We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If privacy and gorgeous ocean view are your priority, read below.”
Review of Little River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Little River Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Certificate of Excellence
Yuba City, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“If privacy and gorgeous ocean view are your priority, read below.”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Coomb cottage, which is across the street from the inn. If you want privacy, this is it. No children are allowed here. It has a king bed, jacuzzi at the balcony overlooking the ocean, and a fireplace. No shared walls. The ocean view is just unbelievable. Your own private parking. The bathroom is clean, but needs some renovation. The black-out curtains block some of our view because they would not draw back fully. The cottage to the farthest right is newly renovated with even better, unobstructed view, but smaller room with one shared wall. It costs more than the other regular room. It is worth every penny for the privacy. There is a golf course on the premise. My husband loves playing here. He saw a deer prancing across while he played. The people are very easy going and not formal at all. IMO, This is not the best place for children because the ocean is rocky and not so warm. They can kayak, but there is a minimum age restriction. Maria gave the best deep tissue massage if you need one. Michelle at the Spa knows everything about where to eat and what to see. She is so friendly and helpful. She should be the concierge of the hotel. Thanks Michelle. The food at the inn is decent. There will be a separate review for that. There is a deli across the street if you need anything. And a gas station there too.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Loan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    157
    29
    13
    4
See reviews for
101
462
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eureka, cA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

While we were in our large, pet friendly, ocean facing efficiency suite I was so mesmerized by the view and the sound of the ocean that it distracted me from the underlying negatives. On arrival our suite was very warm and stuffy, blasted by the light coming in from the setting sun. The whole room was overly deodorized but we understood, having brought our own pet, but a sturdy laminate flooring would have fared better over time than the carpet, eek. The room could really use an update with the mish mosh of pieces from decades past. Even that would have been fine if the bedding and pillows had been more comfortable. Hard lumpy pillows have no place here, and made for difficulty sleeping. On the plus side the suite was spacious. Room service is a plus and they did their level best to deliver in a timely and professional way. Breakfast is great but the lunch/dinner menu is for the masses - not upscale or with healthy alternatives at all and I had probably the worst chopped salad ever. I was excited about the bar but the drinks were not made with fresh ingredients and were watery. Bummer. They tend to upsell food which is a turn off. But they do everything with a smile and with great service.
We did love our time there, so did our normally neurotic dog, it just seems that a little updating and upgrading on the rooms, bedding and menu would go a long way to make this place GREAT!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VJF57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Was looking for a place with an ocean view and close to the town of Mendocino. There are a lot of properties, and online searching can get intimidating with so many choices. Friends recommended we stay at Little River Inn, in one of the rooms across the highway. Although a little more expensive, we were absolutely delighted. We stayed in the Margaret Bullard room, which had an unobstructed view to the ocean. We knew the room had a great view from the picture online, but were a little nervous about what the inside of the room would look like. It was delightful. Updated bedding, two huge comfy swizzle chairs in front of the gas fireplace. The bathroom was beautiful and completely updated, and included a jetted 1-person tub with a view of the ocean. Highlight of the room was the deck with two cozy chairs and a private 2-person jacuzzi with an amazing view of the ocean!

The Little River Inn really pays attention to details. In the room there was a refrigerator, a coffee make, wine cork, wine glasses, coffee mugs, glasses and robes. The fireplace had an automatic turn off so you could go to sleep with the fireplace on! There's even a nice size diningroom table. Plenty of space to spread out.

There are a few rooms on the ocean side of Hwy 1 to choose from. Margaret Bullard has a view of the ocean from the dining room and from the bathroom, but not from the bed. I believe others on this side do have views of the ocean from the bed (although then you may never get out of bed!) Something to consider when choosing. The lesser expensive rooms are on the main property. Many have views of the ocean, but the view are across Hwy 1 and further away and (I would think) could be obstructed. We felt it was worth the extra splurge to be closer to the ocean. Also, we called and got a better rate then was posted online.

Sunday brunch in the restaurant was really good, and reasonable. We opted to try Wild Fish for dinner, within walking distance and absolutely delicious. We also opted for breakfast at Little River Market one morning, within walking distance, delicious, inexpensive and great views of the ocean! Little River Market also has a great selection of reasonably prices wines. Great spot for picnic foods too. Great hiking in Van Damme State Park, within walking distance of the hotel. And a little bonus, there's an old classic rock and roll, DJ-driven radio station 95.3 The Coast. Worth a listen :-)

Room Tip: Rooms on the ocean side of Hwy. 1 are more expensive, but offer the best views and private hot tubs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RsvlMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in one of ocean view Mallory suites. Our surprise was that it was one mile from the main inn. The room was adequate but dated. It was definitely overpriced. The pluses to the suite were the size and view. Views however are available at almost all inns in the area.
The staff definitely needs some training. The receptionist was not very friendly and gave little information about the property. In fact her focus was more on warnings about their no pet and smoking policy than welcoming guests to the inn.
We had reservations for dinner at the restaurant and were greeted by the hostess who was seating another couple.
We were waiting for her return at the hostess stand when she walked right past us to greet her friends who had just arrived. She escorted them to their table and spent the next five minutes talking and catching up.
We should have left as the meal was so so at best.
My wife ordered a vegetable torta that was all dough with a couple of veggies. My scallops were dredged in way too much flour before they were sautéed, and were doughy.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We were happy when we found this Inn on a very stormy drive up the coast. Having a little dog with us had me worried as well. But no need to be, they even had a little doggie stayover bag for us! And they set us up with dining, including our dog in the main building with us. The bed was fantastic, and there was a gas fired woodstove in the room, so it was so cozy. The view out our windows and sliding door was unobstructed beautiful full on oceanview. And breakfast the next morning was perfect, just as we'd ordered it. I loved Little River Inn, and the people who took such good care of us. I wish we had stayed on at least another day. Dinner there, at least from looking at the menu, looked wonderful. We've already told several friends here in Portland about this magical old place on that beautiful coast. I know we'll be back and I'm hoping our friends will go as well. We were all treated like royalty, thank you Little River Inn.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We picked Little River Inn because they had a separate 2-bedroom cottage that worked well for our family. They also allowed dogs, so we brought ours. The cottage is about one-fifth of a mile south of the main property. There are other buildings close to it, but I'm not sure to whom they belong. The cottage has a front porch with two rocking chairs and a hot tub. There is a gate that closes to keep your dog or kids contained on the porch. The house itself is more spacious than I expected, with vaulted ceilings in every room. There is a living area with a full couch, two chairs, a dining table for two, large gas fireplace, a large window overlooking the porch with a view of the ocean, and small kitchenette with a sink, wine glasses, mini coffee maker, and fridge. I do think it could have been bigger. There are two bedrooms. The front room has an ocean view. The back room has a door that opens to a backyard deck. Both the porch and deck really need a good sanding and staining. There is a small, unkept fenced yard that backs up to a wooded area. The cottage has laminate flooring and carpet. There is one bathroom with a deep tub, separate shower, and dual-sink vanity.

The cottage works well for families, or anyone who wants some privacy, although we did miss being walking distance from the rest of the Inn property (including the restaurant). Things I didn't care for were the small TV in the living room, simple finishes, lack of kitchen, dining table that only seats two, and single bathroom. We really enjoyed the hot tub, ocean view, gas fireplace, space, and privacy. This was our first trip to Little River/Mendocino and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KyraBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

We love this time of year on the coast. The weather can be iffy, but we have lucked out more times than not.This time the weather was only drippy, but warm enough to walk around Mendocino and fort Bragg in light jackets. Our room was in the newer building on the second floor with a gorgeous view of the ocean. The room was very spacious with a deck, fireplace, yummy king bed and a large jacuzzi in the huge bathroom. We ate all of our meals in the dining room or at the bar, which is an institution up there. Met some really nice people and the bartender was a hoot. The food is good with a varied menu to please many tastes. We will return next year.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
2.4 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
2.4 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
616 reviews
10.0 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#3 of 23 in Fort Bragg
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
609 reviews
1.5 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,135 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#6 of 25 in Mendocino
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little River Inn

Property: Little River Inn
Address: 7901 N Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456-9500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic coastal resort with spectacular ocean views, scrumptious breakfasts and dinners in the garden-view dining room, lighter fare and libations in the popular Ole's Whale Watch Bar, golf course and tennis courts, inspirational meeting facilities, and pampering in the Day Spa. A tradition of family hospitality since 1939 will make you feel welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Little River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little River Hotel Little River
Little River Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing