must stay!”
Review of Little River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Little River Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We were on our way to San Francisco and ran across the Little River Inn. The view, service and food in the restaurant is unmatched. I would highly recommend this nice little venue to anyone. We will be making a trip back just to spend more time here!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (741)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 741 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is one of the best inns I've ever stayed at. Even the lowest-priced rooms have ocean views and the place has all the right touches. Surprisingly, the food at the restaurant was outstanding (as evidenced by the many locals eating at the bar). You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms probably have better views and are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdventureTraveler113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Haven't stayed at the inn for awhile, and found it freshly painted and with red, white, and blue banners on the front. Charming. We were in our favorite room with fireplace and view of beach through a grove of trees. Food for dinner was not gourmet but very good. Breakfasts are superior and always a treat - yummy scones, wonderful scrambled eggs, and my husband devoured those pancakes in no time! We'll be back!

Room Tip: End rooms overlooking the ocean are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ursart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We didn't stay here but we did eat at the restaurant one evening while we were staying elsewhere in the area. We learned that the Little River Inn is managed by the fifth generation of the family that founded it in 1939. It's one of those places in which guests brag about how many seasons they have returned for. We talked with a lady who was back for her 37th. That says a lot. The food was excellent - the crab cakes and clam chowder were particularly memorable. It has a pleasant bar with views of the ocean as well as a nicely appointed restaurant. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. We were really glad that we went to Little River for dinner and are eager to go back soon. All in all, we can see why people return year after year. It's just that kind of place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank SanFranciscoGuy634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Little River Inn is my favorite place to relax and let the Pacific Ocean rejuvenate me. I love this place. My sister and I stayed in the oceanview fireplace room with a balcony looking towards the ocean. We had a gas fireplace which worked well for us as we could turn it on and off and we came and went. It was clean, comfortable, and perfect. We took advantage of the restaurant almost every night that we were there. We stayed a week. When my husband was still alive, he and I played the golf course that sits behind the Inn. I love this place. We will be making this a yearly getaway. The staff is more than helpful and friendly. We had the pleasure of meeting the owner also.

Room Tip: I think we will rent one of the deluxe oceanview rooms next time. Little more expensive but I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ricequeen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

My wife and I enjoy staying here so much the Little River Inn has become our yearly retreat. The rooms are great with an amazing vie of the ocean. The food is good and not overpriced. The hotel is pet friendly and even have a pet friendly dining option. The staff are all very friendly and helpful and go out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. There is a spa on site and so you can pamper yourself as much as you like. I highly recommend the warm stone massage.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beachluvr281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Comfortable accommodations for family and very dog friendly, so the WHOLE family could be together. Rooms could use an update but then the prices would be updated too. The Christmas dinner is great, very popular with guests and locals. Very traditional, with roast beef and mashed potatoes and gravy. The guy spontaneously singing carols is the owner.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
10.9 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
637 reviews
2.4 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
640 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
499 reviews
13.2 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
456 reviews
13 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little River Inn

Address: 7901 N Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456-9500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Price Range: $196 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic coastal resort with spectacular ocean views, scrumptious breakfasts and dinners in the garden-view dining room, lighter fare and libations in the popular Ole's Whale Watch Bar, golf course and tennis courts, inspirational meeting facilities, and pampering in the Day Spa. A tradition of family hospitality since 1939 will make you feel welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Little River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little River Hotel Little River
Little River Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing