We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good but poor reception staff”
Review of Little River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Little River Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2008

Stayed for a few nights and managed discount rates for a family of 3 in one room. Overall a very nice property, well maintained comfortable large room with fireplace and sea view. The restaurant food and service was actually quite good and the breakfast represented good value for quality also. The bar though smallish and simple has a great view of the sea and reminds me of a mariners hangout. There is also a humble but enjoyable 9 hole golf course attached to this property. The whole complex is a short drive from neighboring towns and had a great peaceful vibe despite its proximity to the highway.

CONS - The advertised free wireless internet was not working which was annoying ( I deliberately seek this convenience in accom) but it was available in the reception area a shortish, weather exposed walk from our room. The biggest let down were some unpleasant and frustrating experiences with 2 mature reception staff who were in need of re training or relocation from front of house. eg conflicting details about rates and inclusions the few times we phoned to enquire / book and then again when settling the bill. After a customer had left, these same staff criticised him in front of me because he had asked about the internet problem. All as if I was not there! I dont think these people enjoy their work and it was such shame. I otherwise might of thought I was somewhere perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank paulpolot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (717)
There are newer reviews for Little River Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

675 - 681 of 717 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2008

This was a wonderful surprise when we got to the coast. I had checked out almost every hotel on the coast from Ft Bragg to Gualala. We were so happy that I had chosen this hotel. The scenery was gorgeous. Now it was foggy every day, but to us that was great! We live in Phoenix, AZ & get plenty of sunshine at home, so it was great for us to have a change in the weather. The room was very comfortable & a little larger than other hotels we stayed at on our trip. The king sized bed was especially comfortable. That was the most pillows I have ever seen in a hotel. The hotel sits on a cliff so ask for a room with a view. Our room had a shared balcony, that the others didn't use, so it was very private. There are 2 rocking chairs for each room on the balcony, with a small table between. Very nice for enjoying coffee or a snack with a view. Even though the hotel was pretty full while we were there, It was extremely quiet. I never heard any noise from the rooms next door. The staff was very friendly & helpful. We tried the hotel restaurant for breakfast on 2 mornings & were pleasantly surprised. Make sure to try the oallieberry pancakes. The food was excellent & priced well.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 2HivelysArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2008

We loved everything about this Inn. Extraordinary view from porch. Very peaceful. Spa available (didn't use). Ate dinner and breakfast in dining room. Good food and ambiance. Provides free movies from extensive collection. Pets welcome in some rooms. Although this could be a romantic getaway, children are also welcome. Walking distance to beach and hiking trails.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank coolbreezeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2008

We just returned from spending time at the LRI. Where do we begin? The Inn itself is right out of a movie. We reserved the "White Cottage" on Mallory Cove. I can not describe our feeling as we first approched the cottage. Again...just what movies are made of. It was very private as it hung on the cliff's of Mallory cove. It does have TV and stereo if that is what you are looking for. What we found were binoculars, privacy and and wonderful hot tub each adding to the wonderful ocean views available to us 24/7. The blue sky, the dancing fog, the mist in the air mixing with the steam from the hot tub...you take it from there and make up your own story. Heaven is my discription. And the staff so helpful, the food at the Inn, wonderful...as was Cafe Beaujolouis. We actually found ourselves sad to leave...like saying goodby to an old friend.

Try it...you will like it!

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank MLloydSalem,IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2008

What a beautiful place. We just returned from a couple nights at the little river inn. We decided to put a couple days on the end of our Yosemite vacation and go to Mendocino...great decision. The Inn was beautiful and the views were just amazing...I highly recommend this inn.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2008

My hsband and I stayed at Heritage House, but had dinner one evening at the Little River Inn. The dining area, albeit small, was lovely and had a great view into the surrounding landscape. It was disappointing that there was no view of the ocean from the dining area. The service was excellent, bread was warm and served with whipped butter, and the dessert was great. Our dinner was just average. I ordered a NY steak and he ordered ribs...just okay. Our bill was $85 which included 1 salad, 1 bowl of soup, 2 dinners, and 1 dessert. We each had a soda and my husband had a beer. It was a nice visit, but the food was just average.

Stayed: June 2008
1  Thank arude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2008

We spent only one night here and wished that we could stay longer as it was wonderful. We had a fireplace room with an ocean view that we could not get enough of. Found 2 wine glasses chilling in the frig and we enjoyed wine on the deck as we took in the wonderful view. Took advantage of the on site golf course-9 or 18 holes and ate in the restaurant. Food was great as was the service. Since we were celebrating our anniversary, they brought us a gold foil box containing 2 chocolate mint candies-a nice touch. Returned to our room and lit the prepared fire. Very romantic. We will most certainly return.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ststepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
2.4 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
10.9 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
623 reviews
2.4 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
491 reviews
2.2 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
649 reviews
1.5 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little River Inn

Address: 7901 N Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456-9500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Price Range: $195 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic coastal resort with spectacular ocean views, scrumptious breakfasts and dinners in the garden-view dining room, lighter fare and libations in the popular Ole's Whale Watch Bar, golf course and tennis courts, inspirational meeting facilities, and pampering in the Day Spa. A tradition of family hospitality since 1939 will make you feel welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Little River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little River Hotel Little River
Little River Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing