We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so relaxing!”
Review of Little River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Little River Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2013

What a jewel we found here! We stayed 2 nights and wish it would have been longer. Lovely, comfortable rooms. We traveled with my sister and her husband. We spent MANY hours just sitting in the rockers on the huge covered porch. The view is so peaceful! The restaurant on the premises was absolutely wonderful!!! We had just come from the Napa area but Little River Inn was the highlight of our whole week. We will definitely be back!!! Since we have been home, whenever life gets stressful (which is often) we picture ourselves in our rockers on the porch of The Little River Inn!

Room Tip: make sure you get an oceanview with porch!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thor283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (717)
There are newer reviews for Little River Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 717 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

We have been coming here for more than 25 years ~ and it never disappoints. It is absolutely the most incredibly romantic and beautiful place to stay ~ and the service/kindness just makes everything better. From the moment you make the reservation, you are treated as a special guest by Pat at the front desk (there for more than 30 years) and every other person that works there. One of the best parts of this place is that you can be alone or you can go to Ole's Bar and have the best cocktails (anything you want) served by the best bartender (in my opinion) in the country. You can watch the sunset from your room or inside the bar with others...and you have your choice of eating informally in the bar or formally in the dining room. I cannot possibly say enough about this place. We hope to be coming here for the next 25 years ~ a "home" away from home...and I am certain you will feel the same way, too.

Room Tip: Every room is excellent ~
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimnoreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We went for a friends B-day. The guys golfed and the girls had a spa day. We all had dinner and brunch at the restaurant it was all amazing . I have been telling everyone about what a nice place it is. Every room has a great view of the ocean.

Room Tip: Room 104 it has a steam shower
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnDDilello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

After a terrible lunch at an establishment across the street, we decided to give this place a try for dinner. The Inn definitely redeemed the area's reputation for fine dining. We would highly recommend this place dinner. Don't know about other meals, but I would assume that they would measure up as well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We love this place. The rooms are a bit elderly, but large. The staff is so friendly it really sounds like they want to be there, helping you. The restaurant is beautiful, the food delicious. We have been there before and will certainly go back. I prefer to stay at Little River instead of Mendocino; it is only a short drive, and the food is just wonderful, right there on the spot, better than anything in town.

On this stay, we were in Room 132, up behind the eucalyptus trees, so much of the view was lost. The price was more for these rooms because of a gas fireplace, but I would rather have had the view. Ask for a lower number, standard room, or go for broke and get a more upscale cottage. The rooms had rocking chairs on the balcony outside facing the ocean, but the weather makes using them problematical. However, Little River Inn is not responsible for fog or drizzle and they make the close up landscape very inviting.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLSNapa_California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were only able to spend one quick night, but we will certainly return soon.
The restaurant is right in the hotel and both had a beautiful view of the ocean and gardens. One restaurant tip: They have a good selection of 1/2 size bottles of wine. So you can start with white and finish with red if you like.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank burls1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

After driving Highway One from Carmel, we would have been happy to pull over to the Bates Motel, but we were lucky enough to have made reservations at The Little River Inn. What a charming place that also happens to have an excellent restaurant, golf course, and tennis courts. The staff and service are friendly and efficient and really make one's stay pleasant and memorable.

Room Tip: Room #117 has no one above or below and has an excellent view of water. The balcony is also a littl...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophieandmitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
2.4 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
10.9 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
623 reviews
2.4 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
491 reviews
2.2 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
648 reviews
1.5 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little River Inn

Address: 7901 N Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456-9500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Price Range: $196 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic coastal resort with spectacular ocean views, scrumptious breakfasts and dinners in the garden-view dining room, lighter fare and libations in the popular Ole's Whale Watch Bar, golf course and tennis courts, inspirational meeting facilities, and pampering in the Day Spa. A tradition of family hospitality since 1939 will make you feel welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Little River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little River Hotel Little River
Little River Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing