We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save your $$$$$$”
Review of Little River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Little River Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2014

There are a lot of great places to stay in the Mendocino/Fort Bragg (Albion River Inn) that do not have squeaky floor, stained carpets and bed speads for $200.00!!!!! We had been in Bodega Bay the night before and stayed @ the "Bodega Bay Lodge" for less money which was very nice and had expected a similar experience here but was very diappointed.

Room Tip: Use another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (724)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 724 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014

My last visit to the Little River in was ten years ago - I was elated that the charm of the place had not changed. Room was perfect - with the mist amazing view. You might think that you would hear noise from HWY 1 - but you do not. Hiking in the area is enjoyable - along with the botanical gardens. Perfect place to recover from a horrible Midwest winter.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carolyn l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We had a beautifully comfortable, and decorated cottage.. Van Damme Units.
I loved just being there looking out to the ocean and the sea lions...so cute.
It was lovely sitting in the most comfortable rocking chairs, sipping on some yummy wine and soaking in the peace.
If I had known what this place was like I would have stayed much longer.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Great staff,great ocean view,very clean rooms. Dinner: a total disaster ! I had the Chippino $29 ,it was simply awful.Tiny shrimp,tough overcooked seafood that didn't taste fresh and a sauce swimming in oil/grease,just horrible. Hotel is really nice but spend your food dollars some place else.When I brought up the bad dinner the lady behind the desk said she was sorry but made no attempt to refund my $29 meal price ;perhaps she didn't have the authority. Plenty of very good restaurants in the area or just up the road in Ft Bragg,spend your money where the food is fresh and you are appreciated.

Room Tip: Had room 102 absolutely amazing ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kiwileeds4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

The photos in previous reviews are exactly as posted so I will not go into deep descriptions of rooms, just highlights. My best advice is to stay at the "seaside luxury" cottages if you can afford it. The units are separate from the main lodge and are located down the road about 200 yards away. They are PRIVATE and include your own spa. I stayed in Coombs cottage (probably the most pricey unit), which is a separate unit onto itself and offers the ultimate in privacy. The room was well kept and comfortable with a fireplace but the bathroom needed updating. Tile counters are out of fashion, solid surfaces are in! It was clean though. Our bathroom functioned as needed: lots of hot water and good water pressure. No issues with the layout of bathroom, it just needs to catch up to 2014 standards. The main bedroom was a pleasant seaside décor with beautiful ocean view.

I did get to view the interior of a Van Damme property adjacent to Coombs cottage. Specifically the Margaret Bullard room. The unit had an updated bathroom and a beautiful view and is a corner unit. So you only share one wall with your neighbors. The other units there share two adjacent walls. The furnishings were nicely done. This would be my 2nd choice in rooms or any other seaside units. I hope in the future they update Coombs cottage to match this unit.

If you're looking to save some money on accommodations. Stay at the main lodge. Although like in previous reviews, it can be a hit or miss depending on your standards. When I am on holiday, I am willing to pay more for the extra privacy and luxury.

Without a doubt I will be returning to the Little River Inn!!!!!!! We had great customer service from the reception, spa service, golf, and restaurant etc. Everyone was courteous, friendly, knowledgeable and polite. This service is also reflective of the ENTIRE Mendocino area!

I recorded two aerial videos. One is of the view from the inns cottages and the other the Mendocino Headlands. Go to my "stanmanh1" channel on You tube. There you will find Little River Inn and Mendocino Headlands videos. Sorry for not having a direct link to You Tube. This is not permitted by Trip advisor.

Recommended restaurants:
Café Beaujolais - great French cuisine
Albion River Inn - make reservation and show up early for sunset, very romantic setting overlooking the sea cliff

I hope you like the videos. Send me a message if you need any more questions answered.

Room Tip: If you can splurge. Opt for the "seaside luxury" cottages. To save money go for the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed at the Coomb cottage, which is across the street from the inn. If you want privacy, this is it. No children are allowed here. It has a king bed, jacuzzi at the balcony overlooking the ocean, and a fireplace. No shared walls. The ocean view is just unbelievable. Your own private parking. The bathroom is clean, but needs some renovation. The black-out curtains block some of our view because they would not draw back fully. The cottage to the farthest right is newly renovated with even better, unobstructed view, but smaller room with one shared wall. It costs more than the other regular room. It is worth every penny for the privacy. There is a golf course on the premise. My husband loves playing here. He saw a deer prancing across while he played. The people are very easy going and not formal at all. IMO, This is not the best place for children because the ocean is rocky and not so warm. They can kayak, but there is a minimum age restriction. Maria gave the best deep tissue massage if you need one. Michelle at the Spa knows everything about where to eat and what to see. She is so friendly and helpful. She should be the concierge of the hotel. Thanks Michelle. The food at the inn is decent. There will be a separate review for that. There is a deli across the street if you need anything. And a gas station there too.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Loan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

While we were in our large, pet friendly, ocean facing efficiency suite I was so mesmerized by the view and the sound of the ocean that it distracted me from the underlying negatives. On arrival our suite was very warm and stuffy, blasted by the light coming in from the setting sun. The whole room was overly deodorized but we understood, having brought our own pet, but a sturdy laminate flooring would have fared better over time than the carpet, eek. The room could really use an update with the mish mosh of pieces from decades past. Even that would have been fine if the bedding and pillows had been more comfortable. Hard lumpy pillows have no place here, and made for difficulty sleeping. On the plus side the suite was spacious. Room service is a plus and they did their level best to deliver in a timely and professional way. Breakfast is great but the lunch/dinner menu is for the masses - not upscale or with healthy alternatives at all and I had probably the worst chopped salad ever. I was excited about the bar but the drinks were not made with fresh ingredients and were watery. Bummer. They tend to upsell food which is a turn off. But they do everything with a smile and with great service.
We did love our time there, so did our normally neurotic dog, it just seems that a little updating and upgrading on the rooms, bedding and menu would go a long way to make this place GREAT!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VJF57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
2.4 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
10.9 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
627 reviews
2.4 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
493 reviews
13.3 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#3 of 23 in Fort Bragg
449 reviews
2.2 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little River Inn

Address: 7901 N Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456-9500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Price Range: $196 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic coastal resort with spectacular ocean views, scrumptious breakfasts and dinners in the garden-view dining room, lighter fare and libations in the popular Ole's Whale Watch Bar, golf course and tennis courts, inspirational meeting facilities, and pampering in the Day Spa. A tradition of family hospitality since 1939 will make you feel welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Little River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little River Hotel Little River
Little River Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing